PDA

View Full Version : Tidal Not Showing in My Apps or Home Screen



DLG
2018-09-06, 04:51
Hello, fellow Squeezeboxers!

I have signed up for a Tidal trial and have been trying to get it going on my Squeezeboxes. I have successfully got it going on a Touch and two Radios. But there is a significant problem.

Tidal is not showing up either on the Home Screen or My Apps. The only way I can get it going again is to go into App Gallery, uninstall then reinstall and open. Obviously sub-optimal!

This is what I did:

- signed up for a Tidal account
- entered account details in Tidal app using Squeeze Commander
- this allowed me to browse Tidal, but files were not playing
- so I went to each individual SB, uninstalled and reinstalled Tidal - saying "yes" to adding the app to the Home Screen on each
- successfully streamed music on each SB - but there was no sign of Tidal on either Home Screen or My Apps

I am probably doing something daft - any advice would be much appreciated.

DLG
2018-09-08, 02:40
Snip!.

A wee bump - any advice?

mherger
2018-09-08, 22:31
Check your server.log.

--

Michael

DLG
2018-09-12, 11:23
Check your server.log.

--

Michael

Thanks. I had a look - just looked like a lot of titles played from my library (i.e. not Tidal) - what should I be looking for?

If you could treat me as a total idiot and walk me through it a little, I'd be much obliged. Despite having set up several R-Pi Squeezeboxes, I have not done that much tinkering in LMS.

slartibartfast
2018-09-12, 12:24
Hello, fellow Squeezeboxers!

I have signed up for a Tidal trial and have been trying to get it going on my Squeezeboxes. I have successfully got it going on a Touch and two Radios. But there is a significant problem.

Tidal is not showing up either on the Home Screen or My Apps. The only way I can get it going again is to go into App Gallery, uninstall then reinstall and open. Obviously sub-optimal!

This is what I did:

- signed up for a Tidal account
- entered account details in Tidal app using Squeeze Commander
- this allowed me to browse Tidal, but files were not playing
- so I went to each individual SB, uninstalled and reinstalled Tidal - saying "yes" to adding the app to the Home Screen on each
- successfully streamed music on each SB - but there was no sign of Tidal on either Home Screen or My Apps

I am probably doing something daft - any advice would be much appreciated.

Is Tidal an LMS plugin or is it a mysqueezebox.com app?

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

mherger
2018-09-12, 14:21
> If you could treat me as a total idiot and walk me through it a little,
> I'd be much obliged. Despite having set up several R-Pi Squeezeboxes, I
> have not done that much tinkering in LMS.

Upload your server.log.zip file and we'll do the analysis. Feel free to
upload to my inbox instead:
https://www.dropbox.com/request/T3RctyzGgNg0oFDubq6a


--

Michael

mherger
2018-09-12, 21:15
> Is Tidal an LMS plugin or is it a mysqueezebox.com app?

It's both: the implementation on mysb.com requires the plugin in LMS (if
running LMS).

--

Michael

DLG
2018-09-14, 04:40
>
Upload your server.log.zip file and we'll do the analysis. Feel free to
upload to my inbox instead:
https://www.dropbox.com/request/T3RctyzGgNg0oFDubq6a


--

Michael


Thanks - will do that as soon as I am back in the same place as the LMS.

DLG
2018-09-15, 01:38
Thanks - will do that as soon as I am back in the same place as the LMS.

OK, I have uploaded the .zip archive to your Dropbox. Many thanks for taking a look.

mherger
2018-09-15, 01:56
> OK, I have uploaded the .zip archive to your Dropbox. Many thanks for
> taking a look.

Your log file says LMS can't reach any DNS:

[18-09-11 18:58:20.2594] Slim::Control::XMLBrowser::_cliQuery_error
(1677) Error: While retrieving
[http://www.mysqueezebox.com/api/appgallery/v1/opml]: [Couldn't resolve
IP address for: www.mysqueezebox.com]
[18-09-11 18:58:27.7847] Slim::Formats::XML::gotErrorViaHTTP (339)
Error: getting http://www.mysqueezebox.com/api/appgallery/v1/opml
Couldn't resolve IP address for: www.mysqueezebox.com

Check your network setup on that machine.

--

Michael

DLG
2018-09-15, 03:10
Your log file says LMS can't reach any DNS:

[18-09-11 18:58:20.2594] Slim::Control::XMLBrowser::_cliQuery_error
(1677) Error: While retrieving
[http://www.mysqueezebox.com/api/appgallery/v1/opml]: [Couldn't resolve
IP address for: www.mysqueezebox.com]
[18-09-11 18:58:27.7847] Slim::Formats::XML::gotErrorViaHTTP (339)
Error: getting http://www.mysqueezebox.com/api/appgallery/v1/opml
Couldn't resolve IP address for: www.mysqueezebox.com

Check your network setup on that machine.

--

Michael


Will do. We had an internet problem on that day though - I had to use the hotspot on my phone to use my computer. Could that have prompted the log entry?

Also, would a DNS issue affect the appearance (or non-appearance) of the Tidal app on the Squeezebox menus? As I mentioned earlier, Tidal *does* work, but only if it is uninstalled, reinstalled and then launched from the installation.

BosseJ
2018-09-15, 12:26
Will do. We had an internet problem on that day though - I had to use the hotspot on my phone to use my computer. Could that have prompted the log entry?

Also, would a DNS issue affect the appearance (or non-appearance) of the Tidal app on the Squeezebox menus? As I mentioned earlier, Tidal *does* work, but only if it is uninstalled, reinstalled and then launched from the installation.
From your first post:

- signed up for a Tidal account
- entered account details in Tidal app using Squeeze Commander
- this allowed me to browse Tidal, but files were not playing
- so I went to each individual SB, uninstalled and reinstalled Tidal - saying "yes" to adding the app to the Home Screen on each
- successfully streamed music on each SB - but there was no sign of Tidal on either Home Screen or My Apps

I am not familiar with exactly how Squeeze Commander functions, but IIRC the Tidal credentials should be entered on mysqueezebox.com.
A wild speculation is that LMS does not have your credentials but when you authenticate in the Tidal app in your mobile, the SB's (calling from the same IP) can play some songs based on the mobile apps authentication.

But then again I may be wildly wrong :-) But in case, reenter your Tidal credentials in Tidal on mysqueezebox.com?

DLG
2018-09-17, 02:03
From your first post:


I am not familiar with exactly how Squeeze Commander functions, but IIRC the Tidal credentials should be entered on mysqueezebox.com.
A wild speculation is that LMS does not have your credentials but when you authenticate in the Tidal app in your mobile, the SB's (calling from the same IP) can play some songs based on the mobile apps authentication.

But then again I may be wildly wrong :-) But in case, reenter your Tidal credentials in Tidal on mysqueezebox.com?

Thank you. I will give that a go.

I have, however, temporarily uninstalled Tidal. Despite having a world of music available, my son was using it exclusively to play rap with profane and misogynist lyrics... Not what I want to hear, let alone my wife and daughter - and it's not what a pre-teen boy needs to hear about relations with women.

When he's learned to "play nicely", I'll reinstall it! The road to hell is paved with good intentions... :cool: