PDA

View Full Version : New How-To: Installing SlimServer on LinkStation



Marc D. Field
2005-03-04, 17:45
Hi,

I am writing to announce a new article I wrote detailing how to install
SlimServer on the LinkStation network storage product by Buffalo. The
article goes into a lot of detail, including background on the Linux
commands required for the installation (which should be helpful to
people who are not already familiar with Linux). If you are interested,
you can find the article at the following URL:

<http://fieldnetworks.com/slim/linkstation.html>.

Marc

Roy Owen
2005-03-05, 12:23
FANTASTIC! (all caps isn't loud enough)

Thanks Marc. As a Linux Newbie (not a Coward) I've just installed
Gentoo on my laptop and was wondering what I needed to do to get
SlimServer running *properly*. Now I feel confident enough to blow
away windows on my server PC (dual 1Ghz Pentium III, SCS 160, 512 MB
<hdwe interleaved> RAM). I have a good command line background (Open
VMS, DOS, some *nix), now that I know what needs doing I can do it.
Maybe I'll even write a How To for Gentoo as I go.
Thanks for the effort and the documentation.

Roy Owen

On Fri, 04 Mar 2005 16:45:17 -0800, Marc D. Field
<lists (AT) fieldinternet (DOT) com> wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I am writing to announce a new article I wrote detailing how to install
> SlimServer on the LinkStation network storage product by Buffalo. The
> article goes into a lot of detail, including background on the Linux
> commands required for the installation (which should be helpful to
> people who are not already familiar with Linux). If you are interested,
> you can find the article at the following URL:
>
> <http://fieldnetworks.com/slim/linkstation.html>.
>
> Marc
>

Chris Buckle
2005-03-14, 12:32
Many, many thanks Marc for your excellent article on the Linkstation. Your
timing was great as I was looking around for a network drive at the time and
the possibility of also running SlimServer inspired me to get hold of a
Linkstation as soon as I could.
I have it now, and not being a Linux expert (or a Linux anything in fact) I
have been following your instructions to the letter.
Unfortunately my password file doesn't look like your password file and
doesn't show a password at all for root. (root:/bin/bash is all that is
shown for the first line - which is also partially overwritten by vi
information on my screen).
I think I could probably safely add the password in the format indicated but
I thought I should check back with you first. By the way my Linkstation is
running firmware version 1.44.

Regards

Chris
----- Original Message -----
From: "Marc D. Field" <lists (AT) fieldinternet (DOT) com>
To: <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Saturday, March 05, 2005 12:45 AM
Subject: [slim] New How-To: Installing SlimServer on LinkStation


> Hi,
>
> I am writing to announce a new article I wrote detailing how to install
> SlimServer on the LinkStation network storage product by Buffalo. The
> article goes into a lot of detail, including background on the Linux
> commands required for the installation (which should be helpful to
> people who are not already familiar with Linux). If you are interested,
> you can find the article at the following URL:
>
> <http://fieldnetworks.com/slim/linkstation.html>.
>
> Marc
>
>



--
No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Anti-Virus.
Version: 7.0.308 / Virus Database: 266.7.2 - Release Date: 11/03/2005

Marc D. Field
2005-03-14, 23:23
On 03/14/2005 11:32 AM, Chris Buckle wrote:
> Unfortunately my password file doesn't look like your password file and
>
> doesn't show a password at all for root. (root:/bin/bash is all that is
>
> shown for the first line - which is also partially overwritten by vi
>
> information on my screen).
>
> I think I could probably safely add the password in the format indicated but
>
> I thought I should check back with you first. By the way my Linkstation is
>
> running firmware version 1.44.
>

Hi Chris,

That sounds odd. What happens if you type "more /etc/passwd" (which
will just show you the contents of the file)? Do you see the same entry
for root's line? There shouldn't be anything overwriting the first line
of your /etc/passwd file when in vi, but if there is, it may be that
you're just seeing the end of the line (which is also "root:/bin/bash"
on my LinkStation). If you see something different when viewing the
file with more, then try vi again and see if by some quirk you get a
different result than you did the first time with vi.

Marc