PDA

View Full Version : squeezelite / PulseAudio / Debian

W69
2018-03-20, 14:33
Hi all!

I'm new to this and pretty much impressed about LMS and its capabilities.

I installed LMS on a RasPi - works fine.

To test the server, I installed squeezelite on my desktop as well as on a laptop.
Both run Debian jessie (oldstable), so the current version provided by the repos is 1.6.4-1.
(By the way: there are 2 packages: "squeezelite" and "squeezelite-pa" ... you can only chose one of these! I chose "squeezelite"...)
First, everything went very well, I could access the LMS web interface and play sound on both clients.

The next day, things changed. Obviously, squeezelite is fired up before networking is completely up and running, so both clients have had MAC address 00:00:00:00:00:00. I resolved the issue by adding something like SB_EXTRA_ARGS="-m 12:34:56:78:90:12" (using the correct MAC addresses) to /etc/default/squeezelite. That solved the issue.

Now, I discovered, that both machines do EITHER play sound through any other app (youtube in a browser or any music player you can think of) OR through squeezelite. Stopping the squeezelite daemon lets all other applications play sound again, restarting the daemon blocks sound for all other applications...

Stopping the daemon and manually restarting squeezelite by invoking (as normal user!)

squeezelite -n name -m 12:34:56:78:90:12 -z
DOES however work as expected - any application can play sounds, including squeezelite!

Adding SB_EXTRA_ARGS="-m 12:34:56:78:90:12 -o pulse" (and logging) leads to the following behaviour, when run as a service:

[22:23:45.544636] test_open:124 playback open error: Connection refused
[22:23:45.544698] output_init_common:373 unable to open output device

Using "top", I observed the daemon is run as root. So I added root to groups audio, pulse and pulse-access - no luck (didn't expect it anyway).

Might be worth posting:

$ squeezelite -l
Output devices: