PDA

View Full Version : Roon - what the h*** is it doing?



Zombie
2017-11-24, 00:24
Maybe the wrong forum, but don't expect to get any answer from their own and there are lots of knowledgeable people here, so... :cool:
Installed the trial version of Roon on my QNAP TS-251+ with a 2 GHz Intel quad core processor and 2 GB RAM.
Now the resource check for the NAS shows 98-100 % processor usage and 75 % memory usage.
With Tidal and LMS running the same figures are 3-5 % and maybe 10 % memory usage.
So why does it use so much resources? How can I use the settings to lower this resource-hungry beast?
(No, I don't want a Vortex box or a Raspberry Pi)

drmatt
2017-11-24, 00:48
I would imagine it's building indexes or downloading bios and/or photography and will stop when it's finished.


Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk

mherger
2017-11-24, 00:57
> Now the resource check for the NAS shows 98-100 % processor usage and 75
> % memory usage.
> With Tidal and LMS running the same figures are 3-5 % and maybe 10 %
> memory usage.
> So why does it use so much resources? How can I use the settings to
> lower this resource-hungry beast?

Some initial scanning/analyzing of your music collection going on?

--

Michael

Zombie
2017-11-24, 00:58
Yeah, seemed so. Used the highest speed for that.
Lowered to Throttled and processor use down to 12-16 %.
Thanks for pointing it out.
Maybe it's a keeper, then, but dunno if the Tidal searches are as good as on Tidal itself.

Zombie
2017-11-24, 01:47
Btw, what is the purpose of Use FLAC?
Is it to compress before sending the stream out to the player and let the player decode?

pippin
2017-11-24, 03:53
Probably. Thatís what the Squeezeboxes do by default, too. Minimizes overall resource use and increases streaming reliability, at least over raw PCM.