PDA

View Full Version : Can I usew Duet or Boom PS with radio?



satkinsn
2018-06-17, 16:40
All -

I have a used radio on the way which does not have a power supply. Assuming the unit works, I'll buy one - but before then, can I use my Duet or Boom PS for testing?

tks,

s.

pippin
2018-06-17, 19:13
Boom might work but Iím not sure.
Duet has a 5V PS, I believe Boom is 12 (not sure) and Radio 18 (also not sure)

drmatt
2018-06-17, 23:47
Radio PSU is def 18v 1a. Never quite understood why every single model had a different rated PSU...


Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk

mherger
2018-06-17, 23:58
> I have a used radio on the way which does not have a power supply.
> Assuming the unit works, I'll buy one - but before then, can I use my
> Duet or Boom PS for testing?

Boom might work - if the Radio does not come with the battery. The
battery might not charge. Duet's power brick won't work.

--

Michael

pippin
2018-06-18, 00:17
Radio PSU is def 18v 1a. Never quite understood why every single model had a different rated PSU...


The Classic/Receiver only use 5V because they don't have any amplifier, Radio and Boom have powered speakers so need more power.

Radio also needs to be able to charge the battery, something for which you need to have some incremental voltage.

mherger
2018-06-18, 00:31
> The Classic/Receiver only use 5V because they don't have any amplifier,
> Radio and Boom have powered speakers so need more power.

My receiver says 9V. Maybe that's a beta unit...

--

Michael

bpa
2018-06-18, 01:27
> The Classic/Receiver only use 5V because they don't have any amplifier,
> Radio and Boom have powered speakers so need more power.

My receiver says 9V. Maybe that's a beta unit...

Same here and wiki also says 9V. That said, the physical connector of receiver will not fit any other player. Radio and Boom connector are physically compatible.

Mnyb
2018-06-18, 06:25
Reciever is 9v Touch and SB3/2 5v

pippin
2018-06-18, 06:30
> The Classic/Receiver only use 5V because they don't have any amplifier,
> Radio and Boom have powered speakers so need more power.

My receiver says 9V. Maybe that's a beta unit...

--

Michael

Interesting. I have to admit I didnít check but I assumed it would be the same as the Classic and the Controller.
Why does the Receiver need higher voltage than the Classic, after all, the Classic has a display?

kidstypike
2018-06-18, 06:37
All -

I have a used radio on the way which does not have a power supply. Assuming the unit works, I'll buy one - but before then, can I use my Duet or Boom PS for testing?

tks,

s.

All Squeezebox hardware specs here: http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Hardware_comparison

mherger
2018-06-18, 06:47
> Why does the Receiver need higher voltage than the Classic, after all,
> the Classic has a display?
I was wondering about this, too... But I don't remember. Should have
known about this question a week ago - met with some of those devices'
fathers :-)

--

Michael

satkinsn
2018-06-18, 11:11
...met with the fathers?

I have to ask: how do they feel about their work? How do they feel about the long afterlife the SB system has enjoyed?

s.

satkinsn
2018-06-30, 17:02
I noted this in another thread, but for anyone stumbling into this one years from now, the answer is no. the SB radio I bought didn't work properly with the Boom's PS, but did with a radio-specific PS I purchased.

s.