PDA

View Full Version : defeatDestructiveTouchToPlay not working on Squeezeplay



Fizbin
2016-12-12, 04:57
I would like to defeat the pop up menu that shows when selecting a track but I have no way of accessing this option with my Transporter/O2 Joggler (with Squeezeplay) setup. My LMS is 7.9 and I get no Squeezeplay Player Option...only Transporter. I've also edited the value in the server.prefs file (changing 4 to 1...I believe that's the correct value) BUT it changes back to 4 again.

Any ideas?

bpa
2016-12-12, 05:11
've also edited the value in the server.prefs file (changing 4 to 1...I believe that's the correct value) BUT it changes back to 4 again.Any ideas?
Was LMS stopped when you updated server.prefs ? As a general rule - only update the server.prefs file when LMS is stopped as otherwise LMS writes out cached info.

Fizbin
2016-12-12, 05:26
Yes, but now that I think about it, I did not disable the process in ALT-CTRL-DEL. I shall try that now.

Fizbin
2016-12-12, 05:38
Ok! All good. I disabled the process SQUEE~3.exe in task manager and then tried. Now it works. And I had the value wrong, it's 0.

Thanks!

Fizbin
2016-12-12, 05:43
BTW, a completely unrelated question... Is there a way to get the VU Meters to work on Squeezeplay? Like the ones on the Touch?

bpa
2016-12-12, 06:12
BTW, a completely unrelated question... Is there a way to get the VU Meters to work on Squeezeplay? Like the ones on the Touch?


I don't use squeezeplay so don't know details but search is a great tool.

Perhaps you are out of date ? see http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?96573-SqueezePlay-for-Windows-with-ASIO-DirectSound-WASAPI-and-WDMKS-device-support&p=830931&viewfull=1#post830931

Fizbin
2016-12-16, 05:01
I mentioned above that Squeezeplay (via my Joggler) does not show up on the Choose Player list of LMS. (It does show up on my Joggler's Choose Player menu).

Any reason why this would be and where I should start?

bpa
2016-12-16, 05:47
I mentioned above that Squeezeplay (via my Joggler) does not show up on the Choose Player list of LMS. (It does show up on my Joggler's Choose Player menu).

Any reason why this would be and where I should start?

Players announce themselves to LMS via a UDP broadcast packet on port 3483. This only works on the same LAN segment - so check IP address of player and LMS and also network mask to make sure player and LMS are on the same LAN segment. Otherwise you should be able to connect player manually to LMS but you need to supply LMS IP address in a Squeezeplay menu.

Fizbin
2016-12-16, 06:40
so check IP address of player and LMS and also network mask to make sure player and LMS are on the same LAN segment.

Any chance you can explain to someone who is deficient in networking how to do this? :) Thanks.

bpa
2016-12-16, 07:23
Any chance you can explain to someone who is deficient in networking how to do this? :) Thanks.

I don't know Joggler so I can't give details.

Your desciption are also slightly strange as if Joggler is a player and a LMS server as well. A detailed description of your setup - including cabling, wireless, switches etc. players and servers may be better start.,

Fizbin
2016-12-16, 17:14
I don't know Joggler so I can't give details.

Your desciption are also slightly strange as if Joggler is a player and a LMS server as well. A detailed description of your setup - including cabling, wireless, switches etc. players and servers may be better start.,

I figured it out. I was fiddling with Squeezeplay on Windows, so I didn't have to fiddle with it on my Joggler, and I discovered that the Windows Squeezeplay (which also wasn't showing up) was associated with my old PC name...which I changed a few months ago. My new PC name is "Transporter" and when I saw this entry under Libraries, I thought it was for my Transporter unit, not my PC. (Am I making sense? Probably not) Anyway, I should have called my PC something else to avoid confusion.

Anyway, thanks for your help!