PDA

View Full Version : Receiver fails: led white and then led turns off?



Lupker
2017-02-10, 03:35
This is the second receiver which has this problem: it connects (led turns white for 1 sec) and then turns off completely. I've tried to reset the device, added the correct data and tried again. Same problem.

Yesterday it worked fine. Something which may caused it: this morning I had no internet (provider problems and no access to my local Squeezeserver), so the receiver could not connect at all.
But later on (when everything worked again) no luck.

Config / settings seem to be fine, because the white led means connection to the server.

Any help?

w3wilkes
2017-02-10, 16:06
Did you try factory reset of both the receiver and controller and then set it up from scratch?
http://support.logitech.com/en_nz/article/8373

sitro0
2017-02-17, 07:47
Config / settings seem to be fine, because the white led means connection to the server.

Any help?

not sure,
yesterday I reboot the box of the provider and when I try the duet, the led was white but without connection in Wifi to the box. I need to reboot the duet too to synchronise the wifi connection.

Lupker
2017-02-22, 12:46
I do not own the controller. Just old school http://projects.robinbowes.com/Net-UDAP/trac
The settings are ok. The connection is ok, but then it just turns off. I give up and buy the touch version instead. Hope this will work for a long time.

Fozzy
2017-07-31, 13:37
Have you checked if it connects to your server? The sequence of lights is consistent with it connecting to a server that thinks this player should be in "off" mode. In a similar situation, i.e. network coming back after an outage, I have had problems with the receiver automatically connecting to squeezebox.com when that becomes available before the local server. The Boomboxes do the same but they have front panels controls to go through the network config. I'd use http://projects.robinbowes.com/Net-UDAP/trac to check what it thinks it should be connecting to.

w3wilkes
2017-08-02, 08:57
Almost sounds like a power supply starting to head south.

JeffHart
2017-08-11, 07:32
Second on the power supply - if you have another receiver try the other power supply. Had one fail on me last month, picked up a compatible power supply on Amazon for $12, might be able to find one lower price with more research.

bpa
2017-08-11, 08:40
Also consider replacing the WLAN card - on SB3 they can cause intermittent problems and then failure.

Easy and cheap to replace as used compatible WLAN card are about $//€5-10

Bobfl
2017-10-01, 12:57
This is almost the same problem I am getting. It started a few days ago. I have done a factory reset on the Receiver and the Controller. What happens is the music will play for one or two minutes then drop out. The white light has turned blue. It may then turn back on for another short time no more than a could of minutes.
So what you are saying is it could be a PS failure or a WiFi card. I did connect the Receiver with an Ethernet cable but still dropped out.
Any further advice most welcome. I will see if I can get a PS tomorrow.
Definately the Receiver. I have a SB Radio and that is fine. I have loaded the server on new hardware.

Mnyb
2017-10-01, 16:51
This is almost the same problem I am getting. It started a few days ago. I have done a factory reset on the Receiver and the Controller. What happens is the music will play for one or two minutes then drop out. The white light has turned blue. It may then turn back on for another short time no more than a could of minutes.
So what you are saying is it could be a PS failure or a WiFi card. I did connect the Receiver with an Ethernet cable but still dropped out.
Any further advice most welcome. I will see if I can get a PS tomorrow.
Definately the Receiver. I have a SB Radio and that is fine. I have loaded the server on new hardware.

Did you redo the network setup while connecting the Ethernet cable ? It won't start using it just because you plugged it in

Bobfl
2017-10-01, 18:46
Did you redo the network setup while connecting the Ethernet cable ? It won't start using it just because you plugged it inWell I got out of bed (UK time) when I read your message on the tablet. I had factory reset the Receiver several times but not the important time when I connected to the router. I have just done this following the Hybrid install. It has just gone through several tracks of Richard Clayderman with out dropping, daren't play anything else at this time of night. Nice steady white light.

So can I assume it is the wireless card that has failed? Do you know what cards will work in the Receiver before I open it up.

Thanks for your reply, much appreciated as it looks as if finally located the issue.

bpa
2017-10-02, 04:54
So can I assume it is the wireless card that has failed? Do you know what cards will work in the Receiver before I open it up.

Brief thread on compatible WLAN cards - basically buy 2nd hand ones on ebay for about $,,€ 5-10
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?95513-Compatible-WLAN-cards-for-SB3-Boom-Reciever-amp-Transporter

A bad wifi card usually stops complete operation of player even ethernet. As you seem adventurous - you could use net::udap to check and configure receiver manually before opening it up see http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?57861-Net-UDAP-SqueezeBox-Receiver-configuration-tool

tcutting
2017-10-02, 11:40
Well I got out of bed (UK time) when I read your message on the tablet. I had factory reset the Receiver several times but not the important time when I connected to the router. I have just done this following the Hybrid install. It has just gone through several tracks of Richard Clayderman with out dropping, daren't play anything else at this time of night. Nice steady white light.

So can I assume it is the wireless card that has failed? Do you know what cards will work in the Receiver before I open it up.

Thanks for your reply, much appreciated as it looks as if finally located the issue.

You should probably consider some other wifi issue before resorting to replacing hardware. Your symptoms are consistent with wifi/networking issue, but not necessarily a hardware problem with your receiver.
Possibly check for wifi congestion in your area (there are apps to check wifi information on smartphones, for example - to look if there are "hot" wifi spots near you using same channel). May also try full "network reset" - power down all ethernet devices, then methodically restart (one device at a time, with some delay to allow the device to fully boot and configure) - eg, cable modem, then router (assume your router does both DNS and wifi), any switches, and then the individual devices. You might also try (temporarily) locating your receiver in a different location (eg, close to your wifi router) to help rule out a marginal connection.

emalvick
2017-10-04, 08:11
To add to the previous post,

I would also temporarily turn off any firewalls, network security, etc to see if that helps.

I used to have similar problems with my receiver (knock on wood I have been trouble free for a couple of years).

The solutions (independently, never simultaneously):

1) Updates at server end or firmware in router resetting firewall settings and usually blocking device (often took resetting firewall to let in all intranet traffic).

2) More commonly, crowded wi-fi and interference. This came from either neighbors wi-fi OR from other household devices (telephones or microwave). This issue finally required me to get a dual-band router and to get onto a different frequency band. This issue more often affected the wireless between by LMS computer and router, not the receiver to router connection (longer distance). It helped my overall home network, which makes sense.

Routers in general seem to be relatively disposable. I can't believe how many I've had to replace over the years.