PDA

View Full Version : SB3 to a Denon PMA-30

jimwillsher
2019-04-22, 05:34
Hi

I have several Squeezebox units, mostly SB3. I've always used analogue connection.

I am buying a new amp - Denon PMA-30 - and I see that it has digital input. I have no experience of digital at all so I am not sure if the two units will talk via digital cable, nor what cable I need to buy. Am I looking for TOSlink or SP/DIF or something else? Ideally a link to an Amazon or eBay item please :)

is it something like this that I need?

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Optical-Cable-3M-Gold-Plated-PlayStation-Black/dp/B07BLZD4T6/ref=dp_ob_title_ce

Many thanks

Jim

Man in a van
2019-04-22, 07:04
Looks good to me Jim, start cheap and then go mad :p

ronnie

See if you can score a freebie cable from whomever you are buying the amp, even cheaper!

edwin2006
2019-04-22, 07:13
I've connected an SB2 to a denon avr-x2500h with an optical link cable. No digital coax in available on the denon.

jimwillsher
2019-04-22, 10:37
Thank you both, much appreciated.

TimT
2019-04-22, 18:46
That unit has two optical inputs and one coaxial input.

https://www.denon.co.uk/uk/product/hifi/amplifier/pma30

Hi

I have several Squeezebox units, mostly SB3. I've always used analogue connection.

I am buying a new amp - Denon PMA-30 - and I see that it has digital input. I have no experience of digital at all so I am not sure if the two units will talk via digital cable, nor what cable I need to buy. Am I looking for TOSlink or SP/DIF or something else? Ideally a link to an Amazon or eBay item please :)

is it something like this that I need?

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Optical-Cable-3M-Gold-Plated-PlayStation-Black/dp/B07BLZD4T6/ref=dp_ob_title_ce

Many thanks

Jim

d6jg
2019-04-23, 14:56
The SB3 has analogue (as you know) and both optical and coaxial digital outputs and they are all live so you could connect to the Denon with both optical and coaxial and see which you think sounds best.