PDA

View Full Version : piCorePlayer LMS + ickstream + TIDAL?



Furry
2018-09-11, 08:11
Should I expect this to work?

I have installed the ickstream plugin on LMS running on piCorePlayer, and attempted to use TIDAL, but I'm getting the 'no content' response, as though I'm attempting to use it 'remote'.

Stig Nygaard
2018-09-11, 09:17
Should I expect this to work?

I have installed the ickstream plugin on LMS running on piCorePlayer, and attempted to use TIDAL, but I'm getting the 'no content' response, as though I'm attempting to use it 'remote'.

Any special reason you want to use Tidal via ickstream instead of using the "native support"?
[ Disclaimer: I don't really know anything about piCorePlayerb and if it is because a restriction when using that? ]

Furry
2018-09-11, 10:28
Any special reason you want to use Tidal via ickstream instead of using the "native support"?

I was thinking to avoid the swapping over to mysqueezebox.com (away from the local server) as my Touch does when I select 'native support' Tidal, hence why I've been trying ickstream (again; I first tried it some time ago).

However, I'm now doubting what I've written above because, when using 'native support' TIDAL on piCorePlayer, this doesn't appear to happen; it doesn't appear to 'switch' to mysqueezebox.com it seems more seamless / integrated.

Also, I notice that using Squeezepad remote control, with piCorePlayer + piCorePlayer LMS, actually does work, whereas I'm pretty sure that it doesn't with Touch + Windows LMS (get the 'no content' message, and instead have to use the Touch's actual IR remote control).

Maybe this is just to do with Squeezelite/Jivelite working differently?

Stig Nygaard
2018-09-11, 11:01
I was thinking to avoid the swapping over to mysqueezebox.com (away from the local server) as my Touch does when I select 'native support' Tidal,

I don't remember that being a problem when trying TIDAL in a trial period on my Touch a couple of years ago. But I might not remember it correctly. It was only a short period. Don't currently use TIDAL myself.

Furry
2018-09-11, 11:11
Don't currently use TIDAL myself.

I'm just giving it another go, on a 30 day trial subscription, mainly to try out the hi-res streaming.

I've been using Qobuz for some time, but TIDAL do hi-res for the same price as Qobuz charge per month; Qobuz charge another 50% for hi-res streaming.

However, TIDAL hi-res is only via desktop app, which is not for me (Windows too busy screwing things up).

I did also try Audirvana (I think it's called), however I'm not impressed; it's glitchy and a bit crude.

At least the TIDAL desktop app does work, though, whereas the Qobuz one doesn't, at least not on my laptop - it's necessary to use the web interface from a desktop.