PDA

View Full Version : Pre-amp to boost volume



Donald MacNeill
2005-01-17, 13:21
Jack Coates wrote:

That seems odd to me -- my amp was built in 1977 or so, and I have my
SliMP3 set to full volume (40). I also have a Squeezebox set to 40 and
hooked to a pretty new pair of Edirol MA-20Ds. Either way, it sounds
fine. Have you tried changing the cable?

Hi Jack...which cable? Squeezebox to amp? This is kind of what's worrying me - the amp is a bit wierd in that it uses the old 5-pin DIN sockets for inputs. So although it works fine with CD, tuner and MD separates I'm wondering if it just isn't up to the job of handling the squeezebox. ANother pointer in that direction is that when I plug headphones directly into it, I can have the volume way down below 10.

Kevin Cramer wrote:

I have my SqueezeBox hooked into my pre-amp via the digital coax and it
sounds very good. I don't have it turned up very loud at all.

In the past, I did hook a CD player (with variable gain on the RCA
outputs) straight into an amp and it worked ok, but this really isn't
the best way to do it.

I think using a pre-amp is what you want to do. Perhaps you can find
something cheap with digital coax and optical so you have both options.
The amp should work well with that.

Kevin,

Do you mean a pre-amp, followed by a 'proper' amp? That's what I thought I might need to do - given that pre-amp cost a bit less than a proper hi-fi amp. Again though I think you're right, and that some more expenditure might be called for to get something that'll handle the digital outputs.

.............

Cheers

Donald

Jack Coates
2005-01-17, 13:40
Donald MacNeill wrote:
> Jack Coates wrote:
>
> /That seems odd to me -- my amp was built in 1977 or so, and I have my
> SliMP3 set to full volume (40). I also have a Squeezebox set to 40 and
> hooked to a pretty new pair of Edirol MA-20Ds. Either way, it sounds
> fine. Have you tried changing the cable?/
> Hi Jack...which cable? Squeezebox to amp? This is kind of what's
> worrying me - the amp is a bit wierd in that it uses the old 5-pin DIN
> sockets for inputs. So although it works fine with CD, tuner and MD
> separates I'm wondering if it just isn't up to the job of handling the
> squeezebox. ANother pointer in that direction is that when I plug
> headphones directly into it, I can have the volume way down below 10.
>

funky - yeah, that's the cable I was thinking of, though in my case
plain old RCA does the job.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!