PDA

View Full Version : OpenVPN - Asus - iPeng



Blackfiction
2018-12-30, 13:23
Hi,

I am having some problems with using iPeng via openvpn on my iPhone when I am not at home. I have an asus n66 router with merlinwrt firmware and have setup the openvpn server as attached. I would like to have access to my pc with LMS installed. That pc has for example a lan address like 192.168.1.90.
I have exported the openvpn file and imported the file on my phone. When I put the openvpn on, it shows the vpn logo on the phone, however I can not access LMS via material skin nor via iPeng.
What am I doing wrong? Help is appreciated!
26436

Jeff07971
2018-12-30, 14:41
All looks OK to me, 2 things occur though

1. Have you put the server address in iPeng ? ie 192.168.1.90
2. On the PC is the firewall blocking access ? Not too familliar with the windows firewall so can't help here

Jeff

Blackfiction
2018-12-31, 07:06
All looks OK to me, 2 things occur though

1. Have you put the server address in iPeng ? ie 192.168.1.90
2. On the PC is the firewall blocking access ? Not too familliar with the windows firewall so can't help here

Jeff

Thanks for checking,
1. yes
2. I do not think so. Windows firewall is off. Eset is running, but when I set it to manual mode to test, no popups are shown when I try to access. I have checked and outside connections are allowed for LMS. Do I need to do something with the pc that is running LMS in the router settings?

DJanGo
2018-12-31, 08:07
Hi,

that screenshoot is to big couldnt you make is any smaller?

That pc has for example a lan address like 192.168.1.90
And your vpn is 10.8.0.0 - did you check the routing from 192.x.x.x to 10.8.0.0 and vice versa?

Blackfiction
2018-12-31, 09:21
Hi,

that screenshoot is to big couldnt you make is any smaller?

And your vpn is 10.8.0.0 - did you check the routing from 192.x.x.x to 10.8.0.0 and vice versa?

No, I did not enter any routing rules. Is that under the LAN - Route menu (see attached pic)?
26443

Jeff07971
2018-12-31, 10:21
And your vpn is 10.8.0.0 - did you check the routing from 192.x.x.x to 10.8.0.0 and vice versa?

As Django Says its worth checking though usually this is already setup and is transparent to the user.

When connected (I take it you are ? You can check in the OpenVPN app) have you tried scanning your 192.168.1.0/24 network with an app like "fing" ?

Jeff

DJanGo
2019-01-01, 09:15
(see attached pic)?
no sir it would hurt my eyes :rolleyes:

DJanGo
2019-01-01, 09:17
(see attached pic)?
no sir it would hurt my eyes :rolleyes:

Hi,
that screenshoot is to big couldnt you make is any smaller?

Jeff07971
2019-01-01, 09:22
http://getgreenshot.org/

Blackfiction
2019-01-01, 14:38
http://getgreenshot.org/

Really appreciate your help. I have used the snipping tool. Hopefully that helps. I still do not have a clue...what should I do to make the 192 and 10 networks talk to eachother via openvpn? Is it adding a route in the attached pic? And if so what should I enter?

26451

Jeff07971
2019-01-01, 15:28
Need answers to questions before moving on

Blackfiction
2019-01-02, 03:20
As Django Says its worth checking though usually this is already setup and is transparent to the user.

When connected (I take it you are ? You can check in the OpenVPN app) have you tried scanning your 192.168.1.0/24 network with an app like "fing" ?

Jeff

I have downloaded the fing app. When I am on my wifi home network I can ping the pc that has lms. When I am on a mobile network and connected to the vpn, I can not ping the pc with lms.

Jeff07971
2019-01-02, 03:28
I have downloaded the fing app. When I am on my wifi home network I can ping the pc that has lms. When I am on a mobile network and connected to the vpn, I can not ping the pc with lms.

That didn't answer either question.

Are you connected ?

Can you SCAN your internal network IE other IP addresses including the PC or not ?

26454 26455

Blackfiction
2019-01-02, 08:59
That didn't answer either question.

Are you connected ?

Can you SCAN your internal network IE other IP addresses including the PC or not ?

26454 26455

Sorry, not familiar with these things...
I have Private IP: 10.8.0.2
Server Public IP: 83.86.166.19

I'm receiving / sending bytes in/out.

Jeff07971
2019-01-02, 09:17
Sorry, not familiar with these things...
I have Private IP: 10.8.0.2
Server Public IP: 83.86.166.19

I'm receiving / sending bytes in/out.

OK try lookng at this https://www.snbforums.com/threads/how-to-setup-a-vpn-server-with-asus-routers-380-68-updated-08-24.33638/

See the "Important" bit just below the screenshots

Jeff

Blackfiction
2019-01-02, 16:38
OK try lookng at this https://www.snbforums.com/threads/how-to-setup-a-vpn-server-with-asus-routers-380-68-updated-08-24.33638/

See the "Important" bit just below the screenshots

Jeff

With the latest firmware 380.66.4 and up You need to enable Respond to DNS and Enable Advertise DNS to clients otherwise you will not be able to connect to your Local Network. This was not the case in the past.

Finally in order for file shares to work properly you need to Have the router DHCP do the static addresses so this way the Arp entries are stored properly and the router can access shares.
in LAN tab, DCHP server, Basic Config

Respond to dns and enable advertise dns were already at yes. And the router manages the dhcp. For example the LMS pc is in that table.

Jeff07971
2019-01-03, 03:15
With the latest firmware 380.66.4 and up You need to enable Respond to DNS and Enable Advertise DNS to clients otherwise you will not be able to connect to your Local Network. This was not the case in the past.

Finally in order for file shares to work properly you need to Have the router DHCP do the static addresses so this way the Arp entries are stored properly and the router can access shares.
in LAN tab, DCHP server, Basic Config

Respond to dns and enable advertise dns were already at yes. And the router manages the dhcp. For example the LMS pc is in that table.

OK well thats me out of ideas my VPN "just works"

I think this is one for the ASUS forums

Jeff

Blackfiction
2019-01-03, 10:01
OK well thats me out of ideas my VPN "just works"

I think this is one for the ASUS forums

Jeff

thanks for the help, maybe one stupid question; should the vpn and LMS work over cellular data as well? I was testing with cellular, maybe it only works when I am on another wifi network?

Jeff07971
2019-01-03, 10:05
thanks for the help, maybe one stupid question; should the vpn and LMS work over cellular data as well? I was testing with cellular, maybe it only works when I am on another wifi network?

Yes, it should work on any network, the only tricky one is if you are on your own wifi, depending on the setup OpenVPN may not work on your own wifi

I use it mainly on Cellular (I fact have been today !)

Blackfiction
2019-01-04, 15:26
Yes, it should work on any network, the only tricky one is if you are on your own wifi, depending on the setup OpenVPN may not work on your own wifi

I use it mainly on Cellular (I fact have been today !)

As a last resort; I found multiple messages in the router log (all are like these);

Jan 4 22:48:37 openvpn[3363]: 192.168.1.154 TLS Error: TLS key negotiation failed to occur within 60 seconds (check your network connectivity)
Jan 4 22:48:37 openvpn[3363]: 192.168.1.154 TLS Error: TLS handshake failed

Does anyone have a clue where to fix?

Jeff07971
2019-01-04, 16:21
As a last resort; I found multiple messages in the router log (all are like these);

Jan 4 22:48:37 openvpn[3363]: 192.168.1.154 TLS Error: TLS key negotiation failed to occur within 60 seconds (check your network connectivity)
Jan 4 22:48:37 openvpn[3363]: 192.168.1.154 TLS Error: TLS handshake failed

Does anyone have a clue where to fix?

This is not the place to ask !

THe VPN is not being established this is nothing to do with LMS, iPeng, squeezeboxes

THe place to ask is a forum for ASUS-WRT

Jeff