PDA

View Full Version : SoftSqueeze 1.16 problem?



Andy Hawkins
2005-02-11, 04:25
Hi,

I'm just tinkering with SoftSqueeze before jumping in and buying a
Squeezebox. A couple of times yesterday I had my WinXP SP2 box go into
what appeared to be 100% CPU usage.

The second time it happened, I realised that it was when SoftSqueeze had
played the last song in its play list. After much persevering, I managed to
ALT-TAB to SoftSqueeze and close it, and the machine came back to life.

Is this a known problem? Is there any fix? Any debugging I can do to try to
help track this down?

Java version is 1.4.2_06 if that's any help.

Thanks

Andy

Steve Bernard, Jr
2005-02-11, 14:06
On Fri, 11 Feb 2005 11:25:38 +0000 (UTC), Andy Hawkins
<andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk> wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I'm just tinkering with SoftSqueeze before jumping in and buying a
> Squeezebox. A couple of times yesterday I had my WinXP SP2 box go into
> what appeared to be 100% CPU usage.
>
> The second time it happened, I realised that it was when SoftSqueeze had
> played the last song in its play list. After much persevering, I managed to
> ALT-TAB to SoftSqueeze and close it, and the machine came back to life.
>

This exact thing happened to me today, too. Same OS with Java
1.4.2_06-b03. I'm using 1.14 right now with no trouble.

-Steve

Andy Hawkins
2005-02-11, 14:21
Hi,

In article <317f781a05021113062d6feaf3 (AT) mail (DOT) gmail.com>,
Steve Bernard, Jr<sbernardjr (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:
> This exact thing happened to me today, too. Same OS with Java
> 1.4.2_06-b03. I'm using 1.14 right now with no trouble.

Ok, I might downgrade then, see if that resolves it.

What files do I need to delete? Or if I put the old version back onto the
server, will it downgrade itself?

Anyone else seeing this?

Andy

rtitmuss
2005-02-14, 14:36
Andy Hawkins wrote:

>Hi,
>
>I'm just tinkering with SoftSqueeze before jumping in and buying a
>Squeezebox. A couple of times yesterday I had my WinXP SP2 box go into
>what appeared to be 100% CPU usage.
>
>The second time it happened, I realised that it was when SoftSqueeze had
>played the last song in its play list. After much persevering, I managed to
>ALT-TAB to SoftSqueeze and close it, and the machine came back to life.
>
>Is this a known problem? Is there any fix? Any debugging I can do to try to
>help track this down?
>
>Java version is 1.4.2_06 if that's any help.
>
>Thanks
>
>Andy
>
>
I don't seem to be able to recreate this, what server version are you
using? To help debug this could you run Softsqueeze from the command
prompt using:
cd <where softsqueeze is installed>
java -Dlog=search,javasound -jar SoftSqueeze.jar

It should then output some debug information, when the cpu hits 100%
what does it say?

Thanks,
Richard

Andy Hawkins
2005-02-15, 04:05
Hi,

In article <421119CE.6020606 (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk>,
Richard Titmuss<richard_titmuss (AT) yahoo (DOT) co.uk> wrote:
> I don't seem to be able to recreate this, what server version are you
> using?

Server is 5.4.0

> To help debug this could you run Softsqueeze from the command
> prompt using:
> cd <where softsqueeze is installed>
> java -Dlog=search,javasound -jar SoftSqueeze.jar
>
> It should then output some debug information, when the cpu hits 100%
> what does it say?

Softsqueeze doesn't appear to be 'installed' as such, the shortcut is set to
the following:

"C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_04\javaws\javaws.exe"
"@C:\Documents and
Settings\Andy Hawkins\Application
Data\Sun\Java\Deployment\javaws\cache\indirect\ind irect24486.ind"

Could this be part of the problem?

Andy

rtitmuss
2005-02-19, 13:49
Andy Hawkins wrote:

>
>>To help debug this could you run Softsqueeze from the command
>>prompt using:
>> cd <where softsqueeze is installed>
>> java -Dlog=search,javasound -jar SoftSqueeze.jar
>>
>>It should then output some debug information, when the cpu hits 100%
>>what does it say?
>>
>>
>
>Softsqueeze doesn't appear to be 'installed' as such, the shortcut is set to
>the following:
>
>"C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_04\javaws\javaws.exe"
>"@C:\Documents and
>Settings\Andy Hawkins\Application
>Data\Sun\Java\Deployment\javaws\cache\indirect\ind irect24486.ind"
>
>Could this be part of the problem?
>
>
No running Softsqueeze like this is not a problem, it's normal when
installed using Java Web Start. It will just be a bit tricky debugging
your problem while the cpu is maxed out. Could you install Softsqueeze
from the sourceforge site (http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.com), and then
run with the debugging enabled?

Thanks,
Richard