PDA

View Full Version : AlienBBC gives blank menu option



Raul da Silva
2005-01-10, 16:14
Jules-

Excuse my ignorance, but does this mean that there is a Windows version of
AlienBBC? I've been using the Rube Goldberg Tara/Winamp/Shoutcast mess to
stream BBC Real content from the BBC. It works, but it's a royal PITA.

I'm on the verge of setting up a Redhat machine just for BBC streams. If
there is an AlienBBC version (alpha, beta... I don't care). I'd LOVE to be
a tester.

Best

-raul

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Neil Sleightholm
Sent: Monday, January 10, 2005 1:30 PM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] AlienBBC gives blank menu option

Jules, I am running Triode 'transcoderless' version of AlienBCC on
Windows and I can say it is looking very good. If you have any
alpha/beta releases of AlienBBC you would like tested I would be very
interested.

Neil

Jules Taplin wrote:

> Hehe.
>
> Cheers kdf - I'd already worked that out. As it happens... I need to
> fix it up anyway, as I use getDisplayName myself somewhere else. ;)
>
> However... I'm trying to avoid releasing too many AlienBBC versions
> at the moment - particularly as I think Triode is basically there
> with his 'transcoderless' versions ;)
>
> -- Jules
>
> kdf wrote:
>
> > Quoting Jules Taplin
> > <slim-discuss (AT) ourhouse (DOT) org.uk>:
> >
> >
> >
> > > Hi Stuart.
> > >
> > > Are you running on a test version of Version 6, by any chance? If
> > > so... bear in mind that release versions of AlienBBC don't work
> > > entirely properly on v6 slimserver yet.
> >>
> > >
> >
> > if this is the case, the change to fix the displaying text is to
> > change getDisplayName in the plugin to return just the string
> > token, instead of string(TOKEN);
> >
> > -kdf
> >

Bruce Tucker
2005-01-10, 19:07
Me too, and I've got a SliMP3 to try it on. And now that the holidays are
over, some time too!
Bruce
Off topic: I sure put my SliMP3 to good use over the holidays playing
Live365 Xmas music streams!

>If there is an AlienBBC version (alpha, beta... I don't care). I'd LOVE to
>be
>a tester.
>Best
>-raul

Jules Taplin
2005-01-11, 01:00
Hey Raul - Watch this space ;)

I think we're getting close to a release that stands a reasonable chance
of working for you ;)

-- Jules

Raul da Silva wrote:

>Jules-
>
>Excuse my ignorance, but does this mean that there is a Windows version of
>AlienBBC? I've been using the Rube Goldberg Tara/Winamp/Shoutcast mess to
>stream BBC Real content from the BBC. It works, but it's a royal PITA.
>
>I'm on the verge of setting up a Redhat machine just for BBC streams. If
>there is an AlienBBC version (alpha, beta... I don't care). I'd LOVE to be
>a tester.
>
>Best
>
>-raul
>
>-----Original Message-----
>From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of Neil Sleightholm
>Sent: Monday, January 10, 2005 1:30 PM
>To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>Subject: [slim] AlienBBC gives blank menu option
>
>Jules, I am running Triode 'transcoderless' version of AlienBCC on
>Windows and I can say it is looking very good. If you have any
>alpha/beta releases of AlienBBC you would like tested I would be very
>interested.
>
>Neil
>
>Jules Taplin wrote:
>
>
>
>>Hehe.
>>
>>Cheers kdf - I'd already worked that out. As it happens... I need to
>>fix it up anyway, as I use getDisplayName myself somewhere else. ;)
>>
>>However... I'm trying to avoid releasing too many AlienBBC versions
>>at the moment - particularly as I think Triode is basically there
>>with his 'transcoderless' versions ;)
>>
>>-- Jules
>>
>>kdf wrote:
>>
>>
>>
>>>Quoting Jules Taplin
>>><slim-discuss (AT) ourhouse (DOT) org.uk>:
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>>Hi Stuart.
>>>>
>>>>Are you running on a test version of Version 6, by any chance? If
>>>>so... bear in mind that release versions of AlienBBC don't work
>>>>entirely properly on v6 slimserver yet.
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>if this is the case, the change to fix the displaying text is to
>>>change getDisplayName in the plugin to return just the string
>>>token, instead of string(TOKEN);
>>>
>>>-kdf
>>>

Bruce Tucker
2005-01-11, 10:27
> I think we're getting close to a release that stands a reasonable chance
> of working for you ;)
>
> -- Jules

Will this be for 5.4.x or 6.0.x, or both ???

Bruce

Jules Taplin
2005-01-11, 14:51
Hi Bruce.

Should be either - although I don't believe the v6 version has recieved
much in the way of testing.

I checked in fixes last night that sorted out some cosmetic issues for
it on v6 (they affect AlienBBC v0.12, too as it happens), and it's
working for me on v6, at least on Linux.

-- Jules


Bruce Tucker wrote:

>> I think we're getting close to a release that stands a reasonable
>> chance of working for you ;)
>>
>> -- Jules
>
>
> Will this be for 5.4.x or 6.0.x, or both ???
>
> Bruce
>
>