PDA

View Full Version : SoftSqueeze and OpenSSH



Roy Owen
2005-02-09, 09:16
I've set up OpenSSH as a test bed on my Laptop. I'm running
SlimServer 2/4/2005 nightly, Windows XP sp2. I've gotten OpenSSH
configured and working (confirmed with PuTTY). How ever when I try to
connect with SoftSqueeze 1.16 I encounter the following:
I get the SSH private computer warning page,
Then I get the password prompt for the SSH user
Then SoftSqueeze displays the "Cannot connect to server" error.

What am I missing?

Thanks
--
Do meddle in the affairs of Dragons,
for you are crunchy and good with Tabasco.

John Gorst
2005-02-09, 10:17
Roy Owen wrote:
> I've set up OpenSSH as a test bed on my Laptop. I'm running
> SlimServer 2/4/2005 nightly, Windows XP sp2. I've gotten OpenSSH
> configured and working (confirmed with PuTTY). How ever when I try to
> connect with SoftSqueeze 1.16 I encounter the following:
> I get the SSH private computer warning page,
> Then I get the password prompt for the SSH user
> Then SoftSqueeze displays the "Cannot connect to server" error.
>
> What am I missing?
>
> Thanks

Sounds stupid - but are you launching softsqueeze on the server that
slimserver is running on (or running on a system with a test
installation of slimserver on). This will not work.

SSH works by making a secure tunnel from the client pc to the server.
With softsqueeze it opens up a port on localhost:5901 to be forwarded to
server:5901 (and a few other ports). Softsqueeze then connects to
localhost:5901 which is then forwarded securely to server:5901.

If localhost and server are the same machine it will be impossible for
ssh to open the new 'secure' port.

I was trying to get ssh/softsqueeze working for ages between my xp
laptop and linux desktop. However I had an old version of slimserver
running on my laptop which I forgot about.

HTH

Roy Owen
2005-02-09, 11:11
Sorry, I wasn't clear enough. I have Softsqueeze 1.16 running on a
SEPERATE pc.


On Wed, 09 Feb 2005 17:17:28 +0000, John Gorst <john_gorst (AT) hotmail (DOT) com> wrote:
> Roy Owen wrote:
> > I've set up OpenSSH as a test bed on my Laptop. I'm running
> > SlimServer 2/4/2005 nightly, Windows XP sp2. I've gotten OpenSSH
> > configured and working (confirmed with PuTTY). How ever when I try to
> > connect with SoftSqueeze 1.16 I encounter the following:
> > I get the SSH private computer warning page,
> > Then I get the password prompt for the SSH user
> > Then SoftSqueeze displays the "Cannot connect to server" error.
> >
> > What am I missing?
> >
> > Thanks
>
> Sounds stupid - but are you launching softsqueeze on the server that
> slimserver is running on (or running on a system with a test
> installation of slimserver on). This will not work.
>
> SSH works by making a secure tunnel from the client pc to the server.
> With softsqueeze it opens up a port on localhost:5901 to be forwarded to
> server:5901 (and a few other ports). Softsqueeze then connects to
> localhost:5901 which is then forwarded securely to server:5901.
>
> If localhost and server are the same machine it will be impossible for
> ssh to open the new 'secure' port.
>
> I was trying to get ssh/softsqueeze working for ages between my xp
> laptop and linux desktop. However I had an old version of slimserver
> running on my laptop which I forgot about.
>
> HTH
>
>

Roy Owen
2005-02-09, 12:10
I found it. I DID have a copy of SlimServer running on the client pc.
Turned the service off and the problem went away.

Thanks.


On Wed, 9 Feb 2005 13:11:46 -0500, Roy Owen <yddraig (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:
> Sorry, I wasn't clear enough. I have Softsqueeze 1.16 running on a
> SEPERATE pc.
>
>
> On Wed, 09 Feb 2005 17:17:28 +0000, John Gorst <john_gorst (AT) hotmail (DOT) com> wrote:
> > Roy Owen wrote:
> > > I've set up OpenSSH as a test bed on my Laptop. I'm running
> > > SlimServer 2/4/2005 nightly, Windows XP sp2. I've gotten OpenSSH
> > > configured and working (confirmed with PuTTY). How ever when I try to
> > > connect with SoftSqueeze 1.16 I encounter the following:
> > > I get the SSH private computer warning page,
> > > Then I get the password prompt for the SSH user
> > > Then SoftSqueeze displays the "Cannot connect to server" error.
> > >
> > > What am I missing?
> > >
> > > Thanks
> >
> > Sounds stupid - but are you launching softsqueeze on the server that
> > slimserver is running on (or running on a system with a test
> > installation of slimserver on). This will not work.
> >
> > SSH works by making a secure tunnel from the client pc to the server.
> > With softsqueeze it opens up a port on localhost:5901 to be forwarded to
> > server:5901 (and a few other ports). Softsqueeze then connects to
> > localhost:5901 which is then forwarded securely to server:5901.
> >
> > If localhost and server are the same machine it will be impossible for
> > ssh to open the new 'secure' port.
> >
> > I was trying to get ssh/softsqueeze working for ages between my xp
> > laptop and linux desktop. However I had an old version of slimserver
> > running on my laptop which I forgot about.
> >
> > HTH
> >
> >

Thomas B. Malsbury
2005-02-09, 12:10
Roy Owen wrote:

>I've set up OpenSSH as a test bed on my Laptop. I'm running
>SlimServer 2/4/2005 nightly, Windows XP sp2. I've gotten OpenSSH
>configured and working (confirmed with PuTTY). How ever when I try to
>connect with SoftSqueeze 1.16 I encounter the following:
> I get the SSH private computer warning page,
> Then I get the password prompt for the SSH user
> Then SoftSqueeze displays the "Cannot connect to server" error.
>
>What am I missing?
>
>Thanks
>
>
Since you say you can get to your SSH server via putty, it sounds like
you have gotten over the hardest part of the setup. Let's now focus on
the client side of the setup. Are you trying to launch SoftSqueeze on
the client machine by using the SoftSqueeze weblaunch link in the
SlimServer web UI? The weblaunch feature of the Slimserver is for use
within a local network in which both the server and client machine are
localed inside the firewall.

The way that I access SlimServer remotely from work is by downloading
SoftSqueeze from http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net and run it as a
standalone application. Then in the network setup of softsqueeze you
set it to use SSH and set the server address to the public IP address of
you home firewall/router. Then when your home router gets a request on
port 22, it forwards it to the SSH server running on the SlimServer machine.

I have found the best way to do this is to link my routers IP address to
a free domain name provided by http://www.dyndns.org . That way I don't
have to worry when my ISP decides to assign me a new IP address, it
always point to home.

If you are trying to connect via SSH within your own network, I would
still run SoftSqueeze as a stand alone application on the client
machine. You should just have to put the IP address of the machine
running SlimServer and SSH in the network settings of SoftSqueeze. I
can't imagine this is how you are attempting to use it though since all
the ports SoftSqueeze would need to run without SSH should be open for
and hardware (Squeezebox / Slimp3) players you have.

If you have any other question, or I haven't answered the one you
actually asked, please don't hesitate to ask again.

Tom

Thomas B. Malsbury
2005-02-09, 12:19
Roy Owen wrote:

>I found it. I DID have a copy of SlimServer running on the client pc.
> Turned the service off and the problem went away.
>
>Thanks.
>
>
>
Glad to hear you got it working.

The list archive clearly shows that you had SlimServer installed on both
of your machines for testing purposes....


http://forums.slimdevices.com/gforum.cgi?post=21818;search_string=SlimServer%20H elp;guest=3843#21818


I swear the answer to every problem is in that archive. ;)

Tom