PDA

View Full Version : piCorePlayer 4.0.0, full network configuration



edwin2006
2018-09-03, 11:25
Long time SB user but an absolute linux newbie..
Trying to get PcP + LMS working on restricted network without DHCP so i need to config the network (permanently) manually with;

IP
Mask
Gateway
DNS1
DNS2
NTP

Searched on the net but found nothing that i could use (i guess because the lack of know how on my part)
So any help would be apriciated.

Jeff07971
2018-09-03, 12:17
Long time SB user but an absolute linux newbie..
Trying to get PcP + LMS working on restricted network without DHCP so i need to config the network (permanently) manually with;

IP
Mask
Gateway
DNS1
DNS2
NTP

Searched on the net but found nothing that i could use (i guess because the lack of know how on my part)
So any help would be apriciated.

You need to find these parameters for the specific network that the Pcp is going to operate on.

The DHCP server usually transmits these to the Pcp instance so you will have to ask the network owner/manageer for these parameters.

You probably won't need NTP as I believe OOTB Pcp uses ntp.org

Out of interest how will you set these with no network ?

Jeff

Its not linux knowledge either most of these parameters are needed for any network device no matter (within reason) what OS you use.

edwin2006
2018-09-03, 13:16
Hi Jeff. I know all the parameters, most off them I can make my own choice. It's just that I don't have access to the router and I have to deal with the proxy. I do have thorough knowledge of networks 😉
Just having a problem to implement that knowledge into a core Linux environment.

Jeff07971
2018-09-03, 13:50
Hi Jeff. I know all the parameters, most off them I can make my own choice. It's just that I don't have access to the router and I have to deal with the proxy. I do have thorough knowledge of networks 😉
Just having a problem to implement that knowledge into a core Linux environment.

So type your settings into the GUI and you're good to go !

Greg Erskine
2018-09-03, 14:01
hi edwin2006,

Looks like you might need to setup a static IP via "setup". Plug in monitor and keyboard and type "setup".

Can't quite think how you can get to with web interface without a network :confused:

regards
Greg

Jeff07971
2018-09-03, 14:04
hi edwin2006,

Looks like you might need to setup a static IP via "setup". Plug in monitor and keyboard and type "setup".

Can't quite think how you can get to with web interface without a network :confused:

regards
Greg

He could setup a temporary DHCP server on say a laptop and then fix the settings in the GUI :confused:

Jeff

One (for windows) here http://www.dhcpserver.de/cms/download/

edwin2006
2018-09-04, 10:42
I've got a network. Challenge is getting a proxy setting in the pcp. I did find the static network config via GUI. But there is no proxy setting or am I missing something?

paul-
2018-09-04, 11:54
I've got a network. Challenge is getting a proxy setting in the pcp. I did find the static network config via GUI. But there is no proxy setting or am I missing something?

Proxy servers settings are software configured, primarily for Web Browsers. pCP/LMS will not function in a Proxied environment.

mherger
2018-09-04, 21:18
>> I've got a network. Challenge is getting a proxy setting in the pcp. I
>> did find the static network config via GUI. But there is no proxy
>> setting or am I missing something?
>
> Proxy servers settings are software configured, primarily for Web
> Browsers. pCP/LMS will not function in a Proxied environment.

LMS itself does have an option to define a proxy to be used.


--

Michael

edwin2006
2018-09-04, 21:34
Alright, did not expect to find that in lms. Will search in settings.
Thnx

paul-
2018-09-05, 11:00
Is that just for LMS to make calls to the internet? When he was trying to configure pCP for a proxy server, I assumed he meant players.

edwin2006
2018-09-05, 11:26
Oeps, sorry. No just for LMS. It's one pi with combined LMS and player.

So with proxy filled in at lms setup music will probably play but unable to update pcp or lms, right?
So how to set a proxy for the pcp network configuration?

edwin2006
2018-09-09, 02:42
No suggestion?

paul-
2018-09-09, 05:53
No idea what you are asking. Just set it up, and if it doesn’t work look at the logs.

edwin2006
2018-09-09, 13:10
Yes, I will.
Question is how to add proxy setting to pcp so update pcp & lms will work. That's all.

paul-
2018-09-09, 13:14
Yes, I will.
Question is how to add proxy setting to pcp so update pcp & lms will work. That's all.

As I said before, pCP itself doesn't allow for proxy servers. You have to add the proxy info to your LMS interface on pCP.

edwin2006
2018-09-10, 01:39
Sorry for my misunderstanding.
Will try and see what happens.
If pcp and/or lms update fails I take the pcp temporarily to another network.

M-H
2018-09-17, 14:36
Hi Edwin2006

Directing all request through a proxy is not an easy task.
Most command in Linux do lookup the variables for system wide redirection, but not all.
I assume , from paul- his answer, this has never been tested in the PCP development, and it is indeed a rare use case.
If you really need your PCP to do all through a proxy you are setting yourself up for an adventure.
It will be one where you need to educate yourself a bit and are leaving the paved PCP path.
Probably you are the first one to attempt it, and only a few will follow you .

I would advise to firewall the pi with a separate firewall device and use its logs to verify all requests are either direct or to the proxy.
Access to the proxy logs are also recommended to see all teh request are understood and executed.
And remember, pcp and its picore sibling are tweaked to be small and lean. So though they are linux, it isn't a full desktop distro that offers full functionality for almost every invented setup. To my knowledge all in PCP is written in readable scripts and thus you can debug each one for your connection. But with extension modules, there will always be parts left untested.

See: https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/213737/how-do-i-set-systemwide-connection-over-a-proxy-server
for a few quick first steps on your trial.
Please leave a post if you manage to get it running. Although your specific setup is rare, you are never the only one.

Regards M-H

edwin2006
2018-09-20, 09:57
Hi Edwin2006

Directing all request through a proxy is not an easy task.
Most command in Linux do lookup the variables for system wide redirection, but not all.
I assume , from paul- his answer, this has never been tested in the PCP development, and it is indeed a rare use case.
If you really need your PCP to do all through a proxy you are setting yourself up for an adventure.
It will be one where you need to educate yourself a bit and are leaving the paved PCP path.
Probably you are the first one to attempt it, and only a few will follow you .

I would advise to firewall the pi with a separate firewall device and use its logs to verify all requests are either direct or to the proxy.
Access to the proxy logs are also recommended to see all teh request are understood and executed.
And remember, pcp and its picore sibling are tweaked to be small and lean. So though they are linux, it isn't a full desktop distro that offers full functionality for almost every invented setup. To my knowledge all in PCP is written in readable scripts and thus you can debug each one for your connection. But with extension modules, there will always be parts left untested.

See: https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/213737/how-do-i-set-systemwide-connection-over-a-proxy-server
for a few quick first steps on your trial.
Please leave a post if you manage to get it running. Although your specific setup is rare, you are never the only one.

Regards M-HDamn, not what I was hoping for :(
Meantime tried the proxy setting in lms and with mixed results. While I'm able to play radio stations the locak stations is not populated.
Spotty does not work at all.
Still working on a solution with one off the guys that's controlling the edge firewall.

edwin2006
2019-01-28, 08:32
I found this article http://tinycorelinux.net/faq.html#proxy that describes:

How to setup a proxy with Tiny Core?
How can I set an http proxy for downloading extensions? I am sitting behind a restrictive firewall and need to go through a proxy to the internet.

export http_proxy='proxy.domain: port'

Example:
export http_proxy="http://192.125.196.3:8080"

If a username and password are required:
export http_proxy="http://username:password@host:port"

Is it possible to do this on a PcP and if yes how?
If necessary how to reverse that action? (just in case :) )

paul-
2019-01-28, 10:53
It should work from command line, you will not be able to use the web page downloader, as that is a different system environment.

edwin2006
2019-01-28, 13:13
Allright, will that stick after reboot?

paul-
2019-01-28, 14:34
You can add this to your .ashrc file, then backup.