Access to settings pages is now restricted?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • ltsv38
    Member
    • Jul 2008
    • 93

    Access to settings pages is now restricted?

    > I don't like the new security Funktion if you cannot disable it.

    You can disable it, and it's been described before. But 99% of the
    people who want to disable it do so for the wrong reason. You want to
    disable it in order to work around other limitations, eg. Docker support
    in DSM, or lack of knowledge how to configure Docker properly etc. You
    want to give up a security feature because it seems to be easier than to
    address the real issues.

    I posted on the Bookmarks thread, because I believe you should solve the
    Bookmarks issue, not work around it using a sledgehammer.

    --

    Michael
    Pierre (Grenoble - France)
    2 Squeezebox Touch (main HIFI system & headphone) + 1 Squeezebox Duet (kitchen HIFI system) + 3 Squeezebox Radio
    Ubuntu server with LMS 8.2
  • ltsv38
    Member
    • Jul 2008
    • 93

    #2
    Access to settings pages is now restricted?

    Hello

    I've upgraded my LMS, running on an Ubuntu Server, to v7.9.1 build 1516346293
    And I have a new issue when tying to access to settings using an internet connection (no problem when browsing on my local network)
    Code:
    Slim::Web::HTTP::generateHTTPResponse (975) Access to settings pages is restricted to the local network or localhost: 192.168.0.254 -> settings/index.html
    192.168.0.254 is the IP address of my router on the local network

    Is it a new function of LMS?
    Is it possible, using a setting, to allow or not to use setting as yesterday?

    Thanks
    Pierre
    Pierre (Grenoble - France)
    2 Squeezebox Touch (main HIFI system & headphone) + 1 Squeezebox Duet (kitchen HIFI system) + 3 Squeezebox Radio
    Ubuntu server with LMS 8.2

    Comment

    • mherger
      Babelfish's Best Boy
      • Apr 2005
      • 24639

      #3
      Access to settings pages is now restricted?

      > Code:
      > --------------------
      > Slim::Web::HTTP::generateHTTPResponse (975) Access to settings pages is restricted to the local network or localhost: 192.168.0.254 -> settings/index.html
      > --------------------
      >
      > 192.168.0.254 is the IP address of my router on the local network
      >
      > Is it a new function of LMS?


      Yes, it's a new feature. Can you tell us more about your system?

      - on what system is your LMS running?
      - what's your LMS' IP address?
      - how do you get access to your network from the outside? SSH tunnel?
      VPN? Or did you simply port forward your LMS to the internet?

      --

      Michael
      Michael

      "It doesn't work - what shall I do?" - "Please check your server.log and/or scanner.log file!"
      (LMS: Settings/Information)

      Comment

      • ltsv38
        Member
        • Jul 2008
        • 93

        #4
        Originally posted by mherger
        > Code:[color=blue]
        Can you tell us more about your system?
        - on what system is your LMS running?
        - what's your LMS' IP address?
        - how do you get access to your network from the outside? SSH tunnel?
        VPN? Or did you simply port forward your LMS to the internet?
        Michael
        Hi Michael
        - LMS is running on Ubuntu Server
        - IP @ of LMS server is 192.168.0.1
        - I forward my LMS 9000 port to the internet ... of course using a non standard port (differs from 9000)

        But this new feature is a good thing: in the pass I had attacks on my LMS server (before I changed the port)... just stupid guys that changed the skin and some basic settings

        Pierre
        Last edited by ltsv38; 2018-01-21, 23:11.
        Pierre (Grenoble - France)
        2 Squeezebox Touch (main HIFI system & headphone) + 1 Squeezebox Duet (kitchen HIFI system) + 3 Squeezebox Radio
        Ubuntu server with LMS 8.2

        Comment

        • mherger
          Babelfish's Best Boy
          • Apr 2005
          • 24639

          #5
          Access to settings pages is now restricted?

          > - LMS is running on Ubuntu Server
          > - IP @ of LMS server is 192.168.0.1
          > - I forward my LMS 9000 port to the internet ... of course using a non
          > standard port (differs from 9000)


          Ok, a perfect test for the new code :-). Yes, that way the settings are
          no longer accessible from the internet. And the most important aspect of
          this feature is that it lets us tell you that you should must not port
          forward LMS. It's dangerous. Just don't. Not even on a non-standard port.

          --

          Michael
          Michael

          "It doesn't work - what shall I do?" - "Please check your server.log and/or scanner.log file!"
          (LMS: Settings/Information)

          Comment

          • WilbertS
            Junior Member
            • Sep 2018
            • 2

            #6
            Originally posted by mherger
            > Code:
            > --------------------
            > Slim::Web::HTTP::generateHTTPResponse (975) Access to settings pages is restricted to the local network or localhost: 192.168.0.254 -> settings/index.html
            > --------------------
            >
            > 192.168.0.254 is the IP address of my router on the local network
            >
            > Is it a new function of LMS?


            Yes, it's a new feature. Can you tell us more about your system?

            - on what system is your LMS running?
            - what's your LMS' IP address?
            - how do you get access to your network from the outside? SSH tunnel?
            VPN? Or did you simply port forward your LMS to the internet?

            --

            Michael
            Hi,

            I upgraded to 7.9.2-0.1.1535981655 and I can't access settings page from local net anymore.
            LMS is running on Fedora 27 with 2 NICs: Internet (dhcp) and local network (192.168.147.1). When I tried to access settings from 192.168.147.2:

            Code:
            [18-09-04 10:22:41.2305] Slim::Web::HTTP::generateHTTPResponse (991) Access to settings pages is restricted to the local network or localhost: 192.168.147.2 -> 84.251.xx.xxx (settings/server/basic.html)
            LMS seems to listen all interfaces:
            Code:
            [root@gw ~]# netstat -an | grep 9000
            tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:9000            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN
            Is there settings to bind LMS to specific IP/interface only?

            Comment

            • mherger
              Babelfish's Best Boy
              • Apr 2005
              • 24639

              #7
              Originally posted by WilbertS
              Is there settings to bind LMS to specific IP/interface only?
              Use the --httpaddr startup parameter (most likely in /etc/sysconfig/squeezeboxserver)
              Michael

              "It doesn't work - what shall I do?" - "Please check your server.log and/or scanner.log file!"
              (LMS: Settings/Information)

              Comment

              • WilbertS
                Junior Member
                • Sep 2018
                • 2

                #8
                Thanks Michael, that worked!

                I tried earlier to add httpaddr to /etc/squeezeboxserver/server.conf but that didn't help.

                BR
                --
                Wille

                Comment

                • aidy_w
                  Junior Member
                  • Oct 2018
                  • 10

                  #9
                  Hmmm really, and on Ubuntu?

                  Originally posted by mherger
                  Use the --httpaddr startup parameter (most likely in /etc/sysconfig/squeezeboxserver)
                  Hi thanks for the tip, but this file and nothign like it exists on my Ubuntu.

                  If I look at the server process then I see it is using a file /var/lib/squeezeboxserver/prefs/server.prefs.

                  In here I find

                  allowedHosts: x.x.x.x

                  and just below

                  bindAddress: 127.0.0.1

                  In this file after install there is a direct reference to my public IP interface. (allowedHosts: <mypublicaddress>). This is hardcoded when the package gets installed. NICE! Thank God for iptables!

                  If you try and change this, and restart the server it simply ignores the change. The bind setting on the other hand....if I try changing to any local interface address the server refuses to start.

                  So finally the only way I could get this to work was to also dodging a setting for allowedHosts to 127.0.0.1. But the only way I could make this change and get the server to start was to de-install and purge the deb package. Unplug the public interface, install the package without the Internet connection active and then the loopback address was written into the prefs file and the server started.

                  What the hell is that all about?

                  Some feature! Inverted security.

                  Comment

                  • DJanGo
                    Senior Member
                    • Sep 2005
                    • 2856

                    #10
                    Hi,

                    Originally posted by aidy_w
                    Hi thanks for the tip, but this file and nothign like it exists on my Ubuntu.

                    If I look at the server process then I see it is using a file /var/lib/squeezeboxserver/prefs/server.prefs.

                    In here I find

                    allowedHosts: x.x.x.x

                    Some feature! Inverted security.
                    please calm down and take a look at this

                    after that just make sure:
                    Code:
                    grep ^allowed /var/lib/squeezeboxserver/prefs/server.prefs
                    allowedHosts: 192.168.199.*
                    If you take a look in your init.script -> the file for the startup paramaters in debian/ubuntu is this one
                    Code:
                     /etc/default/logitechmediaserver

                    Comment

                    • DJanGo
                      Senior Member
                      • Sep 2005
                      • 2856

                      #11
                      Originally posted by aidy_w
                      So finally the only way I could get this to work was to also dodging a setting for allowedHosts to 127.0.0.1. But the only way I could make this change and get the server to start was to de-install and purge the deb package. Unplug the public interface, install the package without the Internet connection active and then the loopback address was written into the prefs file and the server started.

                      What the hell is that all about?

                      Some feature! Inverted security.
                      Hi again,
                      Code:
                      cat /etc/debian_version
                      buster/sid
                      Code:
                       grep ^bind /var/lib/squeezeboxserver/prefs/server.prefs
                      bindAddress: 127.0.0.1
                      Code:
                      service logitechmediaserver stop
                      Code:
                      sed -i 's|bindAddress: 127.0.0.1|bindAddress: 192.168.199.11|g' /var/lib/squeezeboxserver/prefs/server.prefs
                      Code:
                      grep ^bind /var/lib/squeezeboxserver/prefs/server.prefs
                      bindAddress: 192.168.199.11
                      Code:
                      service logitechmediaserver start
                      Code:
                      tail /var/log/squeezeboxserver/server.log
                      2018-10-27 18:55:22 squeezeboxserver_safe stopped.
                      2018-10-27 18:58:09 squeezeboxserver_safe started.
                      [18-10-27 18:58:10.0442] main::init (387) Starting Logitech Media Server (v7.9.2, 1539967036, Fri Oct 19 19:15:30 CEST 2018) perl 5.026001 - x86_64-linux-gnu-thread-multi
                      What the hell is that all about?

                      Comment

                      • Mr. Floppy
                        Senior Member
                        • Apr 2009
                        • 269

                        #12
                        Hi,

                        this topic is old but for me new. I try to install LMS on a docker image which have the IP 172.17.0.2 (on synology). I add the port 9000 to th edocker container. If I try to configure the LMS over the GUI from my normal network 192.168.1.0/24 I get an 403 Forbidden: settings/server/wizard.html

                        LMS logfile said:
                        Slim::Web::HTTP::generateHTTPResponse (991) Access to settings pages is restricted to the local network or localhost: 172.17.0.1 -> 172.17.0.2 (settings/server/wizard.html)

                        How can I disable that new "feature"?

                        Edit: I understand that this is not given if you protect the lms. But a fresh installed system starts with a wizard and you have no chance to enable security. And in additional, I don't like a security which is not needed if you stay inside your network. Please add a fix for docker.
                        Last edited by Mr. Floppy; 2019-07-01, 20:55.
                        Logitech Media Server Version: 8.0.0-1584980764 on Synology
                        1x Touch - 2x Boom - 1x Radio + Raspberry PI (piCorePlayer) with TEAC UD-503
                        Yamaha RX-A1080 + ANAVIEW AMS1000 + B&W 803 Diamond + Elac FS247

                        Comment

                        • mherger
                          Babelfish's Best Boy
                          • Apr 2005
                          • 24639

                          #13
                          Access to settings pages is now restricted?

                          > this topic is old but for me new. I try to install LMS on a docker image
                          > which have the IP 172.17.0.2 (on synology).


                          Just use the Synology package and get rid of the hassle with Docker...

                          --

                          Michael
                          Michael

                          "It doesn't work - what shall I do?" - "Please check your server.log and/or scanner.log file!"
                          (LMS: Settings/Information)

                          Comment

                          • Mr. Floppy
                            Senior Member
                            • Apr 2009
                            • 269

                            #14
                            Yes that's easier. But their is one plug in that doesn't work which I need. Bookmark history is a great plug in for audio books. But that doesn't work in my install and I don't get any support. Wrote two times in the forum. It always starts the album from the beginning and not from bookmark.
                            I try to use that bookmark on a Ubuntu installation and here it's working. So my plan was to use it under docker . But as you see here, it have some different problems.

                            I don't like the new security Funktion if you cannot disable it.

                            Gesendet von meinem SM-G930F mit Tapatalk
                            Logitech Media Server Version: 8.0.0-1584980764 on Synology
                            1x Touch - 2x Boom - 1x Radio + Raspberry PI (piCorePlayer) with TEAC UD-503
                            Yamaha RX-A1080 + ANAVIEW AMS1000 + B&W 803 Diamond + Elac FS247

                            Comment

                            • edwin2006
                              Senior Member
                              • May 2017
                              • 863

                              #15
                              Is it possible (and how) to add a second subnet to the allowed host so it works when connected via vpn?
                              SqueezeBoxes: 1x Transporter (Living room) 1x SB2 (shed), 1x Radio (Kitchen), 1x Boom (Dining room), 1x piCorePlayer (jacuzzi), 1x piCorePlayer (Garden) 1x OSMC + Squeezelite (Movie room), 1x Touch (Study 2), few spare unit's (SB2, SB3, Boom, Touch)
                              Server: LMS on Pi3B+ 8.1.2 on PcP 7.0.1
                              Network: Draytek, Netgear Smart Switch 24p, Ubiquiti PoE, 3x Ubiquity

                              Comment

                              Working...