PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding bandwidth



Avi Schwartz
2005-01-13, 14:53
If I rip my music at 192K and then stream the music to a remote machine
via a ssh tunnel. What bandwidth would be used to stream the music
assuming there is no overhead added by ssh (which is incorrect but for
this discussion I am just looking for a guesstimate). Will it be 192K?

I would like to stream my music from one of my home machines which is
behind a firewall and my upload rate is limited by Comcast to 256K.

Avi

--
Avi Schwartz
http://public.xdi.org/=avi.schwartz

When you have robbed a man of everything, he is no longer in your power. He is free again.

-- Alexander Solzhenitsyn

kdf
2005-01-13, 15:00
Quoting Avi Schwartz <slim (AT) cfftechnologies (DOT) com>:

> If I rip my music at 192K and then stream the music to a remote machine
> via a ssh tunnel. What bandwidth would be used to stream the music
> assuming there is no overhead added by ssh (which is incorrect but for
> this discussion I am just looking for a guesstimate). Will it be 192K?
>
> I would like to stream my music from one of my home machines which is
> behind a firewall and my upload rate is limited by Comcast to 256K.

By default, connecting to the server from a mote location wtih something like
winamp will default to 320kbps, softsqueeze would default to no limit. These
are only limits, so having your music encoded already at 192kbps mp3 would
simply play at 192kbps, again assuming no overhead in either comcast or ssh.
This might be a bit choked for your 256k limit. However, you merely have to go
into the player settings, audio and lower the bitrate limit, then restart
playback. This way you can find the right setting for your connection.

-kdf

Jules Taplin
2005-01-13, 15:03
By my reckoning, it'll be slightly higher than that.

Partly because of the SSH encapsulation, and also partly because (if
you're using SoftSqueeze), there's more than just the audio stream going
down the wire. There's also all the display updates, and all the other
chatter that goes on.

But... remember that even if you find that there's not quite enough
headroom to get the results you like.. you could always instruct
slimserver to downsample to 160k or so for that player. Just keep
dropping the bitrate until you find one you like. That way, you get to
preserve the audio in a quality you like, even if you have to compromise
a little on the quality if you want to listen to it at work ;)


-- Jules


Avi Schwartz wrote:

> If I rip my music at 192K and then stream the music to a remote
> machine via a ssh tunnel. What bandwidth would be used to stream the
> music assuming there is no overhead added by ssh (which is incorrect
> but for this discussion I am just looking for a guesstimate). Will it
> be 192K?
>
> I would like to stream my music from one of my home machines which is
> behind a firewall and my upload rate is limited by Comcast to 256K.
>
> Avi
>

Avi Schwartz
2005-01-13, 19:12
kdf wrote:

>Quoting Avi Schwartz:
>
>
>
>>If I rip my music at 192K and then stream the music to a remote machine
>>via a ssh tunnel. What bandwidth would be used to stream the music
>>assuming there is no overhead added by ssh (which is incorrect but for
>>this discussion I am just looking for a guesstimate). Will it be 192K?
>>
>>I would like to stream my music from one of my home machines which is
>>behind a firewall and my upload rate is limited by Comcast to 256K.
>>
>>
>
>By default, connecting to the server from a mote location wtih something like
>winamp will default to 320kbps, softsqueeze would default to no limit. These
>are only limits, so having your music encoded already at 192kbps mp3 would
>simply play at 192kbps, again assuming no overhead in either comcast or ssh.
>This might be a bit choked for your 256k limit. However, you merely have to go
>into the player settings, audio and lower the bitrate limit, then restart
>playback. This way you can find the right setting for your connection.
>
This is SO COOL. I didn't even realize that I can limit the bitrate
since at home I use a slimp3 and a squeezebox I never had a need to
limit the bit rate. this means that I can rip at the highest quality
and still be able to stream to work.

Avi

--
Avi Schwartz
http://public.xdi.org/=avi.schwartz

When you have robbed a man of everything, he is no longer in your power. He is free again.

-- Alexander Solzhenitsyn

Avi Schwartz
2005-01-13, 19:14
I cannot believe I missed this option all this time! This is a perfect
solution. Rip in highest quality and stream at a lower rate...

Thanks for a great tip.

Avi

Jules Taplin wrote:

> By my reckoning, it'll be slightly higher than that.
>
> Partly because of the SSH encapsulation, and also partly because (if
> you're using SoftSqueeze), there's more than just the audio stream
> going down the wire. There's also all the display updates, and all the
> other chatter that goes on.
>
> But... remember that even if you find that there's not quite enough
> headroom to get the results you like.. you could always instruct
> slimserver to downsample to 160k or so for that player. Just keep
> dropping the bitrate until you find one you like. That way, you get to
> preserve the audio in a quality you like, even if you have to
> compromise a little on the quality if you want to listen to it at work ;)
>
> Avi Schwartz wrote:
>
>> If I rip my music at 192K and then stream the music to a remote
>> machine via a ssh tunnel. What bandwidth would be used to stream the
>> music assuming there is no overhead added by ssh (which is incorrect
>> but for this discussion I am just looking for a guesstimate). Will
>> it be 192K?
>>
>> I would like to stream my music from one of my home machines which is
>> behind a firewall and my upload rate is limited by Comcast to 256K.
>
--
Avi Schwartz
http://public.xdi.org/=avi.schwartz

When you have robbed a man of everything, he is no longer in your power. He is free again.

-- Alexander Solzhenitsyn

kdf
2005-01-13, 20:02
Quoting Avi Schwartz <slim (AT) cfftechnologies (DOT) com>:

> >
> >By default, connecting to the server from a mote location wtih something
> like
> >winamp will default to 320kbps, softsqueeze would default to no limit.
> These
> >are only limits, so having your music encoded already at 192kbps mp3 would
> >simply play at 192kbps, again assuming no overhead in either comcast or ssh.
> >This might be a bit choked for your 256k limit. However, you merely have to
> go
> >into the player settings, audio and lower the bitrate limit, then restart
> >playback. This way you can find the right setting for your connection.
> >
> This is SO COOL. I didn't even realize that I can limit the bitrate
> since at home I use a slimp3 and a squeezebox I never had a need to
> limit the bit rate. this means that I can rip at the highest quality
> and still be able to stream to work.

that's the idea :)
-kdf