PDA

View Full Version : slimserver corrupted?



Jason
2004-12-31, 10:26
There will be a message in the logfile about what caused Slimserver to
abort. Likely you are now missing a needed file, directory, etc or have
improper permissions on one of the above. The log output should tell you
what is going on.

> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of thnmnt
> Sent: Friday, December 31, 2004 9:46 AM
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] slimserver corrupted?
>
> thanks jack,
>
> i tried the following -
>
> -- ps aux | grep slim
>
> i got no sign that slimserver was running.
>
> --service slimserver restart
> shutting down SlimServer [FAILED]
> Starting SlimServer [OK]
>
> netstat -atunp | grep slim
> --returns nothing--
>
> just to make sure i typed service slimserver status which
> returned slimserver.pl is stopped
>
> which i suppose is the problem..why does it say it starts but
> apparently doesn't?
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> >
> > as root:
> >
> > ps aux | grep slim
> >
> > this tells you if it's running for real. If not,
> >
> > service slimserver restart
> >
> > to clear up any leftover lock files. It will say shutdown failed if
> > there wasn't an instance running.
> >
> > Once it's running,
> >
> > netstat -atunp | grep slim
> >
> > will tell you that it's using the right ports, and
> >
> > grep -rin 3483 /etc/shorewall
> >
> > will tell you if you're allowing or denying it through the firewall.
> >
> > --
>
> From: "Jack Coates" <jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org>
> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Friday, December 31, 2004 11:09 AM
> Subject: [slim] slimserver corrupted?
>
>
> > thnmnt wrote:
> > > i admit i was mucking about in a perfectly good mandrake
> 10 system
> > > trying...uh..something..i can't even remember what, when my
> > > squeezebox announced that it had lost connection with the server.
> > > checking the web interface i got "connection refused"
> > >
> > > my graphical services menu in kde shows that slimserver
> is running -
> > > but when i try to stop it (to restart) it says 'shutdown failed'
> > >
> > > from a commandline slimserver status reveals that it is stopped.
> restarting
> > > it i get an ok message. immediately thereafter, i check
> the status
> > > and
> it
> > > says it's stopped.
> > >
> > > i can't find anyway to get enough information to tell me
> what to do
> next-
> > > just that annoying connection refused. - i'm assuming this is
> > > because slimserver isn't running (although it says it
> is). it's not
> > > a firewall,
> or
> > > port thing as it was running about 3 hours ago.any ideas welcome.
> > >
> > > --t
>

Jack Coates
2004-12-31, 10:31
Jason wrote:
> There will be a message in the logfile about what caused Slimserver to
> abort. Likely you are now missing a needed file, directory, etc or have
> improper permissions on one of the above. The log output should tell you
> what is going on.

right. another thing is that the log file isn't as good about timestamps
as it could be, so you might want to mv /tmp/slimserver.log
/tmp/slimserver.log.old before trying to restart.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!

thnmnt
2004-12-31, 11:00
well i scrapped the log file and started a new one. now all i get is the out
of memory error. the machine has 4gigs free disk space and 512 megs of RAM.
hmm..i wonder if it's as good a time as any to wipe it all down and start
over.
----- Original Message -----
From: "Jack Coates" <jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Friday, December 31, 2004 12:31 PM
Subject: [slim] slimserver corrupted?


> Jason wrote:
> > There will be a message in the logfile about what caused Slimserver to
> > abort. Likely you are now missing a needed file, directory, etc or have
> > improper permissions on one of the above. The log output should tell
you
> > what is going on.
>
> right. another thing is that the log file isn't as good about timestamps
> as it could be, so you might want to mv /tmp/slimserver.log
> /tmp/slimserver.log.old before trying to restart.
>
> --
> Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
> Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!
>

Jules Taplin
2004-12-31, 11:24
Try the following:

cat /proc/meminfo, or do a 'free'. How is your memory allocated?

Secondly... do a 'top', and press 'm'. This should bring the biggest
memory hogs to the top. What are they, and what are they consuming.

Bear in mind that under normal circumstances, a Linux machine won't
report out of memory until it's at the very top of it's swap as well, so
it must be pretty darned poorly.


-- Jules

thnmnt wrote:

>well i scrapped the log file and started a new one. now all i get is the out
>of memory error. the machine has 4gigs free disk space and 512 megs of RAM.
>hmm..i wonder if it's as good a time as any to wipe it all down and start
>over.
>----- Original Message -----
>From: "Jack Coates" <jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org>
>To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>Sent: Friday, December 31, 2004 12:31 PM
>Subject: [slim] slimserver corrupted?
>
>
>
>
>>Jason wrote:
>>
>>
>>>There will be a message in the logfile about what caused Slimserver to
>>>abort. Likely you are now missing a needed file, directory, etc or have
>>>improper permissions on one of the above. The log output should tell
>>>
>>>
>you
>
>
>>>what is going on.
>>>
>>>
>>right. another thing is that the log file isn't as good about timestamps
>>as it could be, so you might want to mv /tmp/slimserver.log
>>/tmp/slimserver.log.old before trying to restart.
>>
>>--
>>Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
>>Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!
>>