PDA

View Full Version : Looking for best large screen interface SqueezeBox Controller - have 23" touchscreen!



markm9999
2016-10-26, 08:33
Hi All,

I re-purposed a junked 23" touchscreen computer and want to turn it into essentially a super-size SqueezeBox Touch - or something even better?

I've loaded SqueezePlay on it for now, but it doesn't 'maximize', so it doesn't utilize the full screen potential of this monitor.

What other apps are out there in the Squeeze eco-system? I've done some searching, but I've got to believe someone out there can provide a 'top 3' list.

Thanks in advance,
Mark

pippin
2016-10-26, 09:31
JiveLite might scale, otherwise I think you can define the screen size somehow

mherger
2016-10-26, 13:27
> JiveLite might scale, otherwise I think you can define the screen size
> somehow

JiveLite does Full HD, incl. an icon grid view for eg. album lists.

--

Michael

pippin
2016-10-26, 16:28
If it's an old screen that should be enough...

markm9999
2016-10-26, 21:01
ah-hah!

OK, I tried JiveLite and it's so close. I have a few questions though...


The HD Skins are only showing repeat and shuffle buttons. Is this 'normal'?
Is there a way to remove the title bar?
I love the HD Grid but it seems to be lacking the 'backward' and 'Now Playing' button on the interface. 'Flicking' is a PAIN, and getting rid of a 'popup' window (press and hold) seems impossible without a keyboard. Any way to add these buttons ala the 'Joggler' skin?
Either that or a super-sized/scale-able 'Joggler' skin



I'm willing to invest some time in making this happen. If someone could guide me to the resources I need.

EDIT:
I forgot to mention I tried this on a Windows 7 x64 OS. Would it work better in Linux? If so, what is the recommended version?

mherger
2016-10-26, 23:39
> - The HD Skins are only showing repeat and shuffle buttons. Is this
> 'normal'?

I think so, yes. It was created before 28" touch screens were
standard... I think even those are more of status indicators than
supposed to be buttons, as that UI was designed to be used using a
keyboard or remote control (or not at all).

> - Is there a way to remove the title bar?

It's all defined in some .lua files. So this certainly could be done.

> - I love the HD Grid but it seems to be lacking the 'backward' and
> 'Now Playing' button on the interface.

Yeah, I guess another "no touch, but keyboard only" sacrifice.

> 'Flicking' is a PAIN, and

In what way?

> getting rid of a 'popup' window (press and hold) seems impossible
> without a keyboard. Any way to add these buttons ala the 'Joggler'
> skin?

Yes. But don't ask me how :-).


--

Michael

ralphy
2016-10-27, 04:54
The hdskins in jivelite were designed to be used with a remote or keyboard, so some of the touch functionality is missing.

You don't mention what OS. On linux you can use the frame buffer to remove the title bar and borders.

markm9999
2016-10-27, 08:38
Right now using Windows 7, but I see the visualizations only work in linux/osx so I'll have to switch it up.

I did some playing around with the Joggler screen and have successfully 'upsized' the main screen, album art and re-positioned the 'now playing' info so it isn't covered by the increase in size of the album art. To my eyes, it looks pretty good and I don't think I even need to mess with the buttons.

With so much room, I'm thinking I could add the 'current playlist' to the the same screen, just below the progress bar - just have to figure out how to do that.

I'll have a go at the HD Grid skin once I spend some more 'quality time' with this one.

Question:
Is there some way to have JiveLite 're-load' the LUA file automatically (on-change of the LUA file if possible) and/or have it go to the 'Now Playing' screen on launch? I'm finding I spend a significant amount of my time closing/reopening/navigating. Editing the LUA text file is of course quick.

What version LUA is this using? I believe I'm seeing LUA programming manual's on the Net, but haven't fully investigated yet...

markm9999
2016-10-27, 08:41
Also, should this discussion be moved to a specific forum?

If so, which one - "Linux / Unix --> Announce: JiveLite - cut down squeezebox control application" ???

reinholdk
2016-10-27, 12:35
Would a different web UI be ok? IIRC the one provided by extGUI4LMS makes use of bigger screens.
Check it in the plugins section of LMS web settings.

markm9999
2016-10-27, 13:53
I looked at it in the past, but frankly forgot about it.

I will say, I'm not really a fan of web interfaces - I usually find them much more 'clunky' than native interfaces.

Having said that, I'm also looking into Daphile - it seems to be pretty slick and fast.

EDIT:
A quick look at extGUI4LMS and it doesn't seem to support browsing of remote libraries in the same way as a local one - and it's way slower than JiveLite or Daphile.

ralphy
2016-10-28, 06:57
Right now using Windows 7, but I see the visualizations only work in linux/osx so I'll have to switch it up.

I did some playing around with the Joggler screen and have successfully 'upsized' the main screen, album art and re-positioned the 'now playing' info so it isn't covered by the increase in size of the album art. To my eyes, it looks pretty good and I don't think I even need to mess with the buttons.

With so much room, I'm thinking I could add the 'current playlist' to the the same screen, just below the progress bar - just have to figure out how to do that.

I'll have a go at the HD Grid skin once I spend some more 'quality time' with this one.

Question:
Is there some way to have JiveLite 're-load' the LUA file automatically (on-change of the LUA file if possible) and/or have it go to the 'Now Playing' screen on launch? I'm finding I spend a significant amount of my time closing/reopening/navigating. Editing the LUA text file is of course quick.

What version LUA is this using? I believe I'm seeing LUA programming manual's on the Net, but haven't fully investigated yet...

There's no way to reload a lua file, you have to restart jivelite.

LuaJit 2.0 is what jivelite was developed with. All my builds use LuaJit except for picoreplayer and solaris which use the LUA 5.1.1 implementation with several language extensions added. This is what all the jive based systems from logitech use.

In Settings-Screen-Screen Savers you can change the default for the various modes.

The squeezeos architecture wiki page (http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/SqueezeOS_Architecture) has a good overview of all the components.

markm9999
2016-10-30, 19:51
There's no way to reload a lua file, you have to restart jivelite.

LuaJit 2.0 is what jivelite was developed with. All my builds use LuaJit except for picoreplayer and solaris which use the LUA 5.1.1 implementation with several language extensions added. This is what all the jive based systems from logitech use.

In Settings-Screen-Screen Savers you can change the default for the various modes.

The squeezeos architecture wiki page (http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/SqueezeOS_Architecture) has a good overview of all the components.

Thanks ralphy.

I've spent some time modifying the files and it's looking pretty good. Lot's of hard coded values that I'm turning into variables to make it easier to modify for custom screen sizes.

It's basically a super-sized Joggler screen (Album cover on left, and the 'now playing' portion -- current song, artist, album name, and progress bar below), but I've got over half the vertical height still left.

With the amount of vertical real estate I have left, I'm looking to pull in the 'current playlist' on this same display. Any tips on how to integrate the current playlist on this screen from anybody would be appreciated.

When I'm done I'll be sure to share!

thanks!

pippin
2016-10-30, 20:03
Do you mean coding or UI tips? Do you have any screen shots?

markm9999
2016-10-30, 20:22
Do you mean coding or UI tips? Do you have any screen shots?

Coding.

I don't want to reinvent the wheel. I simply want to merge the 'current playlist' display into the same screen rather than having to slide to it. Here's what I have so far:

21379

and I want to 'integrate' this:

21380

markm9999
2016-10-30, 20:28
At this point, I'm not trying to eliminate the existing 'slide to playlist' option, but I could see doing that in the future to avoid confusion.

rlsx
2016-11-05, 12:13
I don't want to reinvent the wheel. I simply want to merge the 'current playlist' display into the same screen rather than having to slide to it.

I would be very much interested in what you find out. I am redoing an HD Skin for 1920x1080, and wanted to try to do what you're aiming at, but one has only one life ... Thanks!