PDA

View Full Version : Wireless Signal Strength - Display on server



Roy Owen
2005-01-06, 06:22
I've searched the archives and found that the Squeezebox Wireless
Signal Strength was available on the Slimserver web interface for
Silmserver V 5.1, however that no longer appears to be the case. Am I
correct? Also is there some sort of plugin for Squeezebox that would
display the Signal strength in real time on the unit it's self? I'm
experiencing problems with signal strength, < 20%. I live in a 2
story home with my WAP on the 1st floor and the SB on the 2nd. I'm
sure that if I play with the antenna orientation I can get a stable
signal. Other options would include placing an external antenna from
the WAP on the 2nd floor.

Roy Owen
--
Do meddle in the affairs of Dragons,
for you are crunchy and good with Tabasco.

kdf
2005-01-06, 10:39
Quoting Roy Owen <yddraig (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:

> I've searched the archives and found that the Squeezebox Wireless
> Signal Strength was available on the Slimserver web interface for
> Silmserver V 5.1, however that no longer appears to be the case. Am I
> correct? Also is there some sort of plugin for Squeezebox that would
> display the Signal strength in real time on the unit it's self? I'm
> experiencing problems with signal strength, < 20%. I live in a 2
> story home with my WAP on the 1st floor and the SB on the 2nd. I'm
> sure that if I play with the antenna orientation I can get a stable
> signal. Other options would include placing an external antenna from
> the WAP on the 2nd floor.
>
Click on Player settings, scroll down to the very bottom of the page that comes
up. You should see Player ID, and Signal strength (if applicable)

You can also see this via the player display, under settings, Information.

-kdf

Roy Owen
2005-01-06, 13:56
Okay, I finally found it. I needed to change skins (was using light).
Thanks all.


On Thu, 06 Jan 2005 09:39:49 -0800, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
> Quoting Roy Owen <yddraig (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:
>
> > I've searched the archives and found that the Squeezebox Wireless
> > Signal Strength was available on the Slimserver web interface for
> > Silmserver V 5.1, however that no longer appears to be the case. Am I
> > correct? Also is there some sort of plugin for Squeezebox that would
> > display the Signal strength in real time on the unit it's self? I'm
> > experiencing problems with signal strength, < 20%. I live in a 2
> > story home with my WAP on the 1st floor and the SB on the 2nd. I'm
> > sure that if I play with the antenna orientation I can get a stable
> > signal. Other options would include placing an external antenna from
> > the WAP on the 2nd floor.
> >
> Click on Player settings, scroll down to the very bottom of the page that comes
> up. You should see Player ID, and Signal strength (if applicable)
>
> You can also see this via the player display, under settings, Information.
>
> -kdf
>

Jeff Shanholtz
2005-01-06, 18:35
On Thu, 6 Jan 2005 08:22:14 -0500, Roy Owen wrote:

> correct? Also is there some sort of plugin for Squeezebox that would
> display the Signal strength in real time on the unit it's self? I'm
> experiencing problems with signal strength, < 20%. I live in a 2
> story home with my WAP on the 1st floor and the SB on the 2nd. I'm
> sure that if I play with the antenna orientation I can get a stable
> signal. Other options would include placing an external antenna from
> the WAP on the 2nd floor.

I agree with Roy - real time signal strength would be SOOO helpful in
setting up a WAP and the SB - I spent time just the other day trying to do
that for the first time ever, and it was very frustrating.

dean
2005-01-13, 00:43
Scroll down to:

Settings -> Information -> Player Information -> Signal Strength

If you aren't connected, there's a signal strength view in the player
setup screens under the Current Settings

-dean

On Jan 6, 2005, at 5:35 PM, Jeff Shanholtz wrote:

> On Thu, 6 Jan 2005 08:22:14 -0500, Roy Owen wrote:
>
>> correct? Also is there some sort of plugin for Squeezebox that would
>> display the Signal strength in real time on the unit it's self? I'm
>> experiencing problems with signal strength, < 20%. I live in a 2
>> story home with my WAP on the 1st floor and the SB on the 2nd. I'm
>> sure that if I play with the antenna orientation I can get a stable
>> signal. Other options would include placing an external antenna from
>> the WAP on the 2nd floor.
>
> I agree with Roy - real time signal strength would be SOOO helpful in
> setting up a WAP and the SB - I spent time just the other day trying
> to do
> that for the first time ever, and it was very frustrating.
>
>

Jeff Shanholtz
2005-01-13, 08:09
Dean, you misunderstand. We know that you can get a signal strength
reading. However, it would be very helpful if it would continually update.
Right now, it is very hard to get it to update without rebooting the SB. If
you're trying to maximize your signal strength, it would be helpful to see
the strength indicator continually update as you adjust the WAP and SB
antennas. For example, updating once a second would be good.

On Wed, 12 Jan 2005 23:43:47 -0800, dean blackketter wrote:

> Scroll down to:
>
> Settings -> Information -> Player Information -> Signal Strength
>
> If you aren't connected, there's a signal strength view in the player
> setup screens under the Current Settings
>
> -dean
>
> On Jan 6, 2005, at 5:35 PM, Jeff Shanholtz wrote:
>
>> On Thu, 6 Jan 2005 08:22:14 -0500, Roy Owen wrote:
>>
>>> correct? Also is there some sort of plugin for Squeezebox that would
>>> display the Signal strength in real time on the unit it's self? I'm
>>> experiencing problems with signal strength, < 20%. I live in a 2
>>> story home with my WAP on the 1st floor and the SB on the 2nd. I'm
>>> sure that if I play with the antenna orientation I can get a stable
>>> signal. Other options would include placing an external antenna from
>>> the WAP on the 2nd floor.
>>
>> I agree with Roy - real time signal strength would be SOOO helpful in
>> setting up a WAP and the SB - I spent time just the other day trying
>> to do
>> that for the first time ever, and it was very frustrating.
>>
>>

Daniel Cohen
2005-01-13, 08:38
On 13/1/05 at 7:09 am -0800, Jeff Shanholtz wrote
>Dean, you misunderstand. We know that you can get a signal strength
>reading. However, it would be very helpful if it would continually update.
>Right now, it is very hard to get it to update without rebooting the SB. If
>you're trying to maximize your signal strength, it would be helpful to see
>the strength indicator continually update as you adjust the WAP and SB
>antennas. For example, updating once a second would be good.

And perhaps even an option (at least on the Web interface, it might
be too much work on the Squeezebox) for a graphical display of the
change of signal strength over a certain period of time.
--
Daniel Cohen

dean
2005-01-13, 08:58
Hi Jeff,

I guess I wasn't clear. These are displays on the player that are
updated every second, when you bring them up. (The web display isn't
updated every second.)

Recap:

If you are connected to the server, use the remote to scroll to:

Settings -> Information -> Player Information -> Signal Strength

If you aren't connected to the server, plug in the player and use the
remote to scroll to:

View Current Settings -> Wireless Signal Strength

Both should update every second with a percentage.

-dean

On Jan 13, 2005, at 7:09 AM, Jeff Shanholtz wrote:

> Dean, you misunderstand. We know that you can get a signal strength
> reading. However, it would be very helpful if it would continually
> update.
> Right now, it is very hard to get it to update without rebooting the
> SB. If
> you're trying to maximize your signal strength, it would be helpful to
> see
> the strength indicator continually update as you adjust the WAP and SB
> antennas. For example, updating once a second would be good.
>
> On Wed, 12 Jan 2005 23:43:47 -0800, dean blackketter wrote:
>
>> Scroll down to:
>>
>> Settings -> Information -> Player Information -> Signal Strength
>>
>> If you aren't connected, there's a signal strength view in the player
>> setup screens under the Current Settings
>>
>> -dean
>>
>> On Jan 6, 2005, at 5:35 PM, Jeff Shanholtz wrote:
>>
>>> On Thu, 6 Jan 2005 08:22:14 -0500, Roy Owen wrote:
>>>
>>>> correct? Also is there some sort of plugin for Squeezebox that
>>>> would
>>>> display the Signal strength in real time on the unit it's self? I'm
>>>> experiencing problems with signal strength, < 20%. I live in a 2
>>>> story home with my WAP on the 1st floor and the SB on the 2nd. I'm
>>>> sure that if I play with the antenna orientation I can get a stable
>>>> signal. Other options would include placing an external antenna
>>>> from
>>>> the WAP on the 2nd floor.
>>>
>>> I agree with Roy - real time signal strength would be SOOO helpful in
>>> setting up a WAP and the SB - I spent time just the other day trying
>>> to do
>>> that for the first time ever, and it was very frustrating.
>>>
>>>

Roy Owen
2005-01-13, 09:47
How about a Screen Saver that shows the signal strength in real time on the SB?


On Thu, 13 Jan 2005 15:38:09 +0000, Daniel Cohen <danco (AT) f2s (DOT) com> wrote:
> On 13/1/05 at 7:09 am -0800, Jeff Shanholtz wrote
> >Dean, you misunderstand. We know that you can get a signal strength
> >reading. However, it would be very helpful if it would continually update.
> >Right now, it is very hard to get it to update without rebooting the SB. If
> >you're trying to maximize your signal strength, it would be helpful to see
> >the strength indicator continually update as you adjust the WAP and SB
> >antennas. For example, updating once a second would be good.
>
> And perhaps even an option (at least on the Web interface, it might
> be too much work on the Squeezebox) for a graphical display of the
> change of signal strength over a certain period of time.
> --
> Daniel Cohen
>

Jeff Shanholtz
2005-01-13, 12:43
On Thu, 13 Jan 2005 07:58:49 -0800, dean blackketter wrote:

> If you are connected to the server, use the remote to scroll to:
>
> Settings -> Information -> Player Information -> Signal Strength
>
> If you aren't connected to the server, plug in the player and use the
> remote to scroll to:
>
> View Current Settings -> Wireless Signal Strength
>
> Both should update every second with a percentage.

It doesn't update for me. Perhaps the antenna position is so non-critical
that it doesn't even have a 1% effect? Tonight I'll try disconnecting the
antenna to confirm whether or not it truly does update every second.

Jeff Shanholtz
2005-01-13, 18:20
On Thu, 13 Jan 2005 07:58:49 -0800, dean blackketter wrote:

> If you are connected to the server, use the remote to scroll to:
>
> Settings -> Information -> Player Information -> Signal Strength
>
> If you aren't connected to the server, plug in the player and use the
> remote to scroll to:
>
> View Current Settings -> Wireless Signal Strength
>
> Both should update every second with a percentage.

Dean, it is not updated at all. I disconnected my antenna and the reading
stayed the same. I tried backing all the way out to the main menu and going
back in, but it was still the same. I tried turning it "off" and back "on"
- still the same. I had to reboot the SB to get the percentage to reflect
the fact that I had taken off the antenna.

I will enter a bug on this. I hope it gets addressed fairly soon because I
think it is an important part of setting up a wireless SB and could affect
first impressions of new users. It was certainly frustrating for me, a long
time SliMP3 user.

Marc Sherman
2005-01-13, 19:00
Jeff Shanholtz wrote:
>
> Dean, it is not updated at all. I disconnected my antenna and the reading
> stayed the same. I tried backing all the way out to the main menu and going
> back in, but it was still the same. I tried turning it "off" and back "on"
> - still the same. I had to reboot the SB to get the percentage to reflect
> the fact that I had taken off the antenna.

I can confirm that it updates every second on my squeezebox. I just
discovered that a> I get 10% better reception with the antenna pointing
straight out horizontally, due to my WAP being in the basement, and b>
microwave ovens really do do nasty things to 802.11 performance. :)

- Marc

dean
2005-01-13, 21:54
On Jan 13, 2005, at 5:20 PM, Jeff Shanholtz wrote:
> Dean, it is not updated at all. I disconnected my antenna and the
> reading
> stayed the same. I tried backing all the way out to the main menu and
> going
> back in, but it was still the same. I tried turning it "off" and back
> "on"
> - still the same. I had to reboot the SB to get the percentage to
> reflect
> the fact that I had taken off the antenna.
Is this in the player setup area or once the player is connected?

> I will enter a bug on this. I hope it gets addressed fairly soon
> because I
> think it is an important part of setting up a wireless SB and could
> affect
> first impressions of new users. It was certainly frustrating for me, a
> long
> time SliMP3 user.
Absolutely. This is the first time I've heard of it and want to make
sure it gets fixed for you.

-dean

kdf
2005-01-14, 17:19
Quoting dean blackketter <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>:

>
> On Jan 13, 2005, at 5:20 PM, Jeff Shanholtz wrote:
> > Dean, it is not updated at all. I disconnected my antenna and the
> > reading
> > stayed the same. I tried backing all the way out to the main menu and
> > going
> > back in, but it was still the same. I tried turning it "off" and back
> > "on"
> > - still the same. I had to reboot the SB to get the percentage to
> > reflect
> > the fact that I had taken off the antenna.
> Is this in the player setup area or once the player is connected?
>
> > I will enter a bug on this. I hope it gets addressed fairly soon
> > because I
> > think it is an important part of setting up a wireless SB and could
> > affect
> > first impressions of new users. It was certainly frustrating for me, a
> > long
> > time SliMP3 user.
> Absolutely. This is the first time I've heard of it and want to make
> sure it gets fixed for you.


I am certain that it used to be real time. Each refresh of the player settings
page, or every screen update (1s) on the player UI, it would change. however,
when I looked at it the other day, it did seem static, staying at 72% even when
I removed the antenna. The last time I paid any attention to it was when the
signal strength was being added to the web page, a long time ago.
-kdf

Jeff Shanholtz
2005-01-14, 19:37
On Thu, 13 Jan 2005 20:54:14 -0800, dean blackketter wrote:

> On Jan 13, 2005, at 5:20 PM, Jeff Shanholtz wrote:
>> Dean, it is not updated at all. I disconnected my antenna and the
>> reading
>> stayed the same. I tried backing all the way out to the main menu and
>> going
>> back in, but it was still the same. I tried turning it "off" and back
>> "on"
>> - still the same. I had to reboot the SB to get the percentage to
>> reflect
>> the fact that I had taken off the antenna.
> Is this in the player setup area or once the player is connected?

Once the player is connected. I haven't tried in the player setup area, but
I could try that too if you think that would be helpful in debugging this.
This is bug 783, by the way.