PDA

View Full Version : run a script when an IR code received?



Michael Sigalos
2005-01-28, 14:08
Aaron,

Do you see a Rhapsody.exe process on the task list? What credentials are
you using for the Windows service? You might try running it with the same
account you are logged in as. If it is running uder "Local System," you
might need to check "Allow Service To Interact With The Desktop". Without
checking this, I don't think you can see any windows created by the system
account.

I don't know how the plugin spawns processes so this may be irrelavent.

Keep in mind that currently, any LOG ON changes made to the service are
overwritten when you use the Windows installer. If either one of these
suggestions work, you will need to repeat after every upgrade.

Good luck.

Michael


> Any more suggestions on getting this to work for me (I'm running
> slimserver as a service in win2k) would be greatly appreciated.

kdf
2005-01-28, 14:24
Quoting Michael Sigalos <miguel.slimdiscuss (AT) zoemail (DOT) net>:

> Aaron,
>
> Do you see a Rhapsody.exe process on the task list? What credentials are
> you using for the Windows service? You might try running it with the same
> account you are logged in as. If it is running uder "Local System," you
> might need to check "Allow Service To Interact With The Desktop". Without
> checking this, I don't think you can see any windows created by the system
> account.
>
> I don't know how the plugin spawns processes so this may be irrelavent.

it jsut issues a system() call to run the chosen script, relying on the script
to handle how anything is launched. I've only ever tested it on linux, but in
theory it shoudl work in windows. Its been a long time, so I can't remember if
I've had any specific reports of success with windows.

-kdf

Aaron Zinck
2005-01-28, 15:29
Thanks for your help, fellas. I've got some results to report: when I run
slim.exe NOT as a service, then the plugin works! When run as a service,
however, the plugin never executes a script. This is true regardless of the
account I run the service under, and regardless of whether or not I "allow
service to interact with the desktop".

This arrangement's just fine by me--thanks for your suggestions.



"kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote in
message news:1106947485.41faad9da7132 (AT) callisto (DOT) deane-freeman.com...
Quoting Michael Sigalos
<miguel.slimdiscuss (AT) zoemail (DOT) net>:

> Aaron,
>
> Do you see a Rhapsody.exe process on the task list? What credentials are
> you using for the Windows service? You might try running it with the same
> account you are logged in as. If it is running uder "Local System," you
> might need to check "Allow Service To Interact With The Desktop". Without
> checking this, I don't think you can see any windows created by the system
> account.
>
> I don't know how the plugin spawns processes so this may be irrelavent.

it jsut issues a system() call to run the chosen script, relying on the
script
to handle how anything is launched. I've only ever tested it on linux, but
in
theory it shoudl work in windows. Its been a long time, so I can't remember
if
I've had any specific reports of success with windows.

-kdf