PDA

View Full Version : Extra heirarchy level when choosing music..?



daytripper
2016-10-31, 02:47
Hi guys

After years of sitting fallow, I've finally gotten the SB setup running again. It's populated with my music presently, but my wife wants to put her large (and very disorganised) collection on there too.

Is there a way to add simple extra heirarchy when choosing music..? Presently it goes:

[Criteria, eg Artist, genre] > Album > Song...

but I'd like an extra level where we can choose a collection, eg:

[my/her] Collection > [Criteria, eg Artist, genre] > Album > Song...

That said, I don't want to complicate matters by having another totally seperate music source...

Any thoughts?
marc

mherger
2016-10-31, 03:28
> Is there a way to add simple extra heirarchy when choosing music..?
> Presently it goes:
>
> -[Criteria, eg Artist, genre] > Album > Song...-
>
> but I'd like an extra level where we can choose a collection, eg:
>
> -[my/her] Collection > [Criteria, eg Artist, genre] > Album > Song...-

You should certainly install LMS 7.9. It offers support for "virtual
libraries" (eg. filtered views) and other slightly more advanced browse
modes than previous versions. It's not straightforward to set up, but
it's definitely possible. I eg. have a library "Kids" and one "No kids".
The latter is what I'm using. The former is linked to the main menu as
its own "Kids" menu, from which they can select their favorites easily.

Of if it's messy enough to not even warrant the scan, you can browse and
play content from sources outside your main music folder, without adding
them to the database (browse by folder only).

--

Michael

daytripper
2016-10-31, 06:57
Intereting stuff, thanks...

I'll take a look at LMS 7.9. I guess its fairly stable and I will be able to figure out the filter properties fairly easily..? Failing that, the 'Folders' idea is also a great workaround...

While I'm here - I could sweat that I used to be able to change the menu layout on my SB devices but now I can't find that option. Any help..?

thanks!
marc

kidstypike
2016-10-31, 08:32
While I'm here - I could sweat that I used to be able to change the menu layout on my SB devices but now I can't find that option. Any help..?

thanks!
marc

A bit limited as to what you can do but .. on your Touch press and hold an item until you see the context menu, several options to choose from.

daytripper
2016-11-02, 01:35
Hi guys

I upgraded to LMS 7.9 but the port connections failed, meaning the whole system didn't work and I've had to roll-back to 7.7...

marc