PDA

View Full Version : Long delay when changing stations



chris49
2018-12-30, 03:46
All of my presets hesitate about 10 seconds before they start to play.

What do I need to change to reduce this? I think I have buffering set to 3 seconds on both of my radios.

This started a few months ago.

LMS 7.7.6

toby10
2018-12-30, 03:59
Only happens on Presets? What about just randomly changing stations in Radio's menu's?

slartibartfast
2018-12-30, 04:30
All of my presets hesitate about 10 seconds before they start to play.

What do I need to change to reduce this? I think I have buffering set to 3 seconds on both of my radios.

This started a few months ago.

LMS 7.7.6Are they radio stations? Which ones?

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

bpa
2018-12-30, 04:47
Lots of variables to consider - some more info always helps with suggestions (what station, what URTLs being used, what type of players ...)
* Stations with low bitrate will take longer to start compared to station with high bitrates.
* http vs https can add a delay - many station introduced this within last 6 months.
* some station do lot of redirection for load balancing or http to https can delay startup
* is LMS acting as a proxy
* transcoding
* network connection - if station are "remote" has an internet connector broken (e.g AAG undersea cable in April)
.
.
.

chris49
2018-12-30, 06:46
Thanks!

toby10 (https://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?12553-toby10) : Not just presets. Artwork loads quickly, but audio is delayed... longer delay on some stations

slartibartfast (https://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?35609-slartibartfast) : All radio stations: WBBM, WCBS, WSB, WBBR, WBEN, Country_108


bpa (https://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?1806-bpa) :

I'll look into https; if that's the problem I guess there'd be no fix (Checked... not an https issue)
No proxy on LMS. Same problem when connected via mysqueezebox.com, bypassing LMS?
No transcoding I am aware of
No reason to suspect network connection. Streaming TVs are working fine.



Playing some of the "problem" URLs using VLC on Windows 10 exhibits no such delays.

bpa
2018-12-30, 07:21
If station plays on mysqueezebox - then https is not the issue.

Playing some of the "problem" URLs using VLC on Windows 10 exhibits no such delays.

Can you post a few URLs to test and make sure they are the same in case of different URLs for different regions

chris49
2018-12-30, 19:30
If station plays on mysqueezebox - then https is not the issue.


Can you post a few URLs to test and make sure they are the same in case of different URLs for different regions


http://streaming.cmgdigital.com/atl750/atl750.mp3

http://16843.live.streamtheworld.com:80/WBBMAMAAC_SC

http://17493.live.streamtheworld.com:80/WBBRAMAAC_SC

http://18843.live.streamtheworld.com:80/WCBSAMDIALUP_SC

toby10
2018-12-31, 03:01
Must be something on your end.

Adding all 4 URL's to my Favorites on MySB.com and switching between all of them a multiple times they all play within a couple seconds (standard buffering).

bpa
2018-12-31, 04:30
Testing with mplayer (because it gives good diagnostics) and not LMS or an SB player.

I am outside the US so streams a couple of the stream gave me 403 forbidden i.e. geo-locked.

The first URL has an unusual StreamURL in the ICY info (this is usually artwork but this link goes to a html page) which may be causing a delay at start up when LMS tries to process it.

The Bloomberg URL gave me starts varying between a delay of 10 secs and no delay. The delay usually happened when ad were inserted before main stream.

Since Bloomberg and other 403 stream are streamtheworld URLs - I'm guess they use same ad tech and so may have similar delays.

So I differ a bit from toby10 - there is a good chance you can't do anything at your end.

Player like VLC and mplayer cache URLs and other details after being played once and so after initial test - subsequent tests are not valid/comparable unless you clear caches.

chris49
2019-01-01, 18:41
I agree with Toby10 since the problem started within the last few months and I have been living with it.

I tried several changes today, both in LMS and within the radios with no real change.

Any further suggestions will be appreciated!