PDA

View Full Version : New NAS - Qnap TS-251



alanslim
2016-12-12, 16:10
Hi- I just replaced my ReadyNAS with a Qnap TS-251. I would like to run LMS using this new NAS. Any suggestions?

Jeff07971
2016-12-12, 16:16
Hi- I just replaced my ReadyNAS with a Qnap TS-251. I would like to run LMS using this new NAS. Any suggestions?

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?104284-Qnap-No-Longer-Supporting-Squeezebox&p=829682&viewfull=1#post829682

Man in a van
2016-12-13, 05:17
Hi- I just replaced my ReadyNAS with a Qnap TS-251. I would like to run LMS using this new NAS. Any suggestions?


don't bother, get a pi 3 and put lms on that, enjoy all the spare time you have saved by this option:p

Ronnie

d6jg
2016-12-13, 10:15
don't bother, get a pi 3 and put lms on that, enjoy all the spare time you have saved by this option:p

Ronnie

He means - use the NAS to store your files but use a Raspberry Pi to run LMS and point it at the NAS.

It isn't impossible to run LMS on a QNAP but it is very difficult to update LMS on it when it needs updating and certain things are prone to problem e.g. Spotify.
These issues don't exist if you use a Pi with piCorePlayer installed and run LMS on it.
Going the Pi + QNAP route means upgrading is easy, Spotify works but your music is safely on your QNAP.

Swiftie
2016-12-14, 00:54
... use the NAS to store your files but use a Raspberry Pi to run LMS and point it at the NAS ...
I have no experience of pointing LMS at a NAS. Do you do this by mounting the NAS as a regular drive in the Pi, or is LMS capable of running directly from a networked drive?

Does this setup require an existing network? Even just an old router? I'm planning to install my Synology DS213air in our holiday cottage, which has no network, no landline. The Synology provides its own WiFi access point if that helps!

Incidentally, I have no experience of a Pi, and at my age my technical skills are dwindling rapidly.

d6jg
2016-12-14, 06:00
I have no experience of pointing LMS at a NAS. Do you do this by mounting the NAS as a regular drive in the Pi, or is LMS capable of running directly from a networked drive?

Does this setup require an existing network? Even just an old router? I'm planning to install my Synology DS213air in our holiday cottage, which has no network, no landline. The Synology provides its own WiFi access point if that helps!

Incidentally, I have no experience of a Pi, and at my age my technical skills are dwindling rapidly.

i thought you said Qnap?

Swiftie
2016-12-16, 02:06
The OP said QNAP, but since I have a similar question, I rudely butted in.

However, answers about the Pi and/or having a local network would be relevant to both QNAP and my Synology, so would save effort...

d6jg
2016-12-16, 05:11
You need a network to use a Pi + NAS.

As the Pi is going to run LMS it should be wired - the general rule for all servers is that they should be wired.

Typically you would have a router (wi fi or otherwise), you would have the NAS plugged in to one LAN port and the Pi into another, players if wired into another or wireless if its available / stable enough.

You store your music on the NAS lets say in the typical QNAP structure of /Multimedia/Music

Personally I then have

/Multimedia/Music/Flac
/Multimedia/Music/MP3
etc

You install piCorePlayer onto Pi - simply a case of copying a file to an SD card and then putting it into the Pi
You then configure the Pi to mount /Multimedia/Music as an SMB mount point called /Music - full instructions are on picoreplayers site
Then you run connect to http://pi-ip-address:9000 and run the setup wizard and tell it your library is at /Music

Man in a van
2016-12-16, 05:24
You need a network to use a Pi + NAS.

As the Pi is going to run LMS it should be wired - the general rule for all servers is that they should be wired.

Typically you would have a router (wi fi or otherwise), you would have the NAS plugged in to one LAN port and the Pi into another, players if wired into another or wireless if its available / stable enough.

You store your music on the NAS lets say in the typical QNAP structure of /Multimedia/Music

Personally I then have

/Multimedia/Music/Flac
/Multimedia/Music/MP3
etc

You install piCorePlayer onto Pi - simply a case of copying a file to an SD card and then putting it into the Pi
You then configure the Pi to mount /Multimedia/Music as an SMB mount point called /Music - full instructions are on picoreplayers site
Then you run connect to http://pi-ip-address:9000 and run the setup wizard and tell it your library is at /Music


Post of the week :)

d6jg
2016-12-16, 05:40
Post of the week :)

Thank you Ronnie :D

pinkdot
2016-12-16, 10:04
The OP said QNAP, but since I have a similar question, I rudely butted in.

However, answers about the Pi and/or having a local network would be relevant to both QNAP and my Synology, so would save effort...
Having a DS213air, there is no need for an rpi ;-). Your DS is an al-in-one solution of you ask me.

Installing lms on your Nas is straight forward as you know. And with wifi build in your Nas, you can set up an accespoint:
https://www.synology.com/en-us/knowledgebase/DSM/help/DSM/AdminCenter/connection_network_ap

That's it ;-)

d6jg
2016-12-19, 04:49
Having a DS213air, there is no need for an rpi ;-). Your DS is an al-in-one solution of you ask me.

Installing lms on your Nas is straight forward as you know. And with wifi build in your Nas, you can set up an accespoint:
https://www.synology.com/en-us/knowledgebase/DSM/help/DSM/AdminCenter/connection_network_ap

That's it ;-)

I know that you (Pinkdot) maintain the Synology version of LMS but can you advise are there any issues running LMS on Synology with Spotify and the like?

pinkdot
2016-12-19, 12:26
I know that you (Pinkdot) maintain the Synology version of LMS but can you advise are there any issues running LMS on Synology with Spotify and the like?
No, running Spotify on Synology is no different than running it on a RPi or on my Linux laptop.