PDA

View Full Version : Ghost Alarm



Roy Owen
2005-01-20, 06:06
I tried using the Advanced Alarm Plugin (by Kevin Deane-Freeman) on my
SB wireless but then realized that I had it set up incorrectly (2
Alarm A entries in the plugins menu). I've since reconfigured and now
my SB alarm goes off every morning but I have no alarms set. I've
tried editing the slimserver.pref file and removing all references to
alarm for entries that match my SB's mac address. Can I just blow
away the slimserver.pref file and let it recreate it or will that
break something? Will blowing away the Slimserver.pref file even fix
my problem?

Thanks
Roy
--
Do meddle in the affairs of Dragons,
for you are crunchy and good with Tabasco.

mherger
2005-01-20, 06:39
> I tried using the Advanced Alarm Plugin (by Kevin Deane-Freeman) on my
> SB wireless but then realized that I had it set up incorrectly (2
> Alarm A entries in the plugins menu). I've since reconfigured and now
> my SB alarm goes off every morning but I have no alarms set. I've
> tried editing the slimserver.pref file and removing all references to
> alarm for entries that match my SB's mac address. Can I just blow
> away the slimserver.pref file and let it recreate it or will that
> break something?

It will loose your changes, but will work. You can still keep the original
and do a diff or compare manually if needed.

> Will blowing away the Slimserver.pref file even fix
> my problem?

I guess so. All your settings, including a plugin's settings, is included
in that file.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

kdf
2005-01-20, 10:44
Quoting Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net>:

> > I tried using the Advanced Alarm Plugin (by Kevin Deane-Freeman) on my
> > SB wireless but then realized that I had it set up incorrectly (2
> > Alarm A entries in the plugins menu). I've since reconfigured and now
> > my SB alarm goes off every morning but I have no alarms set. I've
> > tried editing the slimserver.pref file and removing all references to
> > alarm for entries that match my SB's mac address. Can I just blow
> > away the slimserver.pref file and let it recreate it or will that
> > break something?
>
> It will loose your changes, but will work. You can still keep the original
> and do a diff or compare manually if needed.

I would open the file with a text editor and make sure you have the following:
-PLUGIN.alarm.A = 0
-PLUGIN.alarm.B = 0
-PLUGIN.alarm.C = 0
-alarm = 0
regardless of MAC. Any lines like those above that = 1 will be an active alarm

Then you get to keep your settings, but remove the alarm plugin ones, so you can
start that over.


> > Will blowing away the Slimserver.pref file even fix
> > my problem?

If you've properly edited the settings you shoudl be fine. I'm having trouble
thinking of how you can have alarms going off if you've either removed the
plugin or changed them from A entries. The plugin has to have a setting in
order to trigger and the setting must have an active plugin matching those
settings.

Did you set the built in alarm at any time?

-kdf

Roy Owen
2005-01-20, 11:16
Okay, I found the missed settings. -PLUGIN.alarm.B = 1 I had removed
the settings for alarm A but not B. My bad. Thanks for the 2nd set of
eyes.


On Thu, 20 Jan 2005 09:44:50 -0800, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
> Quoting Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net>:
>
> > > I tried using the Advanced Alarm Plugin (by Kevin Deane-Freeman) on my
> > > SB wireless but then realized that I had it set up incorrectly (2
> > > Alarm A entries in the plugins menu). I've since reconfigured and now
> > > my SB alarm goes off every morning but I have no alarms set. I've
> > > tried editing the slimserver.pref file and removing all references to
> > > alarm for entries that match my SB's mac address. Can I just blow
> > > away the slimserver.pref file and let it recreate it or will that
> > > break something?
> >
> > It will loose your changes, but will work. You can still keep the original
> > and do a diff or compare manually if needed.
>
> I would open the file with a text editor and make sure you have the following:
> -PLUGIN.alarm.A = 0
> -PLUGIN.alarm.B = 0
> -PLUGIN.alarm.C = 0
> -alarm = 0
> regardless of MAC. Any lines like those above that = 1 will be an active alarm
>
> Then you get to keep your settings, but remove the alarm plugin ones, so you can
> start that over.
>
>
> > > Will blowing away the Slimserver.pref file even fix
> > > my problem?
>
> If you've properly edited the settings you shoudl be fine. I'm having trouble
> thinking of how you can have alarms going off if you've either removed the
> plugin or changed them from A entries. The plugin has to have a setting in
> order to trigger and the setting must have an active plugin matching those
> settings.
>
> Did you set the built in alarm at any time?
>
> -kdf
>