PDA

View Full Version : trouble connecting to slimserver



momerath
2005-02-16, 23:17
Hi,

I have been having intermittent problems getting my wireless SB to
connect to my slimserver. The problem happens when I've had the SB
disconnected from power. Slimserver is running (either has been since
it was working last or I restart it) and has no trouble with
softsqueeze. I tell the SB to use wireless, keep the SSID that has
been working... no encryption... it says connecting and quickly passes
through to setting the ip address (which it doesnt do if I unplug the
AP). I have DHCP, but have also tried a static ip. This part
completes as well, though with DHCP it picks the last static address I
set instead of what my DHCP server would naturally assign it- also the
DHCP server's logs dont show it having obtained a lease. I cant ping
the SB, but I dont think I've tried that when it was working either,
so maybe it just doesnt respond to ping. I've tried killing
slimserver and erasing all the config files I could find;
powering/starting things in various orders. Yesterday after half an
hour of this it suddenly worked again, but I'm back in the same place
today since I unplugged it to take to a friend's house to show off. I
dont think its interference related because I have the SB 2 feet from
the AP right now.

Please help! I need my tunes to fall asleep to :)
~Michael

PS I've successfully powered the SB with a battery pack. For those few
who might be interested, I'll do a writeup at some point.

Rob Moore
2005-02-17, 11:11
I'm running into issues that sound *very* similar to what you describe,
but I have a different setup. I'm running a wired version of squeezebox
that is plugged into a ethernet-to-wireless bridge (specifically, the
d-link dwl-g810). I was assuming it had something to do with the
wireless connection, but after reading your post it sounds like maybe
something else is the issue. It's been driving me batty, so I hope a
solution can be found.

Regards,

Rob

momerath
2005-02-17, 12:06
Another note as to my configuration: I've tried running 5.4.0, a
couple 5.4.1 nightlies and a 6.0. They have each worked at some
point, though I use 5.4.0 most, and I havent noticed any difference in
the behavior I described between the versions.


On Thu, 17 Feb 2005 18:11:25 +0000 (UTC), Rob Moore
<roborative-gmane (AT) yahoo (DOT) com> wrote:
> I'm running into issues that sound *very* similar to what you describe,
> but I have a different setup. I'm running a wired version of squeezebox
> that is plugged into a ethernet-to-wireless bridge (specifically, the
> d-link dwl-g810). I was assuming it had something to do with the
> wireless connection, but after reading your post it sounds like maybe
> something else is the issue. It's been driving me batty, so I hope a
> solution can be found.
>
> Regards,
>
> Rob
>
>

Roy Owen
2005-02-17, 12:38
Just out of curiousity, what is the signal strength at the SB?


On Thu, 17 Feb 2005 13:06:34 -0600, momerath <michael.warnock (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:
> Another note as to my configuration: I've tried running 5.4.0, a
> couple 5.4.1 nightlies and a 6.0. They have each worked at some
> point, though I use 5.4.0 most, and I havent noticed any difference in
> the behavior I described between the versions.
>
> On Thu, 17 Feb 2005 18:11:25 +0000 (UTC), Rob Moore
> <roborative-gmane (AT) yahoo (DOT) com> wrote:
> > I'm running into issues that sound *very* similar to what you describe,
> > but I have a different setup. I'm running a wired version of squeezebox
> > that is plugged into a ethernet-to-wireless bridge (specifically, the
> > d-link dwl-g810). I was assuming it had something to do with the
> > wireless connection, but after reading your post it sounds like maybe
> > something else is the issue. It's been driving me batty, so I hope a
> > solution can be found.
> >
> > Regards,
> >
> > Rob
> >
> >

Aaron Zinck
2005-02-17, 12:47
Why don't you go ahead and hardwire it up just to test it? I know it seems
like it couldn't possibly be the wireless at fault, but it can't hurt to
eliminate one possible variable.

momerath
2005-02-17, 12:58
I've had it wired and I think I may have run into the same problem
once or twice, but it usually works right away wired. Right now I'm
listening with it wired to my notebook by crossover cable. I'd really
like to get it working in ad-hoc mode (at all) and get it reconnecting
wirelessly more reliably since I'll be switching between battery and
wallwart twice a day. I dont think it can be an issue with the
wireless signal itself, since I have happily streamed full PCM to it
for hours without a skip.
BTW, I may be imagining it, but it seems to sound even better as
transport to my DAC when the SB is running on battery power!


On Thu, 17 Feb 2005 14:47:35 -0500, Aaron Zinck <azinck3 (AT) ufl (DOT) edu> wrote:
> Why don't you go ahead and hardwire it up just to test it? I know it seems
> like it couldn't possibly be the wireless at fault, but it can't hurt to
> eliminate one possible variable.
>
>

momerath
2005-02-18, 15:02
This is really frustrating! Right now, I'm fairly sure I have my
notebook configured correctly to be an access point, but I dont have
anything besides the SB handy to test it with. Its not working, but
in the same way I've described in this thread (seems to join the
wireless network, but cant find slimserver), so I dont know whether
its that my notebook isnt a working AP or just the same issue I have
with my AP at home. Hasn't anyone else run into this?

Some more info about my configuration at home, which at least works
some of the time: Hawking 802.11g bridge/ap (in AP mode) is connected
to a gigabit switch to which the linux box running slimserver is also
connected. I'm using the gigabit switch simply because I cant find
the A/C adaptor for my 100mbit one :) Could it being a switch mess
with the discovery protocol? Could my version of any linux software
be key in figuring this out? I'm running gentoo ~x86 (linux
2.6.11-rc2, glibc 2.3.4, gcc 3.4, perl 5.8.6).

momerath
2005-02-18, 15:07
The only patterns I've noticed with this problem is that it seems to
start working right after I send an email to the list ;) (it just did,
and with my notebook-as-AP) and, perhaps, that cutting power for a few
minutes and trying again has a much better chance than just cutting
power briefly or just trying over and over.

momerath
2005-02-22, 13:13
Well, its doing it to me again right now. I changed absolutely
nothing since it was last working. I only removed power from the SB
for a few hours. Under these same circumstances, I've plugged it in
to have it just reconnect to slimserver and start working with no
interaction. Right now, it wont connect whether I leave it alone or
go through the whole wireless setup again. I would be ok with having
to go through some procedure every time I plug the SB back in, but as
it stands, it seems to start working again at random, which is VERY
frustrating!


On Fri, 18 Feb 2005 16:07:44 -0600, momerath <michael.warnock (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:
> The only patterns I've noticed with this problem is that it seems to
> start working right after I send an email to the list ;) (it just did,
> and with my notebook-as-AP) and, perhaps, that cutting power for a few
> minutes and trying again has a much better chance than just cutting
> power briefly or just trying over and over.
>