PDA

View Full Version : piCorePlayer and plugins



cliveb
2019-02-27, 03:38
I'm experimenting with building a new server using piCorePlayer. Everything is going fine so far, with one exception: plugins.

I'm using piCorePlayer v4.1.0 (piCore v9.2pCP, LMS 7.9.2)

In /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins, there is a subdirectory PowerSave, which contains the expected files (Plugin.pm, Settings.pm, install.xml, strings.txt). This happens to be one of the plugins I want to use. But on the Plugins tab within the LMS server settings web page, there is no mention of the PowerSave plugin.

What do I need to do to get PowerSave appear in the list of available plugins?

Also, there's another plugin I want to use - Felix's PowerSwitchII. I have the source. Where do I need to place it for it to be picked up?

mherger
2019-02-27, 04:03
> In /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins, there is a
> subdirectory PowerSave, which contains the expected files (Plugin.pm,
> Settings.pm, install.xml, strings.txt). This happens to be one of the
> plugins I want to use. But on the Plugins tab within the LMS server
> settings web page, there is no mention of the PowerSave plugin.

How did the file get there if you can't see it in the list?

> Also, there's another plugin I want to use - Felix's PowerSwitchII. I
> have the source. Where do I need to place it for it to be picked up?

Isn't it available from the list either?

--

Michael

Jeff07971
2019-02-27, 04:16
> In /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins, there is a
> subdirectory PowerSave, which contains the expected files (Plugin.pm,
> Settings.pm, install.xml, strings.txt). This happens to be one of the
> plugins I want to use. But on the Plugins tab within the LMS server
> settings web page, there is no mention of the PowerSave plugin.

How did the file get there if you can't see it in the list?

> Also, there's another plugin I want to use - Felix's PowerSwitchII. I
> have the source. Where do I need to place it for it to be picked up?

Isn't it available from the list either?

--

Michael

I don't think PowerSwitchII was ever availible on the plugins page without manually installing.

I use the later version https://github.com/motske/PowerSwitch3 but only on Centos7 so can't help with the pCP install

It would be nice to have PowerSwitch3 included on the plugins page !


Jeff

cliveb
2019-02-27, 04:26
> In /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins, there is a
> subdirectory PowerSave, which contains the expected files (Plugin.pm,
> Settings.pm, install.xml, strings.txt). This happens to be one of the
> plugins I want to use. But on the Plugins tab within the LMS server
> settings web page, there is no mention of the PowerSave plugin.

How did the file get there if you can't see it in the list?

I have no idea. I assumed it was one of the standard plugins shipped with LMS.
But the fact remains that the files are there on the server, but don't show up in the Plugins tab on the web page.



> Also, there's another plugin I want to use - Felix's PowerSwitchII. I
> have the source. Where do I need to place it for it to be picked up?

Isn't it available from the list either?
No, that one always had to be manually added.
On my old server (Vortexbox 1.10, SC 7.6.1), it sits in /var/lib/squeezeboxserver/Plugins, but on piCorePlayer (LMS 7.9.2), there appears to be no equivalent directory.
So I was just asking where it needs to go.

cliveb
2019-02-27, 04:30
I don't think PowerSwitchII was ever availible on the plugins page without manually installing.

I use the later version https://github.com/motske/PowerSwitch3 but only on Centos7 so can't help with the pCP install

Just had a look at that page and I see an issue regarding having multiple switching devices on the network.
I have three (TP, SB2, SB3) that use the plugin, so think I'd better stick with PowerSwitchII for the time being!

Jeff07971
2019-02-27, 04:33
I have no idea. I assumed it was one of the standard plugins shipped with LMS.
But the fact remains that the files are there on the server, but don't show up in the Plugins tab on the web page.


No, that one always had to be manually added.
On my old server (Vortexbox 1.10, SC 7.6.1), it sits in /var/lib/squeezeboxserver/Plugins, but on piCorePlayer (LMS 7.9.2), there appears to be no equivalent directory.
So I was just asking where it needs to go.

From "Information" page :-

26833

So it would be /usr/local/slimserver/Plugins

But this directory on pCP might not survive a reboot (as I said I only use this plugin on Centos)

Jeff

mherger
2019-02-27, 05:47
>> How did the file get there if you can't see it in the list?
>>
> I have no idea. I assumed it was one of the standard plugins shipped
> with LMS.
> But the fact remains that the files are there on the server, but don't
> show up in the Plugins tab on the web page.

Well, the plugin should just show up. If it's not, but it's in that
InstalledPlugins folder, then this sounds like something/someone tried
to be smart and f... things up. Did you copy over some of the LMS
configuration?

--

Michael

cliveb
2019-02-27, 06:04
From "Information" page :-

26833

So it would be /usr/local/slimserver/Plugins

But this directory on pCP might not survive a reboot (as I said I only use this plugin on Centos)

OK, that directory did not exist, so I created it and copied the PowerSave directory over from the InstalledPlugins directory.
After an LMS restart, the plugin appeared and worked correctly.

Then after a reboot of pCP /usr/local/slimserver/Plugins had gone (so it doesn't survive a reboot), but the plugin remained active.
I can only surmise that perhaps putting PowerSave into /usr/local/slimserver/Plugins and restarting LMS caused it to get picked up and stored somewhere else.

I then tried the same trick for the PowerSwitchII plugin, but after initially appearing (and being made available on my test SB3), following a reboot it's gone. So there must be something subtly different going on. Experiments will continue...

Man in a van
2019-02-27, 06:07
following a reboot it's gone

you did save before rebooting ?

cliveb
2019-02-27, 07:52
>> How did the file get there if you can't see it in the list?
>>
> I have no idea. I assumed it was one of the standard plugins shipped
> with LMS.
> But the fact remains that the files are there on the server, but don't
> show up in the Plugins tab on the web page.

Well, the plugin should just show up. If it's not, but it's in that
InstalledPlugins folder, then this sounds like something/someone tried
to be smart and f... things up. Did you copy over some of the LMS
configuration?
No, I didn't try copying over anything. This was a fresh install of pCP, and I used the pCP facilities to download and install LMS.

Are you saying that anything in /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins should just show up?

Also, how does LMS use the DownloadedPlugins directory?

paul-
2019-02-27, 08:12
Look at the directories on the information tab.

The location for manual installed plugins for pCP is

/usr/local/slimserver/Cache/Plugins

cliveb
2019-02-27, 08:49
Look at the directories on the information tab.

The location for manual installed plugins for pCP is

/usr/local/slimserver/Cache/Plugins
THANKYOU THANKYOU THANKYOU!!!

That's what I needed to know - the correct folder to put it in.

PowerSave and PowerSwitchII are now working fine.

mherger
2019-02-27, 09:05
> No, I didn't try copying over anything. This was a fresh install of pCP,
> and I used the pCP facilities to download and install LMS.
>
> Are you saying that anything in
> /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins should just show
> up?

No, what I'm saying is that nothing should be in there, unless you
installed that plugin through LMS, or by manually putting stuff in there
(which you should never do!).

--

Michael

cliveb
2019-02-27, 09:18
> No, I didn't try copying over anything. This was a fresh install of pCP,
> and I used the pCP facilities to download and install LMS.
>
> Are you saying that anything in
> /usr/local/slimserver/Cache/InstalledPlugins/Plugins should just show
> up?

No, what I'm saying is that nothing should be in there, unless you
installed that plugin through LMS, or by manually putting stuff in there
(which you should never do!).
OK, understood.
All I can say is that after installing pCP from a fresh SD card image, and using pCP to download & install LMS, the PowerSave plugin was in that InstalledPlugins folder.
Maybe Paul can shed some light on it?