PDA

View Full Version : Scanning new media files - entire system?



Swiftie
2017-03-01, 13:42
I found that my Logitech server wasn't updating, so I restarted it, and ran a "Clear library and rescan".
It's reached the stage "Scanning new media files" and it's scanning my entire system, including 3 USB drives and a networked 5-disk backup array. This will take forever! It's probably what it was doing when I thought it had stalled.
It's been going about 10 minutes now, and it's still on 0 of 88,532 ...
Is there some place I can restrict the drives that it scans?

pippin
2017-03-01, 13:57
Configure a music folder that doesn't include all of your drives

kidstypike
2017-03-01, 14:05
I found that my Logitech server wasn't updating, so I restarted it, and ran a "Clear library and rescan".
It's reached the stage "Scanning new media files" and it's scanning my entire system, including 3 USB drives and a networked 5-disk backup array. This will take forever! It's probably what it was doing when I thought it had stalled.
It's been going about 10 minutes now, and it's still on 0 of 88,532 ...
Is there some place I can restrict the drives that it scans?

What have you entered for the folder that LMS scans?

Swiftie
2017-03-01, 14:40
22225

I removed all the checkboxes for pictures and video just to be on the safe side.

Swiftie
2017-03-01, 14:51
I removed all the checkboxes for pictures and video just to be on the safe side.
And that seemed to solve the problem. I ran a "clear and rescan everything" and by the time I got my dog in from the garden, it had finished.
I still don't understand why this works, but I believe in worrying about things which don't work, rather than those that do work.
See http://www.swiftys.org.uk/wiz (http://www.swiftys.org.uk/wiz?1498)