PDA

View Full Version : Wireless Rebooting (formerly My NOT goodwirelessexperience)



Ralph Edington
2005-02-24, 19:41
OK, so channels 5 and 11 have proved worthless for preventing the reboot
problem.

I'm starting to get ticked off a little. I mean, the big question is, why
does the squeezebox have to friggin' REBOOT, for Bob's sake!??!!?!? Can't
it handle wireless interference with some graceful dropouts or something?
This wireless reboot problem is RIDICULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How on earth is the rest of the world dealing with this? Like I say, it's
not like I'm running some obscure equipment in a weird environment. This is
about the most basic setup I can think of for wireless SB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OK, had to blow off a little steam there. But I'M STILL LOOKING FOR
ANSWERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RE

> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of kdf
> Sent: Thursday, February 24, 2005 4:05 PM
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Wireless Rebooting (formerly My NOT good
> wirelessexperience)
>
>
> Quoting Ralph Edington <ralph (AT) edington (DOT) com>:
>
> > Thanks for the suggestions:
> >
> > -- I will try MAC filtering instead of WEP if the problem
> persists. I only
> > have two wireless devices right now, so it's no big deal.
> >
> > -- That's good to know about the double-reboot. Makes me feel a little
> > better.
> >
> > -- As far as interoperability, I don't care who's certified or
> not, but if
> > Squeezebox can't interoperate (i.e. WORK!) with a Linksys
> WRT54G, which is
> > arguably one of the more popular access points/routers, then
> that's a much
> > bigger problem -- for Slim Devices -- than my little complaint.
> >
> > I'll keep plugging. If anyone has any more info, I'd sure
> appreciate it.
>
> I ran my squeezeboxen off a WRT54G using wifi-box firmware just
> fine for months.
> I've since conected an older Dlink 802.11B ap so that the ibook
> can use full G
> bandwidth. That's working fine too. the only exception is that if I've
> unplugged teh sb for a few days then it can take a bit longer
> than the initial
> 20 second timeout to find the wireless network. I've always used
> 128-bit WEP,
> and currently MAC filtering. If I had anything specific to offer
> for debugging
> help, I would, but maybe this will give you hope that it CAN work.
>
> I did have some trouble with channel conflicts with neighbours at
> one point.
> channging channels licked that one quickly.
>
> -kdf
>

Michael Peters
2005-02-25, 10:53
On Fri, 25 Feb 2005 11:23:14 -0500, Christopher Jacob
<chris (AT) jacob-solutions (DOT) com> wrote:

>
> My server is not wireless but the CAT5 that is plugged into it is missing
> the little retaining clip (keep forgetting to replace the cable)

You can replace just the end as well - don't need to replace the entire cable.

--
http://mpeters.us/

kdf
2005-02-25, 11:01
Quoting Michael Peters <funkyres (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:

> On Fri, 25 Feb 2005 11:23:14 -0500, Christopher Jacob
> <chris (AT) jacob-solutions (DOT) com> wrote:
>
> >
> > My server is not wireless but the CAT5 that is plugged into it is missing
> > the little retaining clip (keep forgetting to replace the cable)
>
> You can replace just the end as well - don't need to replace the entire
> cable.

Duct Tape! sheesh ;)

-kdf