PDA

View Full Version : run a script when an IR code received?



Craig, James (IT)
2005-01-28, 09:01
Aaron,
Have you tried it when not running SlimServer as a service?
Windows seems to have strict limits on what a service can do.


James

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Aaron Zinck
Sent: 28 January 2005 15:51
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] run a script when an IR code received?

The scripts directory needs to be created in the slimserver Bin
directory.
However, I still haven't been successful in getting this plugin to work.
My
woes are documented here:
http://lists.slimdevices.com/archives/discuss/2004-December/040205.html

Any more suggestions on getting this to work for me (I'm running
slimserver
as a service in win2k) would be greatly appreciated.


"Jeff Shanholtz" <jeffsubs (AT) shanholtz (DOT) com> wrote in
message news:1sddwr560qx98$.14y6el0gsvvdg$.dlg (AT) 40tude (DOT) net...
> On Thu, 27 Jan 2005 22:44:30 -0800, kdf wrote:
>
> > Quoting Jeff Shanholtz
<jeffsubs (AT) shanholtz (DOT) com>:
> >
> >> On Thu, 27 Jan 2005 21:26:41 -0800, kdf wrote:
> >>
> >>> you can navigate through the player UI to the execute plugin and
select a
> >> script
> >>> to execute when you press PLAY.
> >>
> >> Really? Pressing play seems to activate the event-based execution
as
far as
> >> I can tell. Remember, I don't want to execute a script when an
"event"
(as
> >> your plugin defines it) occurs. I want to execute it ideally when
an
> >> otherwise unused button is pressed or at a minimum, when I tell it
to
> >> execute by navigating the (plugins) menu.
> >
> >
> >>
> >> If it's still not quite clear, the script I want to run has NOTHING
to
do
> >> with what my SB is doing. I just want to leverage the ability to
customize
> >> buttons in order to run a script that is unrelated to slim.
> >
> > yes, i got that. and what I'm saying is to set NO events. from the
player UI,
> > NOT the web UI, navigate to Plugins, then Exectute, then pick an
event...and a
> > script. moving up and down does SET the script to an event, but
pressing PLAY
> > will execute that script immediately.
> >
> > I can alter the plugin so that the event setting isn't saved when
its
not
> > wanted.
>
> I guess I misunderstood how to use it for this purpose then. I can try
> that, but before I do that, I need to know where the scripts directory
> should be. Unless I missed it, that's not really documented and
nothing I
> tried worked. Thanks.
>
> P.S. I guess that means there is no way to just map a button to a
script?
> :(