PDA

View Full Version : SBR support from Logitech dead?



buffettck
2017-10-11, 09:04
My SBR has quit working for a couple of days, now. It won't connect at all and the icon is red, which indicates the Logitech server is down. I've actually discussed this before with Logitech over the phone. And, over time, radio stations quit playing and give a "connection reset by remote host" error. That's not a problem on my end and I updated to the UE firmware a long time ago since Logitech couldn't be bothered to provide an update for iHeart radio support when so many stations switched to that format.

I wonder if Logitech is just dumping server support for good since these units were discontinued years ago. We all should have known this was coming one day. Now, I need another internet radio. Any recommendations? Is the one by Gracie that looks just like the SBR with the volume knob on top any good?

drmatt
2017-10-11, 09:29
Just run LMS and flash it back to Squeezebox firmware. Works fine.


Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk

mherger
2017-10-11, 09:55
> My SBR has quit working for a couple of days, now. It won't connect at
> all and the icon is red, which indicates the Logitech server is down.

We do indeed have an issue on uesmartradio.com right now. I'll look into
it asap.

--

Michael

buffettck
2017-10-11, 17:45
Just run LMS and flash it back to Squeezebox firmware. Works fine.


Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk


Ok, great, so won't that cause my iHeart radio stations to stop working, which is why I updated to UE in the first place?


I don't see a way to even do that when I open LMS.

toby10
2017-10-12, 00:58
Ok, great, so won't that cause my iHeart radio stations to stop working, which is why I updated to UE in the first place?


I don't see a way to even do that when I open LMS.

Correct. SB does not support the iHeartRadio app. Stations disappearing from iHeartRadio (UE) or TuneIn (SB) access have nothing to do with UE or SB. The stations are choosing to limit their stream access, usually to ad supported web access only formats.

buffettck
2017-10-12, 07:41
So, this looks like what will be the death of stand-alone table top internet radios, at least for mainstream stations since iHeart seems to be acquiring so many of them.

pippin
2017-10-12, 10:32
So, this looks like what will be the death of stand-alone table top internet radios, at least for mainstream stations since iHeart seems to be acquiring so many of them.

Internet Radio in general is quickly dying right now because since the royalty rules changed last year pretty much all of them are running at a hefty loss while users are moving away towards YouTube and random access streaming with curated or automated playlists like in Spotify or Apple Music.

buffettck
2017-10-12, 10:45
So, what would be the best solution for someone who just wants to listen to regular radio without any BS like I was able to do before? I live out in the boonies and don't get many stations clearly and that's why I went with internet radio. I mainly listen to it to fall asleep at night and catch up on news in the mornings.

slartibartfast
2017-10-12, 11:05
So, what would be the best solution for someone who just wants to listen to regular radio without any BS like I was able to do before? I live out in the boonies and don't get many stations clearly and that's why I went with internet radio. I mainly listen to it to fall asleep at night and catch up on news in the mornings.You could use the iheartmusic app on your phone and play to a Bluetooth speaker.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

castalla
2017-10-12, 11:09
There are thousands on 'internet' stations - shouldn't be too difficult to find a selection to your taste!

buffettck
2017-10-12, 11:10
You could use the iheartmusic app on your phone and play to a Bluetooth speaker.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

I thought about that then I thought about the need of being tethered to an A/C outlet all the time even more. LOL

Does the app have a sleep timer? How obnoxious are the iHeart commercials above and beyond the regular commercials on a given radio station?

slartibartfast
2017-10-12, 11:17
I thought about that then I thought about the need of being tethered to an A/C outlet all the time even more. LOL

Does the app have a sleep timer? How obnoxious are the iHeart commercials above and beyond the regular commercials on a given radio station?I have no idea. I am in the UK so cannot access it. The BBC radio app has an alarm and a sleep timer so it may have. I assume it is free to download, try it.

Why would you be tethered to an AC outlet?

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

buffettck
2017-10-12, 11:18
There are thousands on 'internet' stations - shouldn't be too difficult to find a selection to your taste!

I want my local stations. The exact ones.

buffettck
2017-10-12, 11:19
Why would you be tethered to an AC outlet?

Um, because having the phone on listening to the radio for hours every day, which I don't currently do, would burn down the battery all that much faster?

slartibartfast
2017-10-12, 11:26
Um, because having the phone on listening to the radio for hours every day, which I don't currently do, would burn down the battery all that much faster?With the screen off it might not be too bad. If you have a tablet leave that plugged in.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

castalla
2017-10-12, 11:27
I want my local stations. The exact ones.

If they don't provide a suitable feed then your complaint should be to those stations ?

Man in a van
2017-10-13, 01:31
Um, because having the phone on listening to the radio for hours every day, which I don't currently do, would burn down the battery all that much faster?


Well, the phone (or tablet) does not have to be on "all day".

You would have to spend a little money, and I have to say, this is an 'Android' solution.

Here in the UK, this is what I can do.

I use either a 1st gen Moto G phone, connecting only to my wi-fi network or a Lenovo yoga tab 3 connected n a similar manner.

These, or more suitable examples are now available cheaply as they are not current sale models.

I bought (as a sale item, for about $20) a Google Audio Chromecast.

The phone or tablet is used to connect to the radio station, the signal is 'cast' to the Audio Chromecast which is connected to the hi-fi, the radio station plays and I switch off the phone or tablet and leave it playing.

To change stations I just switch on the appropriate controller and repeat the exercise.

There is a "Chromecast" bridge plugin for LMS which one can utilise.

The end device for playing the 'cast' radio station can also be any one of the many stand alone radios which are available and support "casting".

Just an idea...:)

Where in the "boonies" are you? just roughly speaking :confused:

Ronnie

egarc
2017-11-09, 10:05
My SBR has quit working for a couple of days, now. It won't connect at all and the icon is red, which indicates the Logitech server is down. I've actually discussed this before with Logitech over the phone. And, over time, radio stations quit playing and give a "connection reset by remote host" error. That's not a problem on my end and I updated to the UE firmware a long time ago since Logitech couldn't be bothered to provide an update for iHeart radio support when so many stations switched to that format.

I wonder if Logitech is just dumping server support for good since these units were discontinued years ago. We all should have known this was coming one day. Now, I need another internet radio. Any recommendations? Is the one by Gracie that looks just like the SBR with the volume knob on top any good?

There isn't a good replacement for Squeezebox unless you're willing to spend a lot of money. I dread the day my squeezebox.com goes dark. :(

buffettck
2017-11-09, 12:49
If they don't provide a suitable feed then your complaint should be to those stations ?

Nope. My new Grace Digital Mondo+ has been playing all of those stations perfectly. The problem wasn't with the stations...it was with Logitech...

buffettck
2017-11-09, 12:51
Where in the "boonies" are you? just roughly speaking :confused:

Ronnie

Let's just say that vast areas of the great American West are quite remote. ;)

buffettck
2017-11-09, 12:54
There isn't a good replacement for Squeezebox unless you're willing to spend a lot of money. I dread the day my squeezebox.com goes dark. :(

The aforementioned Grace Digital Mondo+ has been working great for me and it was well under $200. You don't have to spend "a lot of money" to get a competent Squeezebox replacement. My Squeezebox got so unstable and frustrating that it's waiting for a trip to the desert and I have a round of 12ga 00 buckshot with its name on it.

iPhone
2017-11-13, 10:34
There isn't a good replacement for Squeezebox unless you're willing to spend a lot of money. I dread the day my squeezebox.com goes dark. :(


Sure there is, it's called Raspberry Pi! I just built an SB Touch Clone for $182 that includes an upgraded 7 inch Touch Display plus 30 watts per channel out! If one doesn't need a display, just a 30 Watt per channel streaming device, one only needs to spend $115. If one just needs a streaming device with analog/digital outs, then one is under $85.

LMS has never been as stable and strong as it is now! I haven't had a single issue with any of my servers or any of my devices or services in almost 10 years (with the exception of issues caused by stupid changes made by a streaming service). Over 85 percent of the issues and problems users have are caused by poor setup, poor infrastructure choices (equipment choices, Windows OS, no Ethernet in high WiFi interference environment), not enough Server, or poorly designed network setup. Now Windows Lovers don't get upset, yes Windows work, I am just of the opinion there are better OS choices available for running LMS, Vortexbox for example.

Many things have changed int he last 15 years and yet Squeezebox and LMS has been able to keep up and in my opinion there is no reason to start over on very expensive closed systems. YMMV