PDA

View Full Version : Cache folder in slimserver



Andy Hawkins
2005-02-09, 12:43
Hi,

I'm finding that I have to rebuild my music library every time I start
slimserver. Can you tell me where the default location for the music cache
file is? I suspect that it's failing to write to this location, but there
don't seem to be any useful errors in the slimserver log.

Thanks

Andy

kdf
2005-02-09, 13:46
Quoting Andy Hawkins <andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk>:

> Hi,
>
> I'm finding that I have to rebuild my music library every time I start
> slimserver. Can you tell me where the default location for the music cache
> file is? I suspect that it's failing to write to this location, but there
> don't seem to be any useful errors in the slimserver log.

this depends entirely on what OS you are using, whether you are running as a
system service or as a user application, and what version you are running for
the server. Try searching for .slimserver.db (linux) or slimserver.db (win) if
you are running 5.4, or .slimserversql.db and slimserversql.db if you are
running the 6.0 builds.

-kdf

Andy Hawkins
2005-02-09, 14:08
Hi,

In article <1107981999.420a76afce327 (AT) callisto (DOT) deane-freeman.com>,
kdf<slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
> this depends entirely on what OS you are using, whether you are running as a
> system service or as a user application, and what version you are running for
> the server. Try searching for .slimserver.db (linux) or slimserver.db (win) if
> you are running 5.4, or .slimserversql.db and slimserversql.db if you are
> running the 6.0 builds.

I'm using 5.4 under Linux. I'll try a search, but I wouldn't be surprised if
I didn't find anything, as I suspect it's trying to write it somewhere it
doesn't have permission to.

Andy

Andy Hawkins
2005-02-09, 14:13
Hi,

In article <slrnd0kuuu.89m.andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk>,
Andy Hawkins<andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk> wrote:
> I'm using 5.4 under Linux. I'll try a search, but I wouldn't be surprised if
> I didn't find anything, as I suspect it's trying to write it somewhere it
> doesn't have permission to.

Yep, just done a search and found nothing. How can I find out where it's
trying to put it?

Thanks

Andy

mherger
2005-02-09, 14:28
> In article <slrnd0kuuu.89m.andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk>,
> Andy Hawkins<andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk> wrote:
>> I'm using 5.4 under Linux. I'll try a search, but I wouldn't be
>> surprised if
>> I didn't find anything, as I suspect it's trying to write it somewhere
>> it
>> doesn't have permission to.
>
> Yep, just done a search and found nothing. How can I find out where it's
> trying to put it?

On my Linux box using 5.4.x rpm it's
/usr/local/slimserver/Cache/.slimserver.db - even though I don't use the
cache (the file is only 335 bytes).

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Avi Schwartz
2005-02-09, 14:34
Michael Herger wrote:

>> In article <slrnd0kuuu.89m.andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk>,
>> Andy Hawkins<andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk> wrote:
>>
>>> I'm using 5.4 under Linux. I'll try a search, but I wouldn't be
>>> surprised if
>>> I didn't find anything, as I suspect it's trying to write it
>>> somewhere it
>>> doesn't have permission to.
>>
>>
>> Yep, just done a search and found nothing. How can I find out where it's
>> trying to put it?
>
>
> On my Linux box using 5.4.x rpm it's
> /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/.slimserver.db - even though I don't use
> the cache (the file is only 335 bytes).
>
Interesting. I am using the nightly build 5.4.X version and I don't
even have a Cache directory, but I do have a .slimserver.db file in
/usr/local/slimserver which is 8MB in size. And yes, the cache is being
used.

Avi

--
Avi Schwartz
http://public.xdi.org/=avi.schwartz

When you have robbed a man of everything, he is no longer in your power. He is free again.

-- Alexander Solzhenitsyn

Andy Hawkins
2005-02-09, 14:36
Hi,

In article <opslx8ln0akpbrd7 (AT) truckli (DOT) jo-sac.ch>,
Michael Herger<slim (AT) herger (DOT) net> wrote:
> On my Linux box using 5.4.x rpm it's
> /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/.slimserver.db - even though I don't use the
> cache (the file is only 335 bytes).

All I have in there is an 'usr' directory, that contains
local/slimserver/HTML and what appear to be cached versions of the HTML
interface.

Andy

kdf
2005-02-09, 14:40
Quoting Andy Hawkins <andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk>:

> Hi,
>
> In article <slrnd0kuuu.89m.andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk>,
> Andy Hawkins<andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk> wrote:
> > I'm using 5.4 under Linux. I'll try a search, but I wouldn't be surprised
> if
> > I didn't find anything, as I suspect it's trying to write it somewhere it
> > doesn't have permission to.
>
> Yep, just done a search and found nothing. How can I find out where it's
> trying to put it?

look in /etc/slimserver.conf for a line starting with 'cachedir'. that will
give the location that slimserver is trying to use.

also, remember that it will be .slimserver.db which would normally appear hidden
with just ls, you need to use ls -a

-kdf

kdf
2005-02-09, 14:42
Quoting Andy Hawkins <andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk>:

> Hi,
>
> In article <opslx8ln0akpbrd7 (AT) truckli (DOT) jo-sac.ch>,
> Michael Herger<slim (AT) herger (DOT) net> wrote:
> > On my Linux box using 5.4.x rpm it's
> > /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/.slimserver.db - even though I don't use the
> > cache (the file is only 335 bytes).
>
> All I have in there is an 'usr' directory, that contains
> local/slimserver/HTML and what appear to be cached versions of the HTML
> interface.

ls -la

-kdf

Andy Hawkins
2005-02-09, 14:43
In article <420A81EC.90709 (AT) cfftechnologies (DOT) com>,
Avi Schwartz<slim (AT) cfftechnologies (DOT) com> wrote:
> Interesting. I am using the nightly build 5.4.X version and I don't
> even have a Cache directory, but I do have a .slimserver.db file in
> /usr/local/slimserver which is 8MB in size. And yes, the cache is being
> used.

I created the 'Cache' directory, and edited the 'cachedir' parameter in the
config file.

My '/usr/local/slimserver' directory is owned by slimserver.slimserver, and
is 775. All the subdirectories are the same owner / permissions.

Andy

Andy Hawkins
2005-02-09, 14:56
Hi,

In article <1107985237.420a8355018e2 (AT) callisto (DOT) deane-freeman.com>,
kdf<slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
> look in /etc/slimserver.conf for a line starting with 'cachedir'. that will
> give the location that slimserver is trying to use.

That's set to /usr/local/slimserver/Cache

> also, remember that it will be .slimserver.db which would normally appear hidden
> with just ls, you need to use ls -a

Yep...I realise that :)

Andy

Avi Schwartz
2005-02-09, 15:24
Andy Hawkins wrote:

>Hi,
>
>In article <1107985237.420a8355018e2 (AT) callisto (DOT) deane-freeman.com>,
> kdf<slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
>
>
>>look in /etc/slimserver.conf for a line starting with 'cachedir'. that will
>>give the location that slimserver is trying to use.
>>
>>
>
>That's set to /usr/local/slimserver/Cache
>
>
>
>>also, remember that it will be .slimserver.db which would normally appear hidden
>>with just ls, you need to use ls -a
>>
>>
>
>Yep...I realise that :
>
One more thing. I have seen in the past cache problems when I had an
old/incomplete version of perl installed on one of my machines.

Avi

Andy Hawkins
2005-02-09, 15:35
Hi,

In article <420A8D81.1030706 (AT) cfftechnologies (DOT) com>,
Avi Schwartz<slim (AT) cfftechnologies (DOT) com> wrote:
> One more thing. I have seen in the past cache problems when I had an
> old/incomplete version of perl installed on one of my machines.

That's possible. I'm running Debian v3.0, perl is 5.0 version 6 subversion
1. Does that sound 'old'?

As to incomplete, what exactly do you mean here? Any logging I can turn on
to see if anything is missing that I need?

Thanks

Andy

kdf
2005-02-09, 15:51
Quoting Andy Hawkins <andy (AT) gently (DOT) org.uk>:

> Hi,
>
> In article <420A8D81.1030706 (AT) cfftechnologies (DOT) com>,
> Avi Schwartz<slim (AT) cfftechnologies (DOT) com> wrote:
> > One more thing. I have seen in the past cache problems when I had an
> > old/incomplete version of perl installed on one of my machines.
>
> That's possible. I'm running Debian v3.0, perl is 5.0 version 6 subversion
> 1. Does that sound 'old'?
>
> As to incomplete, what exactly do you mean here? Any logging I can turn on
> to see if anything is missing that I need?

The caching relies on Storable, which may not be present on all perl installs.
The server is designed to cleanly fail and move on without caching if Storable
isn't available.

you can always try:
perl -MCPAN -e "install Storable"

-kdf

Andy Hawkins
2005-02-10, 05:06
Hi,

In article <1107989460.420a93d4b44b0 (AT) callisto (DOT) deane-freeman.com>,
kdf<slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
> The caching relies on Storable, which may not be present on all perl installs.
> The server is designed to cleanly fail and move on without caching if Storable
> isn't available.

Thanks to both you and Avi, that seems to have been the problem.

Now working well.

Thanks again.

Andy