PDA

View Full Version : AAC out of the box for Mac OS X?



Vince LaMonica
2005-01-05, 02:05
Hi all,

I recently updated my server software [5.4] on my OS X 10.3.7 system
serving an original SliMP3. I also have nearly completed a large ripping
of my entire CD collection in AAC format.

I noticed the other day that the software will not play any AAC [m4a file]
file that I try and load up into a playlist. These are not purchased iTMS
songs, but rather tracks I ripped from my own CDs.

I read this:

http://slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#formats-aac

but it does nothing to tell me how to configure the software to play these
files. Looking at the file types, I find that AAC via mov123 is
checkmarked; doesn't that mean that the software should be decoding the
AAC files into AIFF for the SLiMP3?

Any enlightenment would be most appreciated.

Thanks,

/vjl/

kdf
2005-01-05, 02:07
Quoting Vince LaMonica <vjl (AT) cullasaja (DOT) com>:

> Hi all,
>
> I recently updated my server software [5.4] on my OS X 10.3.7 system
> serving an original SliMP3. I also have nearly completed a large ripping
> of my entire CD collection in AAC format.
>
> I noticed the other day that the software will not play any AAC [m4a file]
> file that I try and load up into a playlist. These are not purchased iTMS
> songs, but rather tracks I ripped from my own CDs.
>
> I read this:
>
> http://slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#formats-aac
>
> but it does nothing to tell me how to configure the software to play these
> files. Looking at the file types, I find that AAC via mov123 is
> checkmarked; doesn't that mean that the software should be decoding the
> AAC files into AIFF for the SLiMP3?
>
> Any enlightenment would be most appreciated.
>

Slimp3 only supports MP3 playback, so the AAC MP3 playback conversion would be
required. This would mean you need to install LAME. Unfortunately, due to
licensing, LAME cannot be included.

If you look in player settings->audio, you will see an item for Bitrate
Limiting, which will report whether or not the server has been able to find a
copy of LAME on your system. If it is not found, the message does have a link
to help you find a copy to install.

-kdf

Vince LaMonica
2005-01-05, 02:57
On Wed, 5 Jan 2005, kdf wrote:

} Slimp3 only supports MP3 playback, so the AAC MP3 playback conversion would be
} required. This would mean you need to install LAME. Unfortunately, due to
} licensing, LAME cannot be included.

Aaaah...and I failed to mention that I also moved my server from my
fink-enabled PowerBook to my Cube, which, until a few minutes ago, didn't
even have the developers tools installed, so, ergo, no LAME.

} If you look in player settings->audio, you will see an item for Bitrate
} Limiting, which will report whether or not the server has been able to find a
} copy of LAME on your system. If it is not found, the message does have a link
} to help you find a copy to install.

Thanks *very* much for this info. I installed LAME via the link presented
in the above setting, and now AAC files are playing perfectly!

Thanks for the help, and extremely timely reply - can't get much faster
than that!

/vjl/