PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Drives on WIndows XP



Eric Goebelbecker
2004-12-30, 14:22
Hi,

I'm running SlimServer 5.4.1 on Windows XP Pro SP2. I would like to be
able to store music
on more than one physical drive, but cannot get the server to scan the
second one.

I browsed the list archives and saw at least oe person being told to
add a shortcut to the second drive on the first. Ive tried this to no
avail.

Has anyone gotten this to work?


--
----------------------------------
Eric Goebelbecker
eric (AT) ominor (DOT) net

Eric Goebelbecker
2004-12-30, 14:51
I have 2 separate fixed disks, each with about 120GB of FLACs.
I will probably be adding more. They are/will bel on the same system.

Creating a spanned volume is not really an option.

Is there a specific reason why we cannot specify multiple music folders?


On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 13:30:13 -0800 (PST), Dondi Fusco <dondi_ (AT) yahoo (DOT) com> wrote:
> I am not sure how you are wanting to use multiple
> drives.... but... you can add the first drive to the
> music folder, save it as a playlist (something like
> "ALL" and leave it as the current playlist) and then
> switch your music folder to the second drive, and ADD
> TO PLAYLIST, and your current playlist should have all
> the music; then resave the playlist as ALL.
>
> Once you switch the MUSIC FOLDER, you lose search
> capabilities on the old MUSIC FOLDER. Only the current
> MUSIC FOLDER is searchable etc.
>
> Alternatively, depending on where your 'multiple
> drives' are located, you can create a spanned volume
> with WinXP if these drives are located on a single
> machine, then you could have a single location for
> your Music Folder
>
> -- Dondi
>
> __________________________________
> Do you Yahoo!?
> Send a seasonal email greeting and help others. Do good.
> http://celebrity.mail.yahoo.com
>

Jack Coates
2004-12-30, 14:55
Eric Goebelbecker wrote:
> I have 2 separate fixed disks, each with about 120GB of FLACs.
> I will probably be adding more. They are/will bel on the same system.
>
> Creating a spanned volume is not really an option.
>
> Is there a specific reason why we cannot specify multiple music folders?
>

because putting shortcuts into a master folder works fine. I expect the
OP in this thread has permissions screwed up.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!

Eric Goebelbecker
2004-12-30, 15:11
Hmmmm.

I moved the Master Folder to a location on C:\ (Which has no music)
and placed shortcuts to E:\ and F:\ (which have all of the music so
far) and reconfigured SlimServer. It now sees all of the music. I
doubt it's perms since the only user account is mine, and I am an
Administrator. (This system will be a dedicated media PC once I am
done.)

Do you know where the log messages are located? I see the msg() methd
in the coide and if I could find where the messages go, I could
probably figure this out.




On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 13:55:46 -0800, Jack Coates <jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org> wrote:
> Eric Goebelbecker wrote:
> > I have 2 separate fixed disks, each with about 120GB of FLACs.
> > I will probably be adding more. They are/will bel on the same system.
> >
> > Creating a spanned volume is not really an option.
> >
> > Is there a specific reason why we cannot specify multiple music folders?
> >
>
> because putting shortcuts into a master folder works fine. I expect the
> OP in this thread has permissions screwed up.
>
> --
> Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
> Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!
>

Eric Goebelbecker
2004-12-30, 15:11
Hmmmm.

I moved the Master Folder to a location on C:\ (Which has no music)
and placed shortcuts to E:\ and F:\ (which have all of the music so
far) and reconfigured SlimServer. It now sees all of the music. I
doubt it's perms since the only user account is mine, and I am an
Administrator. (This system will be a dedicated media PC once I am
done.)

Do you know where the log messages are located? I see the msg() methd
in the coide and if I could find where the messages go, I could
probably figure this out.




On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 13:55:46 -0800, Jack Coates <jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org> wrote:
> Eric Goebelbecker wrote:
> > I have 2 separate fixed disks, each with about 120GB of FLACs.
> > I will probably be adding more. They are/will bel on the same system.
> >
> > Creating a spanned volume is not really an option.
> >
> > Is there a specific reason why we cannot specify multiple music folders?
> >
>
> because putting shortcuts into a master folder works fine. I expect the
> OP in this thread has permissions screwed up.
>
> --
> Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
> Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!
>

Jack Coates
2004-12-30, 15:16
Eric Goebelbecker wrote:
> Hmmmm.
>
> I moved the Master Folder to a location on C:\ (Which has no music)
> and placed shortcuts to E:\ and F:\ (which have all of the music so
> far) and reconfigured SlimServer. It now sees all of the music. I
> doubt it's perms since the only user account is mine, and I am an
> Administrator. (This system will be a dedicated media PC once I am
> done.)
>

If Slimserver is running as a service, it's not running as you -- that's
the permissions that usually gets horked in Windows installs.

> Do you know where the log messages are located? I see the msg() methd
> in the coide and if I could find where the messages go, I could
> probably figure this out.
>

I don't know, but search for slimserver.log. On Linux it's stored in /tmp.

>
>
>
> On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 13:55:46 -0800, Jack Coates <jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org> wrote:
>
>>Eric Goebelbecker wrote:
>>
>>>I have 2 separate fixed disks, each with about 120GB of FLACs.
>>>I will probably be adding more. They are/will bel on the same system.
>>>
>>>Creating a spanned volume is not really an option.
>>>
>>>Is there a specific reason why we cannot specify multiple music folders?
>>>
>>
>>because putting shortcuts into a master folder works fine. I expect the
>>OP in this thread has permissions screwed up.
>>
>>--
>>Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
>>Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!
>>

T
2004-12-31, 00:38
You need to run slim-server in it's own account, otherwise there will be
problems with shares.

Tom

Eric Goebelbecker
2004-12-31, 16:10
This was the problem. Thanks to both of the folks that pointed this out.

I normally use Linux, but another app is forcing me to use Windows for this.

Time to consider how important that other app is.....


On Fri, 31 Dec 2004 08:38:01 +0100, T <st2_ (AT) ticino (DOT) com> wrote:
> You need to run slim-server in it's own account, otherwise there will be
> problems with shares.
>
> Tom
>
>