PDA

View Full Version : WIN XP PRO SP2 Ad Hoc - No connection



Cafe Nervosa
2005-02-06, 12:33
Please help me connect my Squeeze box to a WIN XP computer over an Ad Hoc
network.

Slimserver is running on the PC with WIN XP PRO SP2.
The Wireless card is NETGEAR WG311 v2 802.11g internal PCI card.

Slimserver v5.4.0 for windows is running on the PC. It says "player not
found".

Using the NETGEAR configutation I created a profile
Profile: SqueezeBOX
Network Name (SSID): Squeeze
In the WIN XP network connections I set the IP address of the wireless card
to:
IP 10.0.10.10
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
In the NETGEAR configuration about tab I see the Device IP address is:
10.0.10.10

On the Sueezebox I view the setting and these are:
Wireless IP Address 10.0.10.20
Wireless Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Wireless Gateway 0.0.0.0
Slimserver IP 10.0.10.10
Wireless Network Name: Squeeze
Wireless Encryption: none
Wireless Singal Strength: 87%
Wireless MAC address 00:04:20:05:8c:73
Sueezebox firmware vervion: 40
Obtain IP Adress: Manually (static)

The Squeeze box says it can not find the wireless network.

NETGEAR does not see the squeeze box.
Newstumbler does not see anything with MAC address 00:04:20:05:8c:73
During this troublshooting, the Squeezebox is in the same small room


I believe the hardware is working because:
I can accesss the Internet through unsecured WiFi access points within
range.
For a short time last night I did stream to the Squeezebox buy then the
slimserver
started to get buggy and "can not connect" screens appered.
I uninstalled and reinstalled the slimslerver twice.

Mark Schlack
2005-02-06, 13:33
OK, so as I understand it, you have a PC at 10.0.10.10 that you want to
connect to a Squeezebox at 10.0.10.20. One way to tell if you have basic
connectivity is to launch the Command Prompt (Run CMD) and do ping
10.0.10.20 from the PC. You will either get a response telling you
there's no connection or one telling you the time it takes to make a
round trip. No connection means just that -- something's not working.
Any connection means there's something in the software on either side
that's preventing the Slimserver from connecting with the Squeebox.
Likely suspect is the Windows XP firewall (lots of stuff about
configuring that here and elsewhere). Also, do you have another network
card in the PC besides the wireless? The slimserver could be trying to
use that.

Cafe Nervosa wrote:

> Please help me connect my Squeeze box to a WIN XP computer over an Ad
> Hoc network.
>
> Slimserver is running on the PC with WIN XP PRO SP2.
> The Wireless card is NETGEAR WG311 v2 802.11g internal PCI card.
>
> Slimserver v5.4.0 for windows is running on the PC. It says "player
> not found".
>
> Using the NETGEAR configutation I created a profile
> Profile: SqueezeBOX
> Network Name (SSID): Squeeze
> In the WIN XP network connections I set the IP address of the wireless
> card to:
> IP 10.0.10.10
> Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
> In the NETGEAR configuration about tab I see the Device IP address is:
> 10.0.10.10
>
> On the Sueezebox I view the setting and these are:
> Wireless IP Address 10.0.10.20
> Wireless Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
> Wireless Gateway 0.0.0.0
> Slimserver IP 10.0.10.10
> Wireless Network Name: Squeeze
> Wireless Encryption: none
> Wireless Singal Strength: 87%
> Wireless MAC address 00:04:20:05:8c:73
> Sueezebox firmware vervion: 40
> Obtain IP Adress: Manually (static)
>
> The Squeeze box says it can not find the wireless network.
>
> NETGEAR does not see the squeeze box.
> Newstumbler does not see anything with MAC address 00:04:20:05:8c:73
> During this troublshooting, the Squeezebox is in the same small room
>
>
> I believe the hardware is working because:
> I can accesss the Internet through unsecured WiFi access points within
> range.
> For a short time last night I did stream to the Squeezebox buy then
> the slimserver
> started to get buggy and "can not connect" screens appered.
> I uninstalled and reinstalled the slimslerver twice.
>
>

Ian Payton
2005-02-06, 15:43
Hi,

Cafe Nervosa wrote:
> Ping gets a request timed out.
> I disable the Ethernet LAN and ping. I still get request timed out.

> How do I tell the slimserver to use the wireless card and not the
> Ethernet? I don't see it in the Home/Server Settings/Network page.

This should be taken care of by Windows. Get up a Windows command
prompt and type "route print". Amongst the information it prints will
be a list of "Active Routes". What *should* be happening is that
everything on your 10.0.10.XXX subnet (as defined by the combination of
IP address and netmask you put on your Netgear card) should be routing
through the Netgear card. This will appear as a line like this:

Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface
10.0.10.0 255.255.255.0 10.0.10.10 10.0.10.10

This essentially says that any traffic originating on your computer
destined for an address which matches 10.0.10.XXX (i.e. only paying
attention to the first three octets, because of the netmask) should go
out through the interface "10.0.10.10" which is your wireless card. So
it will route 10.0.10.20 through the wireless card, because it matches
that rule in the first three octets (10.0.10.XXX).

If you don't have a line which matches what I've put above, then let us
know what "route print" *does* print out.

Cafe Nervosa wrote:
> On the Sueezebox I view the setting and these are:
> Wireless IP Address 10.0.10.20
> Wireless Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
> Wireless Gateway 0.0.0.0
> Slimserver IP 10.0.10.10
> Wireless Network Name: Squeeze
> Wireless Encryption: none
> Wireless Singal Strength: 87%
> Wireless MAC address 00:04:20:05:8c:73
> Sueezebox firmware vervion: 40
> Obtain IP Adress: Manually (static)

Secondly, I think the Squeezebox "Wireless Gateway" setting is a problem
(although I'm a little more fuzzy on this). I believe that this should
also be set to the IP address of your PC, 10.0.10.10. This is the
Squeezebox's gateway to the rest of the world (the "next hop" address of
any IP packets it sends that it doesn't otherwise know how to route).
BICBW.

Try changing this and let us know how you get on.

Ian

Ian Payton
2005-02-07, 01:03
Hi,

Cafe Nervosa wrote:
> Here is is output of route print.
> I think I do have the line you asked for.

Yes you do. This line means that anything for 10.0.10.20 will be routed
by your windows box through the 10.0.10.10 adaptor:

> Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface
> 10.0.10.0 255.255.255.0 10.0.10.10 10.0.10.10

However...

> Still not connected.

What about the Wireless Gateway setting on the SB? I use DHCP on a
wired network here, so I haven't had to do this myself, but the help
files say this:

> Using static IP address
>
> To configure the player using static IP addresses, choose "Enter
> everything manually". This will take you to a series of four screens,
> where you can enter the IP address of the player, your netmask, your
> router's address, and the IP address of your server. To enter the
> addresses, use the left and right buttons to select the digit to edit,
> and up/down to change that digit. Press "ok" to go the next screen
> (the 'ok' button is just below and to the right of the arrow buttons).

The equivalent of "router" here is "wireless gateway". You showed this
as being set to 0.0.0.0 earlier. Can you change that to the IP address
of your XP box?

Ian