PDA

View Full Version : Transporter sound very corrupted -- HELP



RonM
2019-03-31, 17:54
My Transporter is having some sort of crisis. I was happily playing some music, and at one point the sound just got completely garbled, audible but broken up and distorted. I thought it could be several things, e.g. the bluetooth connection to my headphone (nope, using a radio feed through the Transporter worked fine), or a problem with the storage drive or the server (nope, switching to my mobile as the player worked fine), or something deeper in the Transporter (maybe).

Just in case, I rebooted the server and shut off and restarted the external hard drive. Made no difference, Transporter still not working, SBPlayer on my mobile no problems.

So it seems to be something with the Transporter's decoding of the digital stream, or the output from that function. Since the internet radio works, though, it's kind of confusing.

The Transporter is ethernet-connected to the server; my other players all use wifi. I did a xilix reset.

Suggestions?

R.

RonM
2019-03-31, 18:28
A couple more confusing observations.

The problem seems to be restricted to one particular album (although I haven't tried many). It's flac encoded, and other flac and mp3 files play fine. It's only the one album, so far. This is all on the Transporter, just the one flac album won't play, sounds like a corrupt file(s).

However, that album plays fine through other players, it's only the Transporter that is problematic. And it played the SAME ALBUM just fine, earlier this evening.

Very mysterious.

R.

Fizbin
2019-03-31, 19:10
See if you can re-encode the flac files. Use Lossless Level 5. I use dBpoweramp to do that.

(Not a good day for the Transporter.)

RonM
2019-04-01, 03:51
Will do that. I got it as a FLAC through Bandcamp, so it's not been through my own dbPoweramp process.

R.

RonM
2019-04-01, 07:48
Update -- It appears to be an issue with Bluetooth. I use the Oasis Avantree Plus as my BT transmitter, which is a high-end device that connects to the Transporter through the optical Toslink option. In theory, it's capable of handling hi-res audio (well above 16/44), although my Bose headphones don't support the higher resolutions.

So it appears the problem is either with the Oasis or the headphones. I'm not sure if the digital output of the Transporter (through the optical connection) is managed by the Transporter or if it's just a pass-through of the output of LMS on the server. I suspect the Oasis, since the BT output of my mobile, to the same headphones, works fine.

The album in question plays flawlessly through the analog outs of the Transporter, as it does with all devices.

Since the issue is restricted to the one album, I'll still re-process the files to see if that makes a difference.

R.

garym
2019-04-01, 07:56
Update -- It appears to be an issue with Bluetooth. I use the Oasis Avantree Plus as my BT transmitter, which is a high-end device that connects to the Transporter through the optical Toslink option. In theory, it's capable of handling hi-res audio (well above 16/44), although my Bose headphones don't support the higher resolutions.

So it appears the problem is either with the Oasis or the headphones. I'm not sure if the digital output of the Transporter (through the optical connection) is managed by the Transporter or if it's just a pass-through of the output of LMS on the server. I suspect the Oasis, since the BT output of my mobile, to the same headphones, works fine.

The album in question plays flawlessly through the analog outs of the Transporter, as it does with all devices.

Since the issue is restricted to the one album, I'll still re-process the files to see if that makes a difference.

R.

Odd. I can see how something like a connected BT transport might interfere in some way, but it seems like it would interfere with all playback, not just one album. Will be interesting to see if converting the files to FLAC solves the problem.

RonM
2019-04-01, 09:40
I just did a flac to flac reprocessing, made a very slight difference in filesize (about .1%), so the original was probably also at Level 5.

After a rescan, made absolutely no difference. Still plays corrupted through the Oasis BT from the Transporter, but fine from the mobile BT; other files play fine through the Oasis BT from the Transporter. I could probably convert to 320 mp3, but I'd resent doing that even if I couldn't hear a difference.

In the whole scheme of things, a small thing since I have options. But very irritating. I've scheduled a call with Oasis support later today.

R.

cliveb
2019-04-01, 15:41
Logic needs to be applied.

1. It doesn't matter what the original encoding format was, the TP will decode it to linear PCM before it appears at the optical output. So that is a red herring.

2. Is the sample rate or bit depth different to other files that play ok through the BT adapter? If it is, then try reencoding it to a lower rate.

RonM
2019-04-02, 16:56
All my self generated flacs are at L5, and I re-encoded this one at that level. Made no difference, and as noted above made very little diff in file size, so presumably encoded at the same level originally.

Yes, logic, which is why I've tried several analytic tacks. It seems likely the problem lies with the Oasis BT device, but why is a mystery. Their tech support has not been helpful.

R.

cliveb
2019-04-02, 21:34
All my self generated flacs are at L5, and I re-encoded this one at that level. Made no difference, and as noted above made very little diff in file size, so presumably encoded at the same level originally.
When I suggested re-encoding at a lower rate I didn't mean a lower level of FLAC compression. I meant a a lower sample rate. For example, if the file that won't play is at 96khz, try sample rate converting it to 48khz, using something like SOX. It could be that the BT adapter you have can't cope with the higher sample rate.

Remember that because the TP plays this file ok through its analogue output, it cannot be a problem with the TP decoding the FLAC. By the time the signal gets to the BT adapter it's plain linear PCM.

RonM
2019-04-03, 06:37
Indeed, it was a big OUCH when I figured this out. I've just converted to 16/44 using dBPA, and expect that will solve the problem (I'll wait for the nightly rescan). Hadn't picked up Clive's intent in his earlier note (just dumbness on my part), but figured it out last night when I decided to check the bit depth and sample rate of the files. OOPS.

Not used to getting the higher rate files from Bandcamp, I'll have to check to see if they flagged it and I missed it. OTOH, the file size should have shouted out at me. It was an unmonitored download so I didn't notice the extra time on my relatively slow internet connection.

Thanks for all the help, in support of my own, um, idiocy.

As an aside, for those considering a headphone purchase, the current top line Bose noise-cancelling headphones don't support the extended resolution protocols available for Bluetooth. If they did I wouldn't have had my problem. The noise cancellation is the big feature, but for me, when I can listen in a quiet room, I sometimes wish I'd dropped bigger hints about other products before my birthday. The Avantree Oasis Plus is an excellent little device that has huge BT range and supports the extended BT protocols. If the headphone it's connected to does. This means not only better resolution for basic 16/44 files, but also support for higher resolutions (although the headphones themselves may not support these).

R.

d6jg
2019-04-03, 06:53
Indeed, it was a big OUCH when I figured this out. I've just converted to 16/44 using dBPA, and expect that will solve the problem (I'll wait for the nightly rescan). Hadn't picked up Clive's intent in his earlier note (just dumbness on my part), but figured it out last night when I decided to check the bit depth and sample rate of the files. OOPS.

Not used to getting the higher rate files from Bandcamp, I'll have to check to see if they flagged it and I missed it. OTOH, the file size should have shouted out at me. It was an unmonitored download so I didn't notice the extra time on my relatively slow internet connection.

Thanks for all the help, in support of my own, um, idiocy.

As an aside, for those considering a headphone purchase, the current top line Bose noise-cancelling headphones don't support the extended resolution protocols available for Bluetooth. If they did I wouldn't have had my problem. The noise cancellation is the big feature, but for me, when I can listen in a quiet room, I sometimes wish I'd dropped bigger hints about other products before my birthday. The Avantree Oasis Plus is an excellent little device that has huge BT range and supports the extended BT protocols. If the headphone it's connected to does. This means not only better resolution for basic 16/44 files, but also support for higher resolutions (although the headphones themselves may not support these).

R.

I treated myself to a pair of Bose Quiet Comfort 35s on a recent trip. I was aware of the lack of HD Bluetooth support (or whatever they call it) but the Noise Cancelling capability also did it for me. I tried a few brands but the Bose were simply better in this regard. I was completely oblivious to the Aircraft engine noise. Highly recommended for this sort of listening. I have yet to try them wired in a direct comparison to my B&W P7's. I suspect they will be good but not quite as good as the P7's.

Incidentally for anyone else put off by the lack of Bluetooth HD, only the sort of kit that Ron has is capable of sending it. Apple & Android phones do not yet have it and may never have as they may consider it isn't necessary.

RonM
2019-04-07, 20:01
I've got no complaint about my Bose QC35s either. The noise cancelling works very well in noisy environments, and it means my dearly beloved can listen to the TV loud in the next room and I can isolate my music adequately. However, in quieter times, I prefer to turn off the noise cancelling, there still is that residual sense of pressure, not to mention a teensy bit of background noise. I don't travel as much as I used to, which is when my older Bose 'phones got used the most.

I should make clear that the Oasis BT device doesn't support 24/96 resolution, even with headphones that support the BlueTooth HD protocol. It seems that protocol is currently limited to an approximation of standard CD quality (which regular BT doesn't deliver); they tell me that the next version of the device, the Avantree Oasis 500 due in August, will support higher resolution, but I suspect that it will be downsampled to the level supported by the HD protocol.

I really like the Oasis device, the BT is much more reliable than from my mobile, and with a hugely greater range. It takes the optical feed from the Transporter and the quality of the BT music coding is very good. Reasonably priced (a fraction of the cost of the Bose headphones).

R.

callesoroe
2019-04-10, 23:40
I've got no complaint about my Bose QC35s either. The noise cancelling works very well in noisy environments, and it means my dearly beloved can listen to the TV loud in the next room and I can isolate my music adequately. However, in quieter times, I prefer to turn off the noise cancelling, there still is that residual sense of pressure, not to mention a teensy bit of background noise. I don't travel as much as I used to, which is when my older Bose 'phones got used the most.

I should make clear that the Oasis BT device doesn't support 24/96 resolution, even with headphones that support the BlueTooth HD protocol. It seems that protocol is currently limited to an approximation of standard CD quality (which regular BT doesn't deliver); they tell me that the next version of the device, the Avantree Oasis 500 due in August, will support higher resolution, but I suspect that it will be downsampled to the level supported by the HD protocol.

I really like the Oasis device, the BT is much more reliable than from my mobile, and with a hugely greater range. It takes the optical feed from the Transporter and the quality of the BT music coding is very good. Reasonably priced (a fraction of the cost of the Bose headphones).

R.

Try to do a XIILIX reset of the Transporter

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Transporter_xilix_reset

Fizbin
2019-04-10, 23:43
Try to do a XIILIX reset of the Transporter

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Transporter_xilix_reset

He already did that...mentioned in first post. And if you read on, it sounds like the problem is with the Oasis system.