PDA

View Full Version : Duet Issues, e.g. actively streaming while flashing Red?



rockhopper
2019-08-24, 02:37
Hi all. First of all, my apologies for this necessarily lengthy post.

I really don't know whether to love or hate my Squeezebox set-up. Its absolutely great when working. A nightmare when it glitches.
I suspect the glitches are more to do with my network rather than Logitech's h/w & s/w, but who knows, I don't.

My Duet had recently started to fail to connect, as it does from time to time. This time however, the previously reliable techniques of re-establishing my all-wireless set-up using
a temporary Ethernet connection, resetting router, flushing cache, etc, etc, all failed to rectify the problem.
After wasting hours of my life yet again, I managed to get the Duet up and running (visible in LMS and with bright white light on front of the Duet) but all I got was noise
akin to a FAX machine, so I assumed the Duet hardware or power supply was expiring.

So, I decided to buy a secondhand Duet via eBay. I was able to set this up at first attempt and it worked fine. Great, I thought, the culprit was my old Duet and/or its power adaptor.

However!, after working fine for a couple of weeks, the replacement Duet is now doing the same as the old Duet: i.e. failing to connect, or connecting but issuing the FAX-like screeching when it is willing to stream.

BTW I have a Squeezebox Boom which is totally unnaffected by these issues - it works a treat, never failing to re-establish a connection when powered down, or following a power cut to router, etc.
(another reason to sometimes hate the Duet!).

Previously, at least the Duet's lights were consistent. When my old Duet failed to connect that last time, its coloured lights no longer appeared to behave in the usual way (blue, dull white, bright white and so forth).
The evening before, I noticed the Duet's light was bright white even though LMS was not running.
When the replacement Duet also started to fail, again its lights have not behaved in the usual way - it was cycling between flashing red, through to dull/bright white. I havent seen a blue or green at all.

To further confuse me, and finally prompting me to post this cry for help, after powering everything down and starting afresh (with the replacement Duet), I once again set up the controller to re-establish
a WiFi network connection, then used it to configure the Duet (temporarily Ethernet connected to Laptop hosting LMS & music libraries).
Controller, LMS and Squeezer all seem happy: they see the Duet and can be used to command the Duet to play music (with Ethernet cable now disconnected), yet the Duet itself is still flashing red (waiting to be set up?).

How can the Duet be actively streaming (either via Ethernet or WiFi) while flashing Red??

My set-up is as follows:

Windows 10 laptop, running LMS 7.7.5, starting automatically at Login (during the above attempts to rectify the problem, I updated to 7.7.6 but it had no effect).
The laptop is also host to my media libraries.
Squeezer Android app version 1.5.1
Controller firmware version 7.7.3 r16662. Current IP address 192.168.0.14
Duet firmware version 77 , signal strength 85%. Current IP address 192.168.0.34
Boom firmware version 57, signal strength 75%. Current IP address 192.168.0.27
All connected via WiFi using dynamic IPs via DHCP.
Router (Virgin Media Hub 3.0 - a Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter) running with default config, e.g. no reserved DHCP IPs etc.
I don't know how to check the range of IP addresses available on DHCP. I've assumed its more than the current utilisation range, or could it be 32???
Can the router be flushed of used IP addresses? - I'm sure I haven't 34 devices in the house.

I haven't changed any router settings. My provider (VM) might automatically upload firmware updates. Could that upset my set up?
I haven't changed my s/w firewall settings either (AVG Internet Security).

Is there a network set-up that would avoid these presumed network glitches?
Should I attempt to use static IP addresses, or reserved DHCP IP addresses?

Any ideas gratefully received.
Apologies for all the questions.
Many thanks.

rockhopper
2020-03-05, 07:34
Hi,

No one has commented on my previous post, so I assume it was too long and/or boring. Sorry about that.

So moving swiftly on...... can anyone please advise as to why my Duet no longer displays the expected colour sequence when setting up, configuring then playing?
All it displays, all of the time, is a series of 6 red pulses repeating every 5-6 seconds - even when going through setup and then playing.

I'm hoping an answer to this may give me a clue as to why my Duet regularly stops playing, requiring re-configuration (once every few days).

Thanks.

bpa
2020-03-05, 07:46
Can you find your light sequence amongst the list in this wiki entry ?

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/SBR_front_button_and_LED

w3wilkes
2020-03-05, 16:32
A failing power supply can cause all sorts of issues. I also had a wifi card fail and was able to find a replacement. I've seen the light on the receiver do strange things and also the music will cut and start over. I bought a generic power supply with output rated to support up to 2 Amps, set the voltage to what the receiver expected and the receiver now works fine. When I needed a 3rd receiver I just built a PiCore player with a HiFiBerry DAC+ and have found it to be way more reliable than the logitech receivers. Next time I have a receiver problem I'll just build another PiCore player, easy peezy.

rockhopper
2020-03-06, 12:08
Can you find your light sequence amongst the list in this wiki entry ?

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/SBR_front_button_and_LED

Thank you for your post, bpa.
Yes, my light sequence of 6 red blinks is there, denoting a Hard Error code meaning "UUID not set/all zeros".
Unfortunately I have no idea of the significance of this.
Clearly it's not stopping configuration of the Duet and I assume whatever the trigger is, it supersedes the usual colour sequence during set-up through to white when connected and playing.

bpa
2020-03-06, 13:25
Thank you for your post, bpa.
Yes, my light sequence of 6 red blinks is there, denoting a Hard Error code meaning "UUID not set/all zeros".
Unfortunately I have no idea of the significance of this.
Clearly it's not stopping configuration of the Duet and I assume whatever the trigger is, it supersedes the usual colour sequence during set-up through to white when connected and playing.

You are certain the LED colour is actually purplish and not red.

The UUID is used to identify the player uniquely to LMS - usually it is the MAC address.
MAC addresses have been known to be reset to zero on older SB players.

Is the MAC address of your receiver all zeroes ?

You may have use NET::UDAP to configure receiver (see https://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?57861-Net-UDAP-SqueezeBox-Receiver-configuration-tool )


edit:

The MAC address for a player is shown in the LMS WebGUI Settings/Information tab

rockhopper
2020-03-06, 13:28
A failing power supply can cause all sorts of issues.........

Thank you for your post w3wilkes.
I tried swapping the power supplies but it had no effect.
My use of SB kit is effectively plug & play, but having read yours and many other posts which describe building components to improve setups I will have to look into how involved that is.
However, thank you for your comments.

rockhopper
2020-03-06, 13:39
You are certain the LED colour is actually purplish and not red........


Hi bpa.
I misread the Wikipedia table and was too quick seeing the hard error codes, not to notice they are associated with purple blinks. Sorry for the confusion.

My blinks are definitely red. I've seen purple with previous problems.

I do get 6 red blinks. It would be great to know what that denotes.

I recall seeing a subset of the Mac address in the name of the device when first set up via the controller. Also the Mac address is shown (non-zero) as seen in the list of IP devices in my Router config.
So I think the 6 purple blinks meaning is a red herring (of my making).

bpa
2020-03-06, 13:44
Hi bpa.
I misread the Wikipedia table and was too quick seeing the hard error codes, not to notice they are associated with purple blinks. Sorry for the confusion.

My blinks are definitely red. I've seen purple with previous problems.

I do get 6 red blinks. It would be great to know what that denotes.

I recall seeing a subset of the Mac address in the name of the device when first set up via the controller. Also the Mac address is shown (non-zero) as seen in the list of IP devices in my Router config.
So I think the 6 purple blinks meaning is a red herring (of my making).

The Wiki is written by a user so peerhaps they are mistaken.

Check the MAC address is the same as label on bottom - WebUI Settings/Information

rockhopper
2020-03-07, 03:09
The Wiki is written by a user so peerhaps they are mistaken.

Check the MAC address is the same as label on bottom - WebUI Settings/Information

Wiki errors are always possible, sadly. Let's see if anyone can verify..?
The MAC address is the same.

PS. I can live with red blinks, if they cannot be diagnosed.
My real concern is the frequency with which my set-up loses the Duet, necessitating re-set-up via an Ethernet connection between the Duet and my PC laptop (LMS host).
Please see original post for details, if interested.
Many thanks for your input.

bpa
2020-03-07, 04:32
My real concern is the frequency with which my set-up loses the Duet, necessitating re-set-up via an Ethernet connection between the Duet and my PC laptop (LMS host).

Is the LMS host IP address statics or allocated by DHCP ?

If allocated by DHCP - can you reserve in router the MAC address so that it is always allocated same IP address

rockhopper
2020-03-07, 08:31
Is the LMS host IP address statics or allocated by DHCP ?

If allocated by DHCP - can you reserve in router the MAC address so that it is always allocated same IP address

By DHCP. I believe it's possible to use static IPs with my router. I haven't tried tbh.
However, I note the same dynamic IP address is always being used each time a re-setup is required, in my case 192.168.0.14 for the LMS host.

bpa
2020-03-07, 09:09
By DHCP. I believe it's possible to use static IPs with my router. I haven't tried tbh.
However, I note the same dynamic IP address is always being used each time a re-setup is required, in my case 192.168.0.14 for the LMS host.

If LMS server IP address doesn't change, what needs to be setup in Receiver each time ?

It may be worth looking at Net::UDP tool to see which setting gets "lost" although the tool can be a pain to setup.

rockhopper
2020-03-07, 10:57
If LMS server IP address doesn't change, what needs to be setup in Receiver each time ?

It may be worth looking at Net::UDP tool to see which setting gets "lost" although the tool can be a pain to setup.


Many thanks for your continued interest, bpa.

The procedure I follow for re-setup is:
Stop LMS and cut power to Duet and Router
Connect Duet to PC laptop (hosting LMS & music library) with temporary Ethernet cable.
Power up Router and Duet.
Start LMS.
Use Controller / Select Player to point it to the Duet (as opposed to my fully functional Boom), choose wireless & point it to my WiFi network, then my music library, all while Ethernet still plugged in.
(pointing to mysqueezebox.com never works).
Once working, unplug Ethernet and continue.

Prior to this repeated problem, I was able to use the Duet's button to re-setup, with it cycling through the various colours until ultimately displaying bright white once music library found/playing.
This procedure no longer works - the Duet's lights permanently display the 6 blinking reds.

bpa
2020-03-07, 12:14
Many thanks for your continued interest, bpa.

The procedure I follow for re-setup is:
Stop LMS and cut power to Duet and Router
Connect Duet to PC laptop (hosting LMS & music library) with temporary Ethernet cable.
Power up Router and Duet.
Start LMS.
Use Controller / Select Player to point it to the Duet (as opposed to my fully functional Boom), choose wireless & point it to my WiFi network, then my music library, all while Ethernet still plugged in.
(pointing to mysqueezebox.com never works).
Once working, unplug Ethernet and continue.

Prior to this repeated problem, I was able to use the Duet's button to re-setup, with it cycling through the various colours until ultimately displaying bright white once music library found/playing.
This procedure no longer works - the Duet's lights permanently display the 6 blinking reds.

AFAICT - you have not reset the Receiver (i.e. you did not push the button and get slow blink Red) so this is a "Normal" Receiver operation finding LMS.
Receiver can only find LMS after Receiver powers up and broadcasts a UDP request for all LMS on the LAN segment to reply. If the Receiver is not on the same LAN segment (i.e. network mask) then Receiver will not see the LMS replies to the broadcast messages. This might explain why you have to connect Receiver direct to PC - to ensure Receiver in on the the right LAN segment.

I still think looking at Receiver setting with Net::UDAP tool might clarify things - it'll tell you what IP address the receiver actually think is the current LMS

If the LED is fast flashing red ("Factory Reset and Xilinx update in progress") and not purple - then perhaps a Factory & Xilinx reset might help but then you'll have to go through a full Receiver setup (assuming Receiver is OK after a reset).
According to another post "Pressing and holding SBRs button about 6 seconds until the LED flashes red fast does a factory reset and reprograms the xilinx chip. "

w3wilkes
2020-03-07, 20:04
To finish up what bpa started...

No need to ethernet connect the receiver,

Factory reset receiver - long push front button untill fast red blink. Then release button, it will drop back to slow red blink.

Factory reset the controller.

Set up controller per what it tells you on the screen. When it gets to the part of selecting a receiver your receiver should show by its MAC address. Select it.

What that does is the controller transfers your wifi login credentials to the receiver (this is the only time the controller actually talks directly to the receiver). You should see the light on the receiver turn green, then blue when it gets an IP from the router and if your LMS host is running the light should end up as dull white. Every once in a while the receiver will finish up and go to the dull white and the controller will say the setup failed... It's a lie!

You're done except for things like maybe change the wallpaper on the controller and I also set the not playing screen saver to the analog clock.

I will say there was one time in the over ten years I've had a receiver that I couldn't make it through setup with the controller and ended up having to use Net::UDAP to get the receiver setup completely. Other than that one time the standard setup has always worked. I do run my LMS server on a reserved IP so it's always at the same address on my network.

rockhopper
2020-03-14, 03:50
AFAICT - you have not reset the Receiver (i.e. you did not push the button and get slow blink Red) so this is a "Normal" Receiver operation finding LMS.
Receiver can only find LMS after Receiver powers up and broadcasts a UDP request for all LMS on the LAN segment to reply. If the Receiver is not on the same LAN segment (i.e. network mask) then Receiver will not see the LMS replies to the broadcast messages. This might explain why you have to connect Receiver direct to PC - to ensure Receiver in on the the right LAN segment.

I still think looking at Receiver setting with Net::UDAP tool might clarify things - it'll tell you what IP address the receiver actually think is the current LMS

If the LED is fast flashing red ("Factory Reset and Xilinx update in progress") and not purple - then perhaps a Factory & Xilinx reset might help but then you'll have to go through a full Receiver setup (assuming Receiver is OK after a reset).
According to another post "Pressing and holding SBRs button about 6 seconds until the LED flashes red fast does a factory reset and reprograms the xilinx chip. "

I'll look into this Net::UDAP tool you recommend when I get plenty of spare time.
The IP addresses all match in terms of what my Router says and what LMS settings and logs say, as far as I can tell, but I'm not sure about the other LAN data you mention.

I was under the impression I was doing a full Receiver set-up each time, especially if Controller displays receiver name subscripted with last 6 digits of its MAC address, rather than the name I renamed it to.

The Duet does not respond to the proscribed procedure for a reset via its button. I'm not sure how else to perform a factory reset.
BTW I have previously opened it up to check its physical operation and the microswitch appears healthy, chip seated securely, no signs of dry joints etc.
The same behaviour is seen with both my old and replacement Duet receivers.

Thank you once again for your help.

rockhopper
2020-03-14, 04:07
To finish up what bpa started...

No need to ethernet connect the receiver,

Factory reset receiver - long push front button untill fast red blink. Then release button, it will drop back to slow red blink.

Factory reset the controller.

Set up controller per what it tells you on the screen. When it gets to the part of selecting a receiver your receiver should show by its MAC address. Select it.

What that does is the controller transfers your wifi login credentials to the receiver (this is the only time the controller actually talks directly to the receiver). You should see the light on the receiver turn green, then blue when it gets an IP from the router and if your LMS host is running the light should end up as dull white. Every once in a while the receiver will finish up and go to the dull white and the controller will say the setup failed... It's a lie!

You're done except for things like maybe change the wallpaper on the controller and I also set the not playing screen saver to the analog clock.

I will say there was one time in the over ten years I've had a receiver that I couldn't make it through setup with the controller and ended up having to use Net::UDAP to get the receiver setup completely. Other than that one time the standard setup has always worked. I do run my LMS server on a reserved IP so it's always at the same address on my network.

As I've said, the Duet does not respond to a long push of its button in the proscribed way. All it will display is the 6 rapid blinks of red, followed by a short pause , then repeated. It does not change to slow red blinks or anything else for that matter.
I'm not sure how else to perform a factory reset.

Regarding the Controller factory reset: That works fine but will only find the Duet if Ethernet connected.
There is no evidence of credentials transferring to the receiver via the coloured lights sequence.
Does this mean there is no transfer happening?
Do you know if WiFi credentials retained by the receiver when it is powered off?
Or perhaps the h/w condition represented by the 6 red blinks overrides the credential transfer/coloured light process?

BTW, I've not noticed anything common about the occasions when the setup is lost.

The Net::UDAP tool mentioned is currently sounding like my best bet to get to the bottom of this, but I know nothing about that and I'll have to look into it.

Thank you for your help.