PDA

View Full Version : Radio sometimes not working and USB not connected



steff
2017-12-24, 07:53
Hello

there are just a couple of things still not working on my pCP running on Rpi3 with LMS on the same hardware

1) sometimes the radio is not available
Rebooting the pCP sometimes solve the problem, but not always. It is random
I read this should be because of lack of Internet, even if the pCP is perfectly connected to the WiFi at boot (if not, it does not start al all).

Any idea how to fix?

2) USB unconnected.
My DAC had several inputs: USB, optical, coax, line-in (to be used for analog headphones amplifier) etc
IF I have the pCP \ Rpi3 working and plaing with USB and then I switch to other inputs, then the pCP stops playing. OK
Switching back the DAC to UBS, results in the pCP still not playing and while the DAC displays USB UNCONNECTED.
To solve I have to reboot the pCP being sure the DAC us set to USB.

Obviously there is a way out (reboot) but it is annoying.

Suggestions?

Man in a van
2017-12-24, 08:32
Hello

there are just a couple of things still not working on my pCP running on Rpi3 with LMS on the same hardware

1) sometimes the radio is not available
Rebooting the pCP sometimes solve the problem, but not always. It is random
I read this should be because of lack of Internet, even if the pCP is perfectly connected to the WiFi at boot (if not, it does not start al all).

Any idea how to fix?

2) USB unconnected.
My DAC had several inputs: USB, optical, coax, line-in (to be used for analog headphones amplifier) etc
IF I have the pCP \ Rpi3 working and plaing with USB and then I switch to other inputs, then the pCP stops playing. OK
Switching back the DAC to UBS, results in the pCP still not playing and while the DAC displays USB UNCONNECTED.
To solve I have to reboot the pCP being sure the DAC us set to USB.

Obviously there is a way out (reboot) but it is annoying.

Suggestions?

Have connected the pi with ethernet to the router?

Is the dac powered via the usb?

I'm thinking "network" and "power Supply" here :confused:

ronnie

steff
2017-12-24, 08:48
Have connected the pi with ethernet to the router?

Is the dac powered via the usb?

I'm thinking "network" and "power Supply" here :confused:

ronnie

Pi3 is conntected to WiFi (but same problem with wired Eth)
The DAC is self powered with its power supplier

epoch1970
2017-12-24, 09:43
Does restart work instead of rebooting?
- Radio issue: restart LMS
- DAC issue: restart squeezelite

(Something looks wrong with the router/network/cable if DHCP doesn't work over Ethernet.)

Man in a van
2017-12-24, 09:57
If you have the same problem with either wireless or cable, I'm still thinking "network".

Random thoughts are:

Which version of pCP? do you use the standard 3.22 and not the fancy audio version.?

Which power supply are you using for the pi? it needs at least 2.5 amps and just a smidge over 5volts (the official, recommended one is good).

Although I have never experienced any problems with the inbuilt pi wifi myself, some people recommend a cable connection if running the LMS on the pi or the use of a usb wifi dongle, but then you are running the dac and the lan on the same bus, which might be contributing to your woes.

On the Squeezelite page is it set to use the LMS on the pi?

Switching inputs on the dac should leave the pCP playing through the usb, it should not arbitrarily break the connection.

I have never bothered with static IP addresses, but I know that some people advocate their use.

Have you tried the old switch it all of, reset the router, plug it back in, one by one routine.

ronnie

steff
2017-12-24, 10:24
standard 3.22, not the audio one.
the power supplier is OK, I am SURE, measured with a 600$ sampling multimeter while powering the Pi3.
With the old one, I got the lighting bolt sometimes, now no more...

It happens both with wired ehternet and the built in WiFi. Now I am running a WiFi USB dongle to get more bandwidht (I can play 384 kHz FLAC over the WiFi with no problems)

Yes, set to use LMS on Rpi

For the USB: I confirm that if I switch the DAC input, then pCP stops playing and never resumes until reboot. Looks like the very same behaviour unplogging a USB dongle DAC

steff
2017-12-24, 10:26
Does restart work instead of rebooting?
- Radio issue: restart LMS
- DAC issue: restart squeezelite

(Something looks wrong with the router/network/cable if DHCP doesn't work over Ethernet.)

Of course in this way it WORKS, but I need to have a computer up and running to open the pCP web page!!! boring!

How to restart LMS and Squeezelite from the pCP touch screen?
I only see the complete reboot option.
Maybe a plugin?
Sorry

Man in a van
2017-12-24, 10:29
Of course in this way it WORKS, but I need to have a computer up and running to open the pCP web page!!! boring!

How to restart LMS and Squeezelite from the pCP touch screen?
I only see the complete reboot option.
Maybe a plugin?
Sorry

pCP Main page >LMS tab > scroll down the blocks on the left hand side > Restart LMS

I think the restart Squeezelite is in the Main Page

epoch1970
2017-12-24, 12:49
Of course in this way it WORKS, but I need to have a computer up and running to open the pCP web page!!!

Then I think you can workaround the network issue with a custom command that sleeps 30 secs (or so) and restarts LMS. Custom command are executed last at boot. I don't use LMS on pCP and I am far from my players so I can't be more precise on the contents on that script.

And for the USB issue, I surmise it does *not* happen if SL has released the audio device before you switch it to another mode. I would try to play, power off or stop the player, change mode on you USB device, and back. If music restart without having to restart SL, then you could:
- Always stop of power off the player before switching mode. The LMS plugin PowerSaver will power off an idle pCP player after 15 mins if you prefer.
- Experiment with option -C which releases the audio device when simply idle for a while.

HTH

steff
2017-12-24, 14:21
pCP Main page >LMS tab > scroll down the blocks on the left hand side > Restart LMS

I think the restart Squeezelite is in the Main Page

sorry?
In the pCP main page there are: My Music, Extras, My App, Gallery, favourites, settings and quit.
No LMS tab.

I would be happy to have a button to restart the LMS and the SqueezeLite.... it is not very intuitive, but it solves.
I can see just the option to restart Jivelite and reboot completely pCP

Thanks

Man in a van
2017-12-25, 03:18
Ah you have me at a disadvantage, I did not read the post properly, I was thinking this,

24229

I did not realise your were referring to a touch screen on the pi.

If you have an Android device you can use this app

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.pd7l.sshbutton&hl=en_GB

for the restart of LMS.
sudo service logitechmediaserver restart

I'm sure there must be similar Apps in the IOS world

Which dac are you using?

DJanGo
2017-12-25, 04:00
I'm thinking "network" and "power Supply" here :confused:

The DAC is self powered with its power supplier

How to restart LMS and Squeezelite from the pCP touch screen?

hmmm

1 powersupply for the rpi
1 powersupply for the dac
1 powersupply for the touchscreen?

btw: are you sure your using the external wlan dongle not the onboard one?

steff
2017-12-25, 13:49
hmmm

1 powersupply for the rpi
1 powersupply for the dac
1 powersupply for the touchscreen?

btw: are you sure your using the external wlan dongle not the onboard one?

no.
1x powersupply for the Rpi3 (it powers the LCD as well, it is the original LCD)
The DAC is self powered.... it ha its own power supplier... it is buit in into che DAC chassis, 1 power supply for each channel.

Of course the embedded WiFI is dsabled and I use the Edimax external one. With the internal WiFi, no way to stream 384 kHz 24 bit PCM over the network.

steff
2017-12-25, 13:52
Ah you have me at a disadvantage, I did not read the post properly, I was thinking this,


https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.pd7l.sshbutton&hl=en_GB

for the restart of LMS.
sudo service logitechmediaserver restart

Which dac are you using?

I see, I know this tool... but it is annoying to search for other tools.

How to restart from the pCP itself without having other HW?

The DAC is a Teac 503: if the DAC does not receive signals from USB, after some time it goes to standby and the pCP stopd playing.... must reboot it.

Stupid problem, but very very frustrating.

steff
2017-12-25, 16:14
. The LMS plugin PowerSaver will power off an idle pCP player after 15 mins if you prefer.
- Experiment with option -C which releases the audio device when simply idle for a while.

HTH

no way, sorry.
it does not work.

I really can not understand. Sorry.

If I switch on the pCP before the DAC, then there is NO way to get the pCP play: with DAC powered off, SqueezeLite does not start.
I need to switch the DAC, be sure it has completed the boot, then I can boot the pCP.

If the pCP and the DAC loose the USB connection (DAC in standby or switch input on the DAC then back to USB) then there is NO way to resume until I reboot the pCP.
Even if the DAC is set to USB and says USB READY, then it does not help to restart SL, because after restarting the SL then the DAC displays USB UNCONNECTED

Man in a van
2017-12-26, 06:03
Hi Steff

This morning I set up my North Star Essensio dac running USB from a rpi2b and an optical SPDIF from a Satellite TV/Radio receiver.

Squeezelite set to start automatically.

Switching between either input without any playback problems.

Switched the dac off completely, the pi off completely.

Switched the pi back on, Squeezelite running.

Switched the dac on, USB connection lit up, pressed play on the LMS web GUI, got music.

So I think from this experiment I draw the conclusion that the pCP/dac interface is solid.

I would suggest your problem lies in

a) the WiFi connection (if the Ethernet is the same, this can be disregarded).

b) the power supply to the pi is insufficient (I think DJanGo is suggesting you need to power the screen separately from the pi).

c) the USB connection on the dac is a bit flaky on Linux (test the dac on Windows or Mac OS).

The North Star requires to draw power from the pi to function (it's just a handshake; if I isolate the USB power line, then Squeezelite does not start).

I can't think of anything else, sorry.:(

Ronnie

steff
2017-12-26, 16:07
Hi Steff

This morning I set up my North Star Essensio dac running USB from a rpi2b and an optical SPDIF from a Satellite TV/Radio receiver.

Squeezelite set to start automatically.

Switching between either input without any playback problems.

Switched the dac off completely, the pi off completely.

Switched the pi back on, Squeezelite running.

Switched the dac on, USB connection lit up, pressed play on the LMS web GUI, got music.

So I think from this experiment I draw the conclusion that the pCP/dac interface is solid.

I would suggest your problem lies in

a) the WiFi connection (if the Ethernet is the same, this can be disregarded).

b) the power supply to the pi is insufficient (I think DJanGo is suggesting you need to power the screen separately from the pi).

c) the USB connection on the dac is a bit flaky on Linux (test the dac on Windows or Mac OS).

The North Star requires to draw power from the pi to function (it's just a handshake; if I isolate the USB power line, then Squeezelite does not start).

I can't think of anything else, sorry.:(

Ronnie

I can say that not alla the DACs are the vary same.
My Teac seems to disconnect the USB whenever it goes into standby or the input is switched to another.

Question: what should happen if a USB DAC is unplugged while playing?
I have two USB DAC and in both cases, if I unplug the DAC, the pCP of course stops, but if I plug again the DAC, then the pCP will never restart until I reboot the pCP completely. Sometimes it is enough to restart just SqueezeLite, but not always... random behaviour.

Of curse with Windows... no problems.

It is not a matter of Power... believe me... I have a FLuke digital sampling multimeter and my 2.5 A power supply never drops voltage below 5 V even during boot process.
I connected the Rpi3 and the LCD touch to two different power supplier and the problems is still there.
Embedded WiFi, external 5 Ghz Edimax or wired Ethernet... no changes.

Thanks for your feedback

steff
2017-12-26, 16:15
For everyone

so at the end of the story seems that my DAC disconnect the USB whenever the input is switched to another source or it goes into standby.
It is annoying, but knowing the problem it can be avoided.

The problems of radios not avaialble is a nightmare and there is NO way to solve it or avoid it.
Let me say that restarting the LMS always solve, but,.... there is the need to use a PC or a smartphone.
On the pCP LCD there is no way to restart the LMS.

The suggestion I got is to write a command to automatically restart the LMS after a while once booted.

Is there someome that can help me to do this?

When the radios are available, if I save a station to my favourites, then after a reboot, even if radios are no avaialble, I can play the saved radio

where is the control that prevent the radio button to be displayed ?