PDA

View Full Version : LMS on WHS v1 Questions



jachin99
2019-03-28, 06:37
I'm looking at setting up a Logitech Media Server on the Windows Home Server Platform. I see there is a native add-on for WHS V1 but not an addin for WHS 2011, and because I only have a copy of WHS 2011, and not V1 I wanted to make sure I understood what I am getting into before I start my task. I would like to attempt to build an installer for WHS 2011 where LMS is integrated into the dashboard. WHS V1 plugins are in MSI format but WHS 2011 add-ins are in a WSSX format. I have already done some work on integrating new software into the launchpad of WHS 2011, and building WSSX packages doesn't appear to be too difficult.

In order to even try to build this package I want to make sure that I can simply build an installer for the HomeServerConsoleTab.SqueezeCenter.dll and Jayrock.Json.dll files. I would normally ask this kind of question in the developer forum but because I'm so new to LMS I'm not sure i would normally have to install LMS on the server, or what other software would be otherwise required to install LMS on WHS 2011.

How would a normal install go? Would I install LMS, then install the WHS addin? Do I need to install any other software like Visual C packages? I'm just trying to get a lay of the land. Thanks.

mherger
2019-03-28, 06:43
The WHS version of LMS really only is for WHSv1. If you want to run LMS
on a newer WHS, you'll just install the .exe instead. No dashboard
integration, though. But that's overrated anyway.

--

Michael

weresloth
2019-03-28, 10:13
The WHS version of LMS really only is for WHSv1. If you want to run LMS
on a newer WHS, you'll just install the .exe instead. No dashboard
integration, though. But that's overrated anyway.

--

Michael

I concur with Michael. Been running on WHS 2011 for seven years, never missed the dashboard integration.

jachin99
2019-03-29, 09:12
Thanks for your input