PDA

View Full Version : Commercial players that work off LMS?

stevedresden
2018-07-06, 09:04
I have been running LMS on a first gen Raspberry Pi 3 for a few years now, and have a Squeezebox Radio in the kitchen as my main player. I have Squeeze Play on my Android phone for occasional use in other rooms, but I have to attach it to external speakers for it to sound OK, which is a bit of a hassle

Having wandered around John Lewis the other day and looked enviously at these new multiroom systems, I was wondering if there are any commercial devices/speakers out there that would stream from my existing LMS

I don't want to be be building my own squeeze players put of Pis and old phones if I can help it

Am I dreaming?

garym
2018-07-06, 09:22
I have been running LMS on a first gen Raspberry Pi 3 for a few years now, and have a Squeezebox Radio in the kitchen as my main player. I have Squeeze Play on my Android phone for occasional use in other rooms, but I have to attach it to external speakers for it to sound OK, which is a bit of a hassle

Having wandered around John Lewis the other day and looked enviously at these new multiroom systems, I was wondering if there are any commercial devices/speakers out there that would stream from my existing LMS

I don't want to be be building my own squeeze players put of Pis and old phones if I can help it

Am I dreaming?

Should be able to find some squeezebox TOUCH players on ebay, etc. Some of these have very little use or are even "new in box". Still great players!

bpa
2018-07-06, 09:33
Do you mean speaker or player with a display & sp[eakers ?

For just speakers - Chromecast or Airplay enabled speaker can also work. I bought a Sony Chromecast speaker during a sale or just use a Chromecast audio adapter.

edit:

Alternative would be an Android device with a LMS player app such as Zettaly Avy

Paul Webster
2018-07-06, 09:37