PDA

View Full Version : RFC - another 'Now Playing' display option



Simon Still
2005-01-16, 11:33
Most of the time I use the small or medium settings but I've been
thinking about a different layout for the information as the top line
seems 'wasted' - mine usually just has 'Now Playing' and the playlist
track number.

How easy would it be to configure these so that the Artist and Album
appeared on the top line with the trackname below?

I'm looking to display the maximum amount of track info whilst
minimising scrolling.

Jack Coates
2005-01-16, 11:53
Simon Still wrote:
> Most of the time I use the small or medium settings but I've been
> thinking about a different layout for the information as the top line
> seems 'wasted' - mine usually just has 'Now Playing' and the playlist
> track number.
>
> How easy would it be to configure these so that the Artist and Album
> appeared on the top line with the trackname below?
>
> I'm looking to display the maximum amount of track info whilst
> minimising scrolling.

good idea, gets my vote.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!

mherger
2005-01-16, 12:51
> Most of the time I use the small or medium settings but I've been
> thinking about a different layout for the information as the top line
> seems 'wasted' - mine usually just has 'Now Playing' and the playlist
> track number.
>
> How easy would it be to configure these so that the Artist and Album
> appeared on the top line with the trackname below?

I don't know yet how easy it will be, but I'll give it a try (recycling
some of the other screensaver plugins - thanks kdf!). Give me a day or two
and stay tuned.

> I'm looking to display the maximum amount of track info whilst
> minimising scrolling.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

mherger
2005-01-16, 14:01
Simon

> Most of the time I use the small or medium settings but I've been
> thinking about a different layout for the information as the top line
> seems 'wasted' - mine usually just has 'Now Playing' and the playlist
> track number.

Give this InfoMusicSCR.pm a try: put it in your server's Plugin folder and
restart the server. Then go to the server and player settings to configure
your screensaver. Select "Music Info Screensaver" and wait a few seconds...

> How easy would it be to configure these so that the Artist and Album
> appeared on the top line with the trackname below?
> I'm looking to display the maximum amount of track info whilst
> minimising scrolling.

I'll try to get it configurable through the plugin's settings page. But
this will have to wait a little bit.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Simon Still
2005-01-17, 03:53
On Sun, 16 Jan 2005 22:01:56 +0100, Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net> wrote:
>
> I'll try to get it configurable through the plugin's settings page. But
> this will have to wait a little bit.

longer than the few hours it took to create V1? ;-) Amazingly quick
response and it looks great from the pics on your website. I'll give
it a go tonight.

Thanks

mherger
2005-01-17, 04:07
>> I'll try to get it configurable through the plugin's settings page. But
>> this will have to wait a little bit.
>
> longer than the few hours it took to create V1? ;-)

Yes, it had to wait while I was sleeping last night. But I did the few
lines this morning :-).

> Amazingly quick
> response and it looks great from the pics on your website. I'll give
> it a go tonight.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)