PDA

View Full Version : Qobuz plugin Hi-Res



ligald
2019-01-19, 10:26
Hello,

I'm using the Qobuz plugin to stream audio to my Transporter from Qobuz and it works great. I recently upgraded my Qobuz subscription to the Studio version for streaming Hi-Res files. Everything works great for bitrate up to 96 kHz but I have issues when streaming 192k and 384 kHz files (those are played loudly as white noise). The plugin can be configured to stream MP3, Flac or Hi-Res files but there is no way to explicitely specify the max bitrate. Do you know any way to request Qobuz server to stream those files in a lower resolution?

Thanks for your feedback.

left channel
2019-01-19, 14:35
To get faster attention, I suggest you re-post that question in the Qobuz plug-in thread: https://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?97146-Qobuz-com-streaming-plugin

As far as I know LMS should detect the Transporter, know it has a maximum sample rate of 96 kHz, and properly downsample anything above that. I am no expert, but I do wonder: does your LMS work OK with local files in those resolutions?

Mnyb
2019-01-19, 22:15
You are using a synology DS211 as server ? Is it up to task to transcode audio ? Try LMS on one of your computers ?

ligald
2019-01-20, 02:33
Thanks for your feedback. I duplicated the issue in the other thread.

I'll try playing 24/192 files locally to check the transcoding functionality.

ligald
2019-01-20, 10:36
I tried with local 192/384 files. My server is not fast enough for real-time transcoding (Transporter is buffering all the time) but at least I can still hear the original music. When streaming such files from Qobuz, I cannot hear the original music at all, but just noise played very loud. I heard that transocing is only applied on local files, and not when streaming audio via a plugin. Anyway in my case transcoding is not an potion and I'm looking for a way to filter out the 192/384 files and stream a lower resolution version instead.

mherger
2019-01-21, 09:22
If your NAS can't handle the transcoding, just pick FLAC.

--

Michael

ligald
2019-01-21, 10:55
If your NAS can't handle the transcoding, just pick FLAC.

--

Michael

Hi Michael,

I'm using/streaming FLAC only. The issue comes from the very high resolution files (192 or 384 kHz) streamed from Qobuz with the Studio subscription(= Hi-Res). Those two bitrates are not supported by the Transporter (only up to 96 kHz) and for those two specific cases, I'm looking for a way to stream in a lower serolution (96, 48 or 44 kHz).

Basically, it would be great to have an additional option in the plugin for Hi-Res up to 96 kHz and Hi-Res up to 192/384 kHz.

mherger
2019-01-22, 00:29
> I'm using/streaming FLAC only. The issue comes from the very high
> resolution files (192 or 384 kHz) streamed from Qobuz with the Studio
> subscription(= Hi-Res). Those two bitrates are not supported by the
> Transporter (only up to 96 kHz) and for those two specific cases, I'm
> looking for a way to stream in a lower serolution (96, 48 or 44 kHz)

Understood. But I'm not going to implement yet another filter by the
exact bitrate. I'm sorry.

The plugin is on github (it's not mine, after all :-)). If somebody
wants to implement this, please submit a pull request:

https://github.com/pierrepoulpe/SqueezeboxQobuz

--

Michael

left channel
2019-01-22, 10:15
So is the problem the Transporter, the slow Synology server, or both? Too bad there's no such thing as edo for the Transporter as far as I know.

mherger
2019-01-23, 01:20
> So is the problem the Transporter, the slow Synology server, or both?
> Too bad there's no such thing as edo for the Transporter as far as I
> know.

The problem is the combination of insanely high bitrates with
underpowered hardware. The bit rates are too high for the Transporter to
play, and the NAS is not powerful enough to transcode the stream to
something the Transporter can play.

--

Michael

left channel
2019-01-23, 09:59
OK then, it seems to me that even a low-powered Atom-based server would solve the problem. Mine has no problem "dumbing-down" higher-res FLAC streams for my Duet.

Fahzz
2019-03-25, 17:17
I signed up for Qobuz trial Studio version which is supposed to play up to 24 bit 192khz.The plugin works but the LMS UI shows only 320 kps Mp3 being played. Is there a setting I need to implement?

left channel
2019-03-25, 22:20
I signed up for Qobuz trial Studio version which is supposed to play up to 24 bit 192khz.The plugin works but the LMS UI shows only 320 kps Mp3 being played. Is there a setting I need to implement?

In Settings > Advanced > Qobuz, it's possible your preferred format is set to "MP3 320 kbps". If so, change that to "FLAC Hi-Res", and enjoy.

damytzeus
2019-08-20, 22:27
the lms qobuz plugin offers the ability to limit 24/96khz. this should solve the problem?