PDA

View Full Version : WIN XP PRO SP2 Ad Hoc



Cafe Nervosa
2005-02-08, 10:23
Ian,
Thanks for your help setting the network parameters.
Correcting the wireless gateway IP setting on the SB allowed me to connect.

I find however, the connection doesn't work for very long. It runs for a
few/20 minutes than losses the connection. It then doesn't re-connect. I
have to unplug the SB and reboot the PC to get connected again. I will try
searching for troubleshooting tips on the issue of improving the connection
and using the blocking function, password and encryption.

Derek

----Original Message Follows----
From: "Cafe Nervosa" <cafe_nervosa (AT) hotmail (DOT) com>
Reply-To: Slim Devices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] WIN XP PRO SP2 Ad Hoc
Date: Mon, 07 Feb 2005 19:19:02 +0000


Ian,
Thanks Ian,
You are correct. One of the settings I made on the SB is:
>Wireless Gateway 0.0.0.0 (which you say is incorrect)

I didn't know that I should make this entry the IP of the WiFi card on the
PC.
When I work on this tonight I will adjust the setting to:
Wireless Gateway IP 10.0.10.10

Does anyone know of a:
How To Connect SB to WIN XP using Wireless Ad Hac Network?
If not, I would edit the help messages I have recieved and post it to this
fourm.
Also, for a wired Ad Hoc Network and the SB, is a null (wires crossed)
network cable required or do you use a regular ethernet cable?

Thanks


Derek


----Original Message Follows----
From: Ian Payton <ian_gmane (AT) bibbly (DOT) demon.co.uk>
Reply-To: Slim Devices Discussion <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] WIN XP PRO SP2 Ad Hoc - No connection
Date: Mon, 07 Feb 2005 08:03:36 +0000

Hi,

Cafe Nervosa wrote:
>Here is is output of route print.
>I think I do have the line you asked for.

Yes you do. This line means that anything for 10.0.10.20 will be routed by
your windows box through the 10.0.10.10 adaptor:

> Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface
> 10.0.10.0 255.255.255.0 10.0.10.10 10.0.10.10

However...

>Still not connected.

What about the Wireless Gateway setting on the SB? I use DHCP on a wired
network here, so I haven't had to do this myself, but the help files say
this:

> Using static IP address
>
> To configure the player using static IP addresses, choose "Enter
> everything manually". This will take you to a series of four screens,
> where you can enter the IP address of the player, your netmask, your
> router's address, and the IP address of your server. To enter the
> addresses, use the left and right buttons to select the digit to edit,
> and up/down to change that digit. Press "ok" to go the next screen
> (the 'ok' button is just below and to the right of the arrow buttons).

The equivalent of "router" here is "wireless gateway". You showed this as
being set to 0.0.0.0 earlier. Can you change that to the IP address of your
XP box?

Ian