PDA

View Full Version : New to List - Rhythmbox support?



Michael Peters
2005-02-16, 12:09
Howdy - changing my home network to wireless, allowing me to get all
my computer crap out of my living room.

Currently my PC (Linux) feeds my stereo - but that is going to change,
since stereo is staying in living room.

My wireless router is actually in a convenient place (above stereo
rack) to get a cheaper wired squeezebox (and I'm going 802.11g all
across anyway) - so it looks like a squeezebox will work out nicely,
it can feed stereo and talk directly to wireless router over cat5
which can get the music from box in office over wireless.

My question is if there is any plugins or support for using my
Rhythmbox smart playlists directly - Rhythmbox uses xml for it's
library and playlist descriptions, so I'm guessing it shouldn't be
*too* hard to write one. I'm kind of hoping someone already has
though.

--
http://mpeters.us/

kdf
2005-02-16, 12:14
Quoting Michael Peters <funkyres (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:

> My question is if there is any plugins or support for using my
> Rhythmbox smart playlists directly - Rhythmbox uses xml for it's
> library and playlist descriptions, so I'm guessing it shouldn't be
> *too* hard to write one. I'm kind of hoping someone already has
> though.
>
This has been requested before, but no one has taken on the challenge. :)

However, very recent builds of the 6.0 version of the server have been reworked
to make integrating such a plugin, MUCH easier. Prior to Feb 12, this kind of
integration would require a large patch to hook throughout the server code.
Now, it should be workable as a plugin. Anyone interested in taking on
Rhythmbox should download the latest 6.0 and use the iTunes plugin as an
example. Unfortunately, I have not had the time to document the import API so
example is all there is right now.

-kdf

Michael Peters
2005-02-16, 16:13
On Wed, 16 Feb 2005 11:14:41 -0800, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:

> >
> This has been requested before, but no one has taken on the challenge. :)

Generally I "don't do perl" but I have before when I needed something
that had to be done in perl (webmin module) that didn't exist - I
*might* be up for the challenge, but if I am, no one will know until I
have something that works, as I would prefer if someone else did.

I'm guessing since the server is already perl, that would be the
preferred way to do it.

--
http://mpeters.us/

kdf
2005-02-16, 17:12
Quoting Michael Peters <funkyres (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:

> On Wed, 16 Feb 2005 11:14:41 -0800, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
>
> > >
> > This has been requested before, but no one has taken on the challenge. :)
>
> Generally I "don't do perl" but I have before when I needed something
> that had to be done in perl (webmin module) that didn't exist - I
> *might* be up for the challenge, but if I am, no one will know until I
> have something that works, as I would prefer if someone else did.
>
> I'm guessing since the server is already perl, that would be the
> preferred way to do it.

That is how the import API works, but you can also use the Command Line
Interface (see Technical Information in the slimserver help section). It migt
be able to hook in if you use it creatively. Its not really designed for
inputting data, as much as it is for getting data out :)

-kdf