PDA

View Full Version : Dead WiFi on SB Radio



JoeMuc2009
2017-11-04, 07:51
Hi all,

does anybody know this? My Squeezebox Radio (bought on eBay as fully defective) refuses to do anything WiFi-related. It registers with Ethernet, no problem, it plays well, something appears to be wrong about WiFi though. Attempted factory and Xilinx resets, both to no avail.
My observations so far:



switching to WiFi will immediately abort the scan for available networks (if it happens at all), and show that no networks could be found, although every WiFi other device is giving me 3 to 5 networks, two of which are my own. One access point is sitting less than one meter from the SBR
WiFi status info shows everything unset, and the WiFi symbol in the bottom right corner stays red all the time
entering valid WiFi information for the desired network ends in the SBR not being able to connect to it (takes ~ 30 seconds to find that out)


If the WiFi chip in the Radio were defective, I would assume that the scan would still take a while to return without success, or the entire device crashing during hardware access to the WiFi chip. It seems more as if there is a driver issue and the SBR does not even attempt to make use of the WiFi hardware at all. There are no error codes being shown or anything else happening that points out anything unusual. I'm clueless.

Regards and thank you all in advance! :)
Joe

drmatt
2017-11-04, 07:56
Seems likely the WiFi chip is dead, so when it attempts to initiate a scan it returns right away as there is no WiFi driver loaded. (I.e. no wlan0 interface). The rest of the UI is presumably not smart enough to check for presence of the device until it attempts to configure it.

I don't know if the Radio uses a daughtercard for WiFi like the Boom did but if you open it up you may find something relevant.

Otherwise, I'm sure you got it cheap enough to use wired without feeling hard done by..


Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk

JoeMuc2009
2017-11-04, 09:09
@drmatt: thank you for the quick reply. Unfortunately the Radio has WiFi embedded in a chip on the mainboard. If it failed it's probably beyond repair.
Something is clearly wrong with that puppy. I used Putty to SSH into it (connected to Ethernet of course) and there are no network related problems detected in the OS either:

# dmesg
[ 0.000000] Linux version 2.6.26.8-rt16 (parabuild@ec2mbubld01.idc.logitech.com) (gcc version 4.4.1 (Sourcery G++ Lite 2010q1-202) ) #1 PREEMPT RT Fri Feb 14 09:02:51 PST 2014
[ 0.000000] CPU: ARM926EJ-S [41069264] revision 4 (ARMv5TEJ), cr=00053177
[ 0.000000] Machine: Logitech MX25 Baby Board
[ 0.000000] Memory policy: ECC disabled, Data cache writeback
[ 0.000000] On node 0 totalpages: 16384
[ 0.000000] DMA zone: 48 pages used for memmap
[ 0.000000] DMA zone: 0 pages reserved
[ 0.000000] DMA zone: 6096 pages, LIFO batch:0
[ 0.000000] Normal zone: 80 pages used for memmap
[ 0.000000] Normal zone: 10160 pages, LIFO batch:1
[ 0.000000] Movable zone: 0 pages used for memmap
[ 0.000000] CPU0: D VIVT write-back cache
[ 0.000000] CPU0: I cache: 16384 bytes, associativity 4, 32 byte lines, 128 sets
[ 0.000000] CPU0: D cache: 16384 bytes, associativity 4, 32 byte lines, 128 sets
[ 0.000000] Real-Time Preemption Support (C) 2004-2007 Ingo Molnar
[ 0.000000] Built 1 zonelists in Zone order, mobility grouping on. Total pages: 16256
[ 0.000000] Kernel command line: console=ttymxc1,115200 noinitrd init=/linuxrc ubi.mtd=1 root=/dev/mtdblock:cramfs
[ 0.000000] Preemptible RCU implementation.
[ 0.000000] MXC IRQ initialized
[ 0.000000] PID hash table entries: 256 (order: 8, 1024 bytes)
[ 0.000000] MXC GPT timer initialized, rate = 12000000
[ 0.000000] WARNING: Clock divider has been truncated, clock error 333 [ps] per 83 [ns]
[ 0.000000] Console: colour dummy device 80x30
[ 0.000000] Dentry cache hash table entries: 8192 (order: 3, 32768 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Inode-cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)
[ 0.000000] Memory: 64MB = 64MB total
[ 0.000000] Memory: 61992KB available (2564K code, 248K data, 120K init)

[...snip...]

[ 0.799815] brd: module loaded
[ 0.823273] loop: module loaded
[ 0.826505] FEC ENET Version 0.2
[ 0.831790] fec: PHY @ 0x1, ID 0x001cc815 -- RTL8201E
[ 0.838814] eth0: ethernet 00:04:20:2b:bf:ca
[ 0.844841] MXC MTD nand Driver 2.5
[ 0.849739] NAND device: Manufacturer ID: 0xec, Chip ID: 0xf1 (Samsung NAND 128MiB 3,3V 8-bit)
[ 0.859009] Bad block table found at page 65472, version 0x01
[ 0.859460] Bad block table found at page 65408, version 0x01
[ 0.859715] nand_read_bbt: Bad block at 0x01ba0000
[ 0.860242] Searching for RedBoot partition table in NAND 128MiB 3,3V 8-bit at offset 0x7f60000
[ 0.881056] No RedBoot partition table detected in NAND 128MiB 3,3V 8-bit
[ 0.888143] Creating 2 MTD partitions on "NAND 128MiB 3,3V 8-bit":
[ 0.894423] 0x00000000-0x00080000 : "redboot"
[ 0.903950] 0x00080000-0x07f40000 : "ubi"

[...snip...]

[ 2.779340] NET: Registered protocol family 17
[ 2.795384] msp430 1-0010: setting system clock to 1970-01-01 00:00:20 UTC (20)
[ 2.809627] VFS: Mounted root (cramfs filesystem) readonly.
[ 2.816103] Freeing init memory: 120K
[ 3.939925] UBIFS: recovery needed
[ 4.009624] UBIFS: recovery completed
[ 4.013360] UBIFS: mounted UBI device 0, volume 2, name "ubifs"
[ 4.019329] UBIFS: file system size: 9418752 bytes (9198 KiB, 8 MiB, 73 LEBs)
[ 4.026691] UBIFS: journal size: 1032193 bytes (1008 KiB, 0 MiB, 6 LEBs)
[ 4.033967] UBIFS: media format: w4/r0 (latest is w4/r0)
[ 4.039838] UBIFS: default compressor: lzo
[ 4.043969] UBIFS: reserved for root: 444870 bytes (434 KiB)
[ 17.534662] Requesting msp430 firmware msp430-0007.txt(version 0.1)
[ 17.540992] firmware: requesting msp430-0007.txt
[ 17.731110] msp430: firmware ok (1598)
[ 20.802116] AR6000 Reg Code = 0x40000060
[ 581.298697] eth0: enable RMII gasket
[ 581.314570] eth0: config: auto-negotiation on, 100FDX, 100HDX, 10FDX, 10HDX.
[ 581.331290] eth0: status: link down.
[ 583.331227] eth0: status: link up, 100MBit Full Duplex, auto-negotiation complete.
[ 583.338980] eth0: enable RMII gasket


At the end, the Ethernet interface eth0 is up and working. WiFi registers as eth1 by the way, not wlan0, which I find a bit surprising:

# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:20:2B:BF:CA
inet addr:192.168.74.47 Bcast:192.168.74.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3623 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2183 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:734990 (717.7 KiB) TX bytes:877651 (857.0 KiB)
Base address:0x8000

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:20:2B:BF:CA
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:15 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:4553 (4.4 KiB) TX bytes:1424 (1.3 KiB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


The kernel modules list has only one item which looks like WiFi to me by its name (ar=Atheros):


# lsmod
Module Size Used by Not tainted
ar6000 142684 0


I can also force a scan in the shell but it returns after about 3 seconds with no networks found:


# iwlist eth1 scan
eth1 Scan completed :


/var/log/messages gets a new line added every 5 seconds while the network scan is done on the device (via menu):


Nov 4 17:00:03 squeezeplay: INFO net.socket - Networking.lua:691 scan found 0 wireless networks
Nov 4 17:00:08 squeezeplay: INFO net.socket - Networking.lua:691 scan found 0 wireless networks
Nov 4 17:00:13 squeezeplay: INFO net.socket - Networking.lua:691 scan found 0 wireless networks
Nov 4 17:00:18 squeezeplay: INFO net.socket - Networking.lua:691 scan found 0 wireless networks


Doing iwlist on a Squeezebox Controller reveals this (as there is no LAN implemented on the Controller, WiFi is eth0 there):


# iwlist eth0 scan
eth0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 16:18: 06:29:70:CA
ESSID:"ButtHome4Guests"
Mode:Managed
Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
Quality:0/100 Signal level=-41 dBm Noise level=-96 dBm
Encryption key: on
Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
Group Cipher : CCMP
Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
Cell 02 - Address: E2:28:6D:70:66:ED
[...snip...]
Cell 03 - Address: 16:18: 06:29:64:BE
[...snip...]
Cell 04 - Address: 06:18: 06:29:70:CA
[...snip...]
Cell 05 - Address: E0:28:6D:70:66:ED
[...snip...]
Cell 06 - Address: 06:18: 06:29:64:BE
ESSID:"ButtHome4" [6]
Mode:Managed
Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
Quality:0/100 Signal level=-83 dBm Noise level=-96 dBm
Encryption key: on
Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
Group Cipher : CCMP
Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK


That's how it should look. I don't know much about how to diagnose hardware issues on Linux but eventually it would not help much if the hardware is actually broken. I cannot find any visible damage there anyway. Firmware reflash also did not help.

drmatt
2017-11-04, 11:56
Does look like the chip is still detected but is obviously not actually doing anything. Given that the firmware is a flash ROM and therefore theoretically cannot be corrupted there's likely nothing to can do here.

(Linux has changed how it name Ethernet devices almost yearly since 2005 so I'm not that surprised that the WiFi is eth0/eth1. It makes just as much sense as any other naming scheme..)


Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk

quadronado
2017-11-05, 03:09
Hi all,

does anybody know this? My Squeezebox Radio (bought on eBay as fully defective) refuses to do anything WiFi-related.

Hi,
I have the same problem with my Radios every now and then. WiFi stops working and the Radio doesn't see any WiFi-Network (WiFi-Sign turns red). When I turn the Radio off and wait a few hours (or sometimes days!), WiFi is suddenly working again but I have to prompt the WiFi-passphrase again. Unfortunately I don't know why the WiFi stops working from time to time.

JoeMuc2009
2017-11-08, 11:13
Well, it stays permanently inaccessible over the air. Wired connection and everything else is working fine though. Hope somebody has a use for the Radio even if it is not portable.
I would really love to know what has gone wrong there.

iPhone
2017-11-14, 09:21
Well, it stays permanently inaccessible over the air. Wired connection and everything else is working fine though. Hope somebody has a use for the Radio even if it is not portable.
I would really love to know what has gone wrong there.

.
.
I have had one Baby that over the years every once in a while the WiFi goes Red Icon and when I search for LMS Server or Network it obviously says it can't find them. The following flowchart has always cleared the issue and gotten me back on the network via WiFi (and I can't explain why this would work or why it clears whatever problem the WiFi has run into).

Home Screen > Settings > Advanced > Diagnostics > Wireless Info > (should say no IP Address) Back Arrow > Network Health >
Check Network > (should again say no IP Address) > Repair Network > (should again say no IP Address)

Now look down and see if your WiFi Icon has turned White or is still Red:
If White do a Check Network, when that passes, back out and find your Music or LMS Server
If Red do a Repair Network, the WiFi Icon should be White now if this routine cleared the issue, do a Check Network, when that passes, back out and find your Music or LMS Server

Again have no idea why this has cleared this issue the few times it has happened. Note: running LMS 7.9.1 and firmware on Baby is 7.7.3 r16676

JoeMuc2009
2017-11-14, 10:17
.
.
I have had one Baby that over the years every once in a while the WiFi goes Red Icon and when I search for LMS Server or Network it obviously says it can't find them. The following flowchart has always cleared the issue and gotten me back on the network via WiFi (and I can't explain why this would work or why it clears whatever problem the WiFi has run into).

Home Screen > Settings > Advanced > Diagnostics > Wireless Info > (should say no IP Address) Back Arrow > Network Health >
Check Network > (should again say no IP Address) > Repair Network > (should again say no IP Address)

Now look down and see if your WiFi Icon has turned White or is still Red:
If White do a Check Network, when that passes, back out and find your Music or LMS Server
If Red do a Repair Network, the WiFi Icon should be White now if this routine cleared the issue, do a Check Network, when that passes, back out and find your Music or LMS Server

Again have no idea why this has cleared this issue the few times it has happened. Note: running LMS 7.9.1 and firmware on Baby is 7.7.3 r16676

Sorry, didn't help. The 'Check Network' step just complains that no Ethernet connection is available. Basically I can't seem to get the device out of wired mode because I cannot successfully connect any WiFi network. So whenever I try, it fails, and the Radio stays in demand of a wired connection.
After a reset to factory defaults, the process to set up the Radio cannot be completed far enough to get to the main menu. I have to either choose wired connection (and also attach a wire of course), or try to scan for WiFi connections which is the exact thing that fails with this device. So I cannot get out of that phase of the setup. Once I choose Ethernet, all the repair mechanisms care about is also the Ethernet connection apparently.
As WiFi-to-Ethernet gateways are below 10 USD nowadays, that might be a way out. The downside is that another power supply is needed then. Portability is no longer a thing with this baby.

iPhone
2017-11-14, 15:37
.
.
I take it that after it is all setup on Ethernet and working, that you have removed the Ethernet cable and tried to go back to Diagnostics? If yes, was it still stuck on Ethernet repairs? If No, try that and let us know.

JoeMuc2009
2017-11-15, 01:14
Okay, here's what I tried step by step:



after factory reset, in the setup dialog sequence, chose Ethernet
confirmed that the registration of the device is correctly assigned to me personally (by e-mail address via mysqueezebox.com validation)
Radio connected and working
removed the Ethernet wire and waited for the connection icon to become red
Settings->Advanced->Networking->Diagnostics->Network Health->Check Network
immediate red pop-up at the top of the screen: Ethernet - no link
chose "Repair Network" in the same menu
progress screen showing "Bringing network down", followed by "Bringing network up" which takes ~20 seconds
back in the menu, again showing the red box stating "Ethernet - no link"


I am pretty sure that WiFi was not touched at all in the course of this process. You see, if Ethernet was the latest connection type, all repair / diagnose options seem to focus on that connection type as well. Tests do not appear to include both connection types. If I wanted to check the health of my WiFi connection, I would have to connect to WiFi at least once successfully, and that's where it fails right from the start.
Firmware reinstallation did not help either. As there is no "software" way out of this, it more and more clearly indicates a hardware fault to me.

drmatt
2017-11-15, 02:01
I think that's pretty clear from the start.


Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk

iPhone
2017-11-15, 09:37
.
.
It was worth an attempt to see what it would show, and now we actually know for a fact how it behaves.

And after thinking about it, since my Baby that goes Red No WiFi Network occasionally is my Baby with a battery, I am thinking that it has NEVER been connected via Ethernet as long as I have owned it. One nice thing about the early Squeezeboxes, they had WiFi cards and when WiFi went out one could just change out the card.