PDA

View Full Version : Tidal stopped working on LMS + SB Touch



Zombie
2018-09-14, 08:31
Suddenly Tidal doesn't work from SBT anymore. It shows tracks but every track is reset and in jumps to the next track and so on.
Anyone else experienced this?
Works fine from the Android TV app into my DAC, though, but not from LMS in the web browser app on the TV.
Any ideas?

Zombie
2018-09-16, 23:00
So, everybody else's Tidal is working fine then?

slartibartfast
2018-09-17, 00:45
So, everybody else's Tidal is working fine then?Someone else with the same issue. It would have made more sense if they posted here.
https://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?p=920853

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

webjanne
2018-09-17, 00:58
Hi there!

I've been using 3 Squeezeboxes for years now, 2 Touch and 1 Classic. I mainly use them to stream Tidal HiFi.
All have worked well until last week when suddenly Tidal refused to play. I can get into Tidal, search for music but when I press Play the playbar starts to move, no sound and after about 7 seconds I get a message saying something like "connection was reset by local host". Then I'm moved to the next song in the playlist and the same thing happens again. I looked into this a little further yesterday and noticed that it only occurs on my Touch-devices, the Classic can play...
Any ideas how to solve this? If not, I have to switch to Deezer which seems to work on all 3 boxes.

Thanks,
Janne

Zombie
2018-09-17, 01:03
I installed Ickstream (had an old account there) and Wimp (old name of Tidal) works fine. Can't login to Tidal, though.
Even the Tidal PC client can't play songs, but Tidal on my Android TV plays fine. Weird.
Ickstream refuses to accept my login to Tidal, so I tried removing Wimp becausse it has the same login.
Tidal still doesn't want to login...no idea why. Reinstalled Wimp and it works although it also give the reset error, but eventually starts playing.

mherger
2018-09-17, 02:42
> All have worked well until last week when suddenly Tidal refused to
> play. I can get into Tidal, search for music but when I press Play the
> playbar starts to move, no sound and after about 7 seconds I get a
> message saying something like "connection was reset by local host".

Am I late to the party? Anybody checked their server.log? What LMS
versions are you using?

--

Michael

webjanne
2018-09-17, 02:59
Am I late to the party? Anybody checked their server.log? What LMS
versions are you using?

--
I'm connecting to mysqueezebox.com on all 3 SBs and only Classic works, not my SBTs...

mherger
2018-09-17, 03:17
Are you guys trying to play lossless flac or lossy?

webjanne
2018-09-17, 03:21
Can anyone tell me: which is the local host that resets my connection? My SBT or MSB.com or even "someone else"?

//Janne

webjanne
2018-09-17, 03:23
Are you guys trying to play lossless flac or lossy?

I'm playing FLAC (lossless)

BosseJ
2018-09-17, 03:44
I'm playing FLAC (lossless)

So am I.

I have noticed that Tidal refuses to stream to my Touch, but yesterday evening my pCp (ver 4.0.0) on RPi 3B worked, but with some delay (4-6 seconds?). I have also noticed that my Bluesound streamer (NAD M50) plays Tdal okay, but also some delay before the stream starts.

My Touch says the same as everyone else (I think): "connection reset by local host", however I do not know if the local host refers to the Touch or to my LMS server (latest nightly, on Ubuntu 18.04.1). Just before the message about "connection reset" appears, a text briefly shows on the top of the Touch screen: first "Connecting" then "getting stream information" (my translation, it actually speaks swedish :-)).

Perhaps it is capacity or performance problem with tidal's servers?
Perhaps it could be mitigated by extending som buffer on the Touch - is that possible?

BosseJ
2018-09-17, 03:59
So am I.

I have noticed that Tidal refuses to stream to my Touch, but yesterday evening my pCp (ver 4.0.0) on RPi 3B worked, but with some delay (4-6 seconds?). I have also noticed that my Bluesound streamer (NAD M50) plays Tdal okay, but also some delay before the stream starts.

My Touch says the same as everyone else (I think): "connection reset by local host", however I do not know if the local host refers to the Touch or to my LMS server (latest nightly, on Ubuntu 18.04.1). Just before the message about "connection reset" appears, a text briefly shows on the top of the Touch screen: first "Connecting" then "getting stream information" (my translation, it actually speaks swedish :-)).

Perhaps it is capacity or performance problem with tidal's servers?
Perhaps it could be mitigated by extending som buffer on the Touch - is that possible?

To add to my own post ...

I found this in the server log from yesterday (Tidal plugin set to DEBUG in logging):

[18-09-16 21:53:31.6518] Slim::Plugin::WiMP::ProtocolHandler::handleDirectE rror (95) Direct stream failed: [403] HTTP/1.0 403 Forbidden
(but only one occurrence strangely enough, I played many tracks)

Maybe it is similar to the BBCxxxx plugin woes? The stream suppliers have disallowed the use of non-SSL/TLS and SSL2/3 & TLS1 since all these are vulnerable to the Heartbleed exploit?

I'll attach my server log.

mherger
2018-09-17, 05:39
> [18-09-16 21:53:31.6518] Slim::Plugin::WiMP::ProtocolHandler::handleDirectE rror (95) Direct stream failed: [403] HTTP/1.0 403 Forbidden

That's odd. I was able to play stuff on my Touch, as well as Radio or
Squeezeplay. Both, through LMS as well as mysb.com directly.

Also I don't understand how this could be a "new player only" problem,
as both mp3 (for lossy) as well as flac (lossless) would be well
supported by both.

Where are all of you living?

--

Michael

bpa
2018-09-17, 05:47
Maybe it is similar to the BBCxxxx plugin woes? The stream suppliers have disallowed the use of non-SSL/TLS and SSL2/3 & TLS1 since all these are vulnerable to the Heartbleed exploit?

BBC main problems is due to an URL change nothing to do with SSL etc. Other BBC problem with Extra is due to people having very old (2011) systems - nothing new/changed just people tried to revert to Extra and found their system is too old..

mherger
2018-09-17, 06:11
> BBC main problems is due to an URL change nothing to do with SSL etc.
> Other BBC problem with Extra is due to people having very old (2011)
> systems - nothing new/changed just people tried to revert to Extra and
> found their system is too old..

Thanks for the clarification!

--

Michael

webjanne
2018-09-17, 06:27
Where are all of you living?

--

Michael[/QUOTE]

I live close to Stockholm in Sweden.
I run a couple of pc's, 3 Bluesound devices + 3 SB's on the same network (not at the same time though) and all devices except my SBT's run Tidal OK.
And, to remind you, those SBT's also ran fine until about a week ago.

Thanks,
Janne

BosseJ
2018-09-17, 08:00
> [18-09-16 21:53:31.6518] Slim::Plugin::WiMP::ProtocolHandler::handleDirectE rror (95) Direct stream failed: [403] HTTP/1.0 403 Forbidden

That's odd. I was able to play stuff on my Touch, as well as Radio or
Squeezeplay. Both, through LMS as well as mysb.com directly.

Also I don't understand how this could be a "new player only" problem,
as both mp3 (for lossy) as well as flac (lossless) would be well
supported by both.

Where are all of you living?

--

Michael

Thanks, that put me on the right track.
I had Direct streaming set for the Touch and when I changed that to Proxied - no problem, nice music filled the room.

(I note that the piCoreplayer (ver 4.0.0) on my RPi 3B has played Tidal all along with Direct streaming set.)

Thank you for keeping this wonderful echo system alive! And thank you Logitech for continued funding for the basic infrastructure, appreciated :-)

/Bosse

BosseJ
2018-09-17, 08:03
BBC main problems is due to an URL change nothing to do with SSL etc. Other BBC problem with Extra is due to people having very old (2011) systems - nothing new/changed just people tried to revert to Extra and found their system is too old..

Thanks for the clarification! I read those posts badly and insufficiently I think.

Zombie
2018-09-17, 08:38
Thanks, that put me on the right track.
I had Direct streaming set for the Touch and when I changed that to Proxied - no problem, nice music filled the room.
/Bosse

Where do I change that setting?
I found a choice under each player. Changed it and now Tidal works, but behaves strangely. It takes 8-10 secs before each track starts and the time goes back 5-6 seconds.
Someone changed smth somewhere and it didn't get better than before, so either it was change for change's sake or for some reason we don't know.

webjanne
2018-09-17, 10:29
Thanks, that put me on the right track.
I had Direct streaming set for the Touch and when I changed that to Proxied - no problem, nice music filled the room.

(I note that the piCoreplayer (ver 4.0.0) on my RPi 3B has played Tidal all along with Direct streaming set.)

Thank you for keeping this wonderful echo system alive! And thank you Logitech for continued funding for the basic infrastructure, appreciated :-)

/Bosse

I wanna try that too but how can I enter the proxy address when connecting to MSB.com?

BosseJ
2018-09-17, 11:07
I wanna try that too but how can I enter the proxy address when connecting to MSB.com?

If your player is connected to mysqueezebox.com you don't need to set the proxy address- your player already knows :-)
But then I never use mysqueezebox.com directly, I always use a local LMS server on my home network and all my players (2 Touch, 1 pCp) connect to that. So when when I set proxied streaming for a player it uses my local LMS.
BTW, my second Touch had the same problem so I changed to proxied streaming for that one too. Worked fine, Tidal music streamed.

BosseJ
2018-09-17, 11:19
Where do I change that setting?
I found a choice under each player. Changed it and now Tidal works, but behaves strangely. It takes 8-10 secs before each track starts and the time goes back 5-6 seconds.
Someone changed smth somewhere and it didn't get better than before, so either it was change for change's sake or for some reason we don't know.

I use a local LMS server on my home network, not the mysqueezebox.com (although I believe you need to have Tidal enabled and credentials set there) for streaming.
The setting I was referring to is on the local LMS server web page, under Settings, tab Player, select player and the select "Sound" (I think, I have a swedish version that says "Ljud" instead), There is a setting for Streaming with two possible choices: Direct or Proxied.
25655

I do not know how you set that if your player is connected to mysqueezebox.com instead. Somewhere in the settings directly on the Touch probably.

With regard to what's changed and by whom, I have no clear idea. Maybe (speculating) Tidal made a change to their streaming settings requiring SSL/TLS encryption and the by now rather old SW in the Touch cannot cope with that? (But pCp and LMS server SW can.)

webjanne
2018-09-17, 11:38
I use a local LMS server on my home network, not the mysqueezebox.com (although I believe you need to have Tidal enabled and credentials set there) for streaming.
The setting I was referring to is on the local LMS server web page, under Settings, tab Player, select player and the select "Sound" (I think, I have a swedish version that says "Ljud" instead), There is a setting for Streaming with two possible choices: Direct or Proxied.
25655

I do not know how you set that if your player is connected to mysqueezebox.com instead. Somewhere in the settings directly on the Touch probably.

With regard to what's changed and by whom, I have no clear idea. Maybe (speculating) Tidal made a change to their streaming settings requiring SSL/TLS encryption and the by now rather old SW in the Touch cannot cope with that? (But pCp and LMS server SW can.)

Ok, thanks. I'll take a closer look on my Touches. Funny though this problem isn't affecting my SB Classic which also connects to MSB.com and plays Tidal with no problem at all.

webjanne
2018-09-17, 11:39
Ok, thanks. I'll take a closer look on my Touches. Funny though this problem isn't affecting my SB Classic which also connects to MSB.com and plays Tidal with no problem at all.

Dodeth
2018-09-17, 14:09
I posted separately (but don't wish to upset Micheal) that I'm having problems with Tidal. In my case I log onto Tidal, select a track, and nothing happens other than a strange 'stuttering' where the track time jumps between zero and a few seconds, then jumps back to zero again. If I then log onto another app (such as Radio Paradise) for a few seconds, then go back to Tidal, it works fine. Very strange.

mherger
2018-09-17, 14:36
> With regard to what's changed and by whom, I have no clear idea. Maybe
> (speculating) Tidal made a change to their streaming settings requiring
> SSL/TLS encryption and the by now rather old SW in the Touch cannot cope
> with that? (But pCp and LMS server SW can.)

That might very well be the case: the devices themselves can't do
SSL/TLS. But LMS can. By proxying through LMS, the latter functions as
the SSL endpoint, streaming http to the devices. Unfortunately this is
not possible when streaming through mysb.com directly.


--

Michael

webjanne
2018-09-17, 23:53
OK... BUT how come my old SB Classic is able to play Tidal connecting to MSB.com?

mherger
2018-09-18, 00:05
> OK... BUT how come my old SB Classic is able to play Tidal connecting to
> MSB.com?

....and my Touch would, too? Yes, I don't really get it yet. If this is
an ongoing issue, could you please ping Tidal to see whether there's a
problem on their end?

--

Michael

webjanne
2018-09-18, 00:22
I tried to ping MSB.com this morning via Settings/Advanced/Network... and the ping failed. Thought this must be my problem but then I don't understand why Deezer works perfectly well with the same configuration.

webjanne
2018-09-18, 01:54
OK, maybe I have to connect with LMS instead of MSB.. This is what Tidal says on their site:

25664

Torfinn
2018-09-18, 16:07
Hi,
I have the same problem: I can brows the Tidal content, but when I try to play, I get an «connection reset by host» displayed on my SBTouch after 3=6 seconds.
It worked great earlier. Recently I changed from an Windows server running LMS to Ubuntu 18.04, and after that I got this problem. Not sure if it has anything to do with the server update though...

My SB Touch is connected to the LMS server and I play lossy. I live in Norway.
I updated the LMS version today (7.9.2)


Regards
Torfinn

mherger
2018-09-18, 22:06
> It worked great earlier. Recently I changed from an Windows server
> running LMS to Ubuntu 18.04, and after that I got this problem. Not sure
> if it has anything to do with the server update though...

Can you try to enable proxied streaming for those players in
Settings/Player in LMS?

--

Michael

Torfinn
2018-09-19, 05:21
> It worked great earlier. Recently I changed from an Windows server
> running LMS to Ubuntu 18.04, and after that I got this problem. Not sure
> if it has anything to do with the server update though...

Can you try to enable proxied streaming for those players in
Settings/Player in LMS?

--

Michael

Thanks for your help! Yes, I tried to switch to proxied streaming and now it works! :-) Great!
But, then I tried to switch back to direct... and it still works!
Now I'm really confused, but at least it works. Maybe better put it back to proxied streaming anyway, I guess there are now big downside to that anyway?

Regards
Torfinn

mherger
2018-09-19, 08:32
> But, then I tried to switch back to direct... and it still works!
> Now I'm really confused, but at least it works. Maybe better put it back
> to proxied streaming anyway, I guess there are now big downside to that
> anyway?

No big downside except some more processing and bandwidth use on your
LMS machine. If it was a WLAN only Pi Zero feeding a dozen other
players, that would be a problem.

--

Michael

webjanne
2018-09-19, 11:20
Thanks for your help! Yes, I tried to switch to proxied streaming and now it works! :-) Great!
But, then I tried to switch back to direct... and it still works!
Now I'm really confused, but at least it works. Maybe better put it back to proxied streaming anyway, I guess there are now big downside to that anyway?

Regards
Torfinn

Am I supposed to enter the ip-address of the pc running LMS as the Proxy?

Thanks,
Janne

Torfinn
2018-09-19, 12:03
No, no ip address to set. Under Settings/player/audio you can toggle Direct and Proxied streaming. See screenshots earlier in thread.

I reverted back to direct streaming and it still worked. However later today the problem started again, but a change to Proxied streaming solved this. So it seems like your setting on Proxied "sticks" for some time.

Oh well, I'm super happy again with my setup. Thanks to Michal and all the rest keeping this product alive!

Sent fra min SM-G960F via Tapatalk

webjanne
2018-09-21, 00:28
OK, yesterday I downloaded LMS and ran it from my NAS. Configured my Touch to stream via proxy. Voila, it plays Tidal again!

Thanks guys for your kind help!

//Janne :)