PDA

View Full Version : Radio dead after power outage

pputzer
2017-08-01, 08:36
My trusty kitchen radio (actually a UE I got cheap when the line was shut down, but flashed back to the Squeezebox firmware) seems to have died on me. As it happened after a power outage, I assumed it was a dead power supply (in conjunction with a less than functional battery). Unfortunately, neither removing the battery nor buying a new power supply will get the radio to turn on.

I already tried pressing "+" when plugging in the power cord or trying to switch it on for a factory reset (both via the remote and the buttons on the radio body). Is there anything else to try? I do own a multimeter and a soldering iron, but I'm not an electronics expert. Any known "common defects" to look for?

drmatt
2017-08-01, 11:38
Usually the power inlet socket fails, so honestly it sounds stupid but waggle the damn thing around a bit. I'd have hoped they would fix that by the time the last UEs were being sold but I doubt it.

Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk

pputzer
2017-08-02, 02:54
Usually the power inlet socket fails, so honestly it sounds stupid but waggle the damn thing around a bit. I'd have hoped they would fix that by the time the last UEs were being sold but I doubt it.

Any way to fix that (re-solder the connection)?

Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk

pputzer
2017-08-02, 10:16
I've opened up the radio and it's not the power jack after all. The 18 V get through fine, so there has to be a fried component on the board itself. Just looking things over, I don't see anything obviously gone, but that of course does not mean much. It seems I'll be in the market for a new (old) unit.

drmatt
2017-08-02, 11:01
Yes, I have to say, without having actually tested it, my feeling was that it didn't correctly *sense* that power had been connected, it wasn't that the connector was that bad it didn't get any juice through.