PDA

View Full Version : piCorePlayer - Backup fails



th00ht
2017-03-13, 10:52
the piCorePlayer is awesome but I need to replace the uSD stick for a smaller one. Therefor I thought: make a backup, prepare a new uSD card and restore the backup.

Clicking Save to USB results in

piCorePlayer

[ INFO ] Mounting /mnt/sda1...

[ ERROR ] /mnt/sda1 has NOT mounted.

[ ERROR ] Insert USB stick and try again.

Clicking Backup gives no errors

But both seem to do nothing to a USB attached memory stick with ample space (8GB)

Is my approach right? Is there another way to copy the current image to another? Should I attempt a dd?

th00ht
2017-03-13, 11:34
Ok, I did a simple dd for the first couple of 800 64K blocks so it will cover most of the payload of the disk. Booting the new device worked fine.

dd if=/dev/<locationA> of=/dev/<locationB> bs=65k count=800


still not sure how the backup and Save to USB function are supposed to work.

sbp
2017-03-13, 11:58
Ok, I did a simple dd for the first couple of 800 64K blocks so it will cover most of the payload of the disk. Booting the new device worked fine.

dd if=/dev/<locationA> of=/dev/<locationB> bs=65k count=800


still not sure how the backup and Save to USB function are supposed to work.

The "save to USB" approach is not going to backup your piCorePlayer image. It is simply a method to save your config file with the new name: newconfig.cfg on the USB stick.

So if you then boot a fresh copy of pCP with the USB inserted it should read the "newconfig.cfg" file so that you have e new pCP with your current setup. It is a way to update pCP via USB stick or to setup a piZero (without keyboard or connection).

Wirrunna
2017-04-10, 16:03
Clicking Save to USB results in

piCorePlayer

[ INFO ] Mounting /mnt/sda1...

[ ERROR ] /mnt/sda1 has NOT mounted.

[ ERROR ] Insert USB stick and try again.

Clicking Backup gives no errors

But both seem to do nothing to a USB attached memory stick with ample space (8GB)

Is my approach right? Is there another way to copy the current image to another? Should I attempt a dd?

This query has not been answered, how do you save your current configuration to the USB flash drive as newconfig.cfg ?

Greg Erskine
2017-04-10, 17:10
This query has not been answered, how do you save your current configuration to the USB flash drive as newconfig.cfg ?

Hi Wirrunna,

This seems to work OK for me.

There could be an issue if you have more than one USB media device!

Does yours mount as sda1?

regards
Greg

Wirrunna
2017-04-10, 17:31
Hi Wirrunna,

This seems to work OK for me.

There could be an issue if you have more than one USB media device!

Does yours mount as sda1?

regards
Greg

Greg,
Thank you for the reply, you explained how to do this once before but I can't find it.
I plugged a 16GB Verbatim stick in a USB socket on the rPi and then clicked the "Save to USB" box on the main page and get the exact same error as originally posted by th00ht.

Wirrunna
2017-04-10, 17:35
Greg, I also tried from the How To -

Second method for setting up a Raspberry A+

Burn the piCorePlayer image on your SD-card
Keep you SD-card in your computer, open it via filemanager.
Download the newconfig.cfg file from HERE
Edit the first section of newconfig.cfg file so it fits your wireless lan:

#########################
# Edit the variables below to setup a wifi based system without LAN access
# Change Wifi to "on". Valid options for Encryption are "WEP", "WPA" or "OPEN"
WIFI="off"
SSID="wireless"
PASSWORD="password"
ENCRYPTION="WPA"
# End Wifi setup

##########################

Save the newconfig.cfg file to the SD-card.
Use your SD-card for booting up the raspberry, then it will load your settings from the newconfig.cfg file and automatically connect to your wifi.

My SSID is "Spotty Dogs" and watching the rPi display as during the boot process it parses the SSID as "Spotty\\ Dogs" and can't connect

Greg Erskine
2017-04-10, 22:25
Greg,
Thank you for the reply, you explained how to do this once before but I can't find it.
I plugged a 16GB Verbatim stick in a USB socket on the rPi and then clicked the "Save to USB" box on the main page and get the exact same error as originally posted by th00ht.

Hi Wirrunna,

The command assumes it can mount the USB flash drive on /mnt/sda1.

If it will not mount, then probably /mnt/sda1 is used buy some other USB drive, or the format of the USB flash drive is incompatible?

regards
Greg

Wirrunna
2017-04-11, 00:53
Hi Wirrunna,

The command assumes it can mount the USB flash drive on /mnt/sda1.

If it will not mount, then probably /mnt/sda1 is used buy some other USB drive, or the format of the USB flash drive is incompatible?

regards
Greg

Right both times - swapped WiFi dongle to a different USB, then tried an Emtec 8GB and it worked.

Thank you.