PDA

View Full Version : Volume Up and firmware update?



Ralph Edington
2005-02-03, 22:19
Thanks for this tip, I might try capturing the debug codes and see what I
can find.

I settled on the One For All URC-6131 because it has nice Tivo buttons. Not
truly a "learning" remote, although it can be programmed with advanced key
codes, which is pretty cool, and you can move keys around and "punch
through" like crazy... But I'm hoping they come out with a new PVR-oriented
model soon -- one that supports 8 devices instead of 6, has backlit keys,
and is truly "learning".

Sure, I could spend $100-$200 for a nice remote, but when the 6131 kicks
butt for $12, whaddayagonnado?

Cheers,

RE
-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of Aaron Zinck
Sent: Thursday, February 03, 2005 8:18 PM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Volume Up and firmware update?


I remember you mentioned in an earler thread that you were debating
between two different remotes. Which one did you get? If you got the
Magnovox then it has a learning function so you could just learn over all
the commands from your squeezebox.

If you didn't get a learning remote then you can simply turn on d_ir in
slimserver then use the volume up and down keys. You should be able to
figure out the ir code for those commands by looking at the log. Just use
those commands to create your own custom .ir file to do what you want to do.
This may not work if your volume keys are set to send signals to a sony or
ge tv as I believe these (amongst some others) use a different ir code
format. So you may have to experiment a bit, but it shouldn't be too tough.
"Ralph Edington" <ralph-uL54E0APr9RWk0Htik3J/w (AT) public (DOT) gmane.org> wrote
in message news:NCBBKOCNGGDBCNDPCNKCCEECDOAA.ralph (AT) edington (DOT) com...
Ah. Thank you, that explains it.

Since my universal remote's JVC DVD emulation does not have any volume
controls that work whatsoever, I believe I will have to stick with my IR
hack to trick the SBox into thinking "brightness" means "volume". (At least
until I get a real learning remote and can capture the native volume keys
from SBox's remote.)

Unless someone has some info on where those volume control emulations
came from? Surely not "natively" from a DVD player -- DVD players don't
have a volume function. They must have originally come from TV or Receiver
volume controls. But which, and what brand? If I knew that, I could
probably hash this out and get it working right.

But it's a very minor issue...

Thanks again.

RE
-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of Aaron Zinck
Sent: Thursday, February 03, 2005 6:17 PM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Volume Up and firmware update?


Holding down the brightness button is what triggers a firmware update.
It must be hardcoded into the squeezebox to respond to prolonged depression
of that particular code. The IR map has nothing to do with it--it's in the
firmware of the box. You'd do well to find another IR code to map to volume
(and don't use that code for any other keys that will require prolonged
keypresses during regular use).
"Ralph Edington" <ralph-uL54E0APr9RWk0Htik3J/w (AT) public (DOT) gmane.org>
wrote in message
news:NCBBKOCNGGDBCNDPCNKCAEEADOAA.ralph-uL54E0APr9RWk0Htik3J/w (AT) public (DOT) gmane.
org...
Problem: When I have the squeezebox volume set low, and I use the
remote control to increase it, and I hold down the Volume Up button for more
than a couple of seconds, the SB starts updating its firmware. Is this by
design?

I will confess I'm using a universal remote, and I have enabled a
modified JVD_DVD IR map file (ONLY -- all other IR maps have been
deselected). However, the Volume Up key I have programmed appears to do
just that -- it clearly raises the volume. But like I say, about 3 seconds
into increasing the volume, it begins a firmware update and resets the SB.

Thus I can only increase the volume in short bursts, unless I want
another firmware update.

Any ideas on how to get this behavior to stop?

The relevant line from my IR map reads:

volup = 0000f70d # this is CH+ on this remote

All other "volup" lines have been commented out. (There were three
of them... ???)

And yes, SB's volume is indeed mapped to my CH+/- buttons, as my
receiver's volume is already mapped to the VOL+/- keys. (This is a modified
IR map, because formerly my CH+/- buttons worked the display brightness
levels, which I need less than volume controls.) This all works great,
except for the firmware update "feature".

Thanks,

RE




------------------------------------------------------------------------