PDA

View Full Version : OT: Slimserver, iPod, iTunes ... help and advice



Dan Speirs
2005-02-15, 23:44
I remember this being touched on a while back but my
search of my 12,000 e-mails from the list brought up
nill. Anyway, I just bought an iPod for working out
and my long drives and love it. The problem is that
my library is either ripped at eac insane or lossless
rates so it just doesn't hold as much as I would like.

How does everyone else deal with this? I was thinking
one solution is to rip CDs at two different rates:
lossless for squeezebox and 128 (or around that rate)
for the iPod. If I did this how would this work with
slimserver seeing that I use iTunes in the slimserver?


Has anyone found a solution ipods and slimserver to
co-exist?

Dan




__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Mail - You care about security. So do we.
http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail

Harm Reitsma
2005-02-16, 01:24
How about unchecking the mp3-128 in iTunes. This way you can still
export them to the iPod but you can set the slimserver to neglect them.
When you use good headphones with your iPod I would rerip everything in
at least160 AAC. See also a very interesting comparison at:

http://members.brabant.chello.nl/~m.heijligers/ipod/Compression/compression.html



Dan Speirs wrote:

>I remember this being touched on a while back but my
>search of my 12,000 e-mails from the list brought up
>nill. Anyway, I just bought an iPod for working out
>and my long drives and love it. The problem is that
>my library is either ripped at eac insane or lossless
>rates so it just doesn't hold as much as I would like.
>
>How does everyone else deal with this? I was thinking
>one solution is to rip CDs at two different rates:
>lossless for squeezebox and 128 (or around that rate)
>for the iPod. If I did this how would this work with
>slimserver seeing that I use iTunes in the slimserver?
>
>
>Has anyone found a solution ipods and slimserver to
>co-exist?
>
>Dan
>
>
>
>
>__________________________________
>Do you Yahoo!?
>Yahoo! Mail - You care about security. So do we.
>http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail
>

Robin Bowes
2005-02-16, 05:56
Dolf Dijkstra wrote:

> Bottom line: if you have ripped most of your collection to lossless it is
> possible to re-encode them to lossy. You can either use an existing tool
> (like foobar) or spend some time and write your own script to do this.

Coincidentally, I've just written a script that converts a directory
tree of flac files to mp3 format.

Check here:
http://article.gmane.org/gmane.music.equipment.slimdevices.general/22976

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com